//
you're reading...
Monday Rush

Say it with music…

Music

How many times have you sat by your laptop listening to the words it’s over now coming from the voices of the men of 112 over and over and over again? Or you stayed in bed for hours listening to Trey Songz croon Black Roses, Toni Braxton sing Unbreak my heart and Destiny’s child hide behind Emotions. Some may deny it, but not me. Music forms a great part of our lives. And the thoughts that flooded my head after I saw a friend change her BBM status to “What would life be without music” were definitely interesting.

Being the kind of music lover I am, going one day without music would probably kill me (ok, iKid) but just think about it, sooooo many things we do find expression in music.  Why? It’s pretty simple, over 6 Billion people in the world living for thousands of years equals an unthinkable bank of experience. Luckily for us today, some of the people from the past, found expression in music and as a result, we can learn a lot from past mistakes while also leaving messages in our music for generations to come. (The content of the present day music is however subject for another post).

It is really amazing to think that anything, no, ANYTHING you’re going through, has been expressed musically by someone somewhere at some point in time. When Usher sang How do I say, he never imagined at some point you’d be so confused about how to approach that gurl. And if all you have is a crush, David Archuleta sang Crush. Petrified about your first date? The guys of Blink 182 were once there. Dates and dates follow and it’s all so great, feels like a teenage love affair? Alicia Keys said it already. Approaching love but got obstacles on the way? Mario sang Let me love you. She is getting impatient? Avant and Nicole – Our love. She’s feeling undecided? John Mayer – Friends, lovers or Nothing. But if you can wait…then Trey Songz – Can’t help but wait. You could also do the Unthinkable like Alicia Keys and Drake.

If you eventually make it there and it’s all you’ve dreamt of, nobody said it better than KCI & Jojo – All my life. Tell her why you chose her: Mario – I choose you. Make a promise: N’Sync – This I promise you. Tell her exactly what you want: Adam Sandler – Growing old with you. Tell your story: Robin Thicke – 2 love birds, Taylor Swift – Love Story. Be appreciative: Bon Jovi – Thank you for loving me. Remind her what life would be without her: Sisqo – Incomplete, what she really is to you: Michael Buble – Everything. And always be proud of her: Usher – There goes my baby.

And when you crave that other errm.. ‘love’, say it like Lumidee & Shaggy – feel like making love or Usher – Making Love (into the night) or Keri Hilson – Make Love. And make it worth her while too: Trey Songz – Jupiter Love, Neighbours know my name. Always keep things interesting: Usher – Trading Places and if you’re up for it: R.Kelly, Tyrese, The dream, Robin Thicke – Pregnant but what ever you do, keep it sweet: 112 – Sweet Love.

Whenever you get into a little fight…. Neyo – Mad. Suspecting there’s another woman? Neyo & Jennifer Hudson – Leaving tonight. So many rumours from her friends choking you? Usher – Echo. Cheating on her? Dwele – Cheating. Love another? Usher – what’s a man to do. If things don’t work out and you’re wondering what next, ask: Diddy & Keri Hilson – After Love. While waiting for an answer, mourn with: Mario – Soundtrack to my broken heart. And always go away with a lesson: Alicia Keys & John Mayer – Lessons learned.

Which song expresses how you feel right now?

About thetoolsman

I mostly refer to myself as an unrepentant media addict .. Well, cause I'm mostly always hunting for information through one media channel or the other... Hit me up on twitter @thetoolsman

Discussion

18 thoughts on “Say it with music…

  1. Stay with you…John Legend (& The book of love….Peter Gabriel).

    Posted by Lia | September 13, 2010, 10:14 am
  2. Falling to pieces ~ The Script.

    Posted by Tega | September 13, 2010, 11:11 am
  3. hey soul sister ~ Train

    Posted by dammy | September 13, 2010, 2:11 pm
  4. Love this song… there’s just something so pleasant about it.

    Posted by thetoolsman | September 13, 2010, 2:36 pm
  5. which song?

    Posted by dammy | September 13, 2010, 3:23 pm
  6. @dammy Train – hey soul sister.

    Posted by thetoolsman | September 13, 2010, 3:29 pm
  7. am in love, never felt so loved in my life….lol

    Posted by dammy | September 13, 2010, 4:05 pm
  8. Whassup sexy writer, lol. Right now its something’s missing by John Mayer

    Posted by leggy | September 13, 2010, 8:18 pm
  9. Omawumi-in d music

    Posted by Fanisade | September 14, 2010, 8:01 am
  10. Fallin- Mya
    I bruise easily- Natasha Bedingfield

    Posted by Gbemi | September 14, 2010, 8:03 am
  11. Ok..Im no longer shy, call me that as many times as you want….but something’s missing? hmmm… wonder what that is.

    Posted by thetoolsman | September 14, 2010, 8:23 am
  12. Ahem ahem…. fallin?…*cough*

    Posted by thetoolsman | September 14, 2010, 8:24 am
  13. Landing in london – 3 Doors Down … evryday

    Posted by Gwen | September 14, 2010, 9:19 am
  14. He he he fine. I shall look for some other way to tease you (you know u like it). I’ll let you know what’s ‘missing’ once I figure it out.

    Posted by leggy | September 14, 2010, 9:01 pm
  15. Well,well,well what can I say now..great piece..I’m absolutely feeling 5 songs now:
    1.Heartbreak Warfare-John Mayer
    2.There goes my baby-Usher
    3.The time of my life-David Cook
    4.Light on-David Cook
    5.Beautiful-Eminem

    Keep this blog alive…let us light up the world with the strength of our words.There’s only so much we can do.Don’t stop writing..

    I dropped a new poem yesterday on my blog..http://awizi.wordpress.com

    Let me know what you think

    Posted by Ayorinde Adunse | September 15, 2010, 2:09 pm
  16. Goodbye my lover- james blunt

    Posted by jibz | September 16, 2010, 7:40 am
  17. Sunscreen – Baz Luhrmann. Okay, iKid. Vital voice – TY Bello, Unthinkable – A’Keyz. However, Over the Moon – Dr. Sid happens to be the most played in the last 6 days. It’s a weird BALANCE but I relate to all of ’em at the mo’.

    Posted by Vicki | September 16, 2010, 5:18 pm
  18. Hmmmm……I’m a total music buff n to put down a list of songs I’m feeling wld just turn my comment into a post lol!! Music is my life mehn n I’m forever grateful to my parents for my first music player lol! Nice one.

    Posted by Nono | September 18, 2010, 11:53 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,754 other followers

Follow Me:

