//
you're reading...
Monday Rush

THE ONE

Before I get to today’s post which actually shows a part of me some of you might not know. I’d just like to let you guys in on a lil’ something. Well, I and a blogger friend of mine are working on something I’m really really excited about. Watch this space for more information.

Today’s post is a little poem I wrote a while back. Actually, almost ten years ago (I don’t know how I keep these things). Is it still relevant? What do you think, let me know.

 

THE ONE

I’ve always thought of the one as that person:
Handsome, beautiful, focused, different and hopefully successful
Some people think they’ll know upon a first encounter
What happens if you find out days or even months after
Love never turns out to be what/who we expect
It just pops up and leaves such a great effect
Is it possible to package/pre-design love?
That’s a mystery yet to be solved
For some, their love is driven by money or fame
But love certainly isn’t a game
You never see it coming
True love never gives you warning
Just like that, you’re swept off your feet
You know, all that stuff about can’t sleep, can’t eat
I bet it goes further than that
Unfortunately I can’t present you with all the facts
I guess we all have to wait our turn to really find out
But upon finding the right one, I’m sure you’ll have no doubts

About thetoolsman

I mostly refer to myself as an unrepentant media addict .. Well, cause I'm mostly always hunting for information through one media channel or the other... Hit me up on twitter @thetoolsman

Discussion

9 thoughts on “THE ONE

  1. Interesting…but honestly,love means different things to different people….without warning,though..you’ll know when you are in love.

    Gotta run,fire dreill..

    Posted by ayorinde | October 25, 2010, 10:08 am
  2. There is no ‘The One’ meanwhile, ‘The One’ is whom you make them to be. I’m in a stage, which i call the ‘honeymoon’ stage with a successful young cute man, there’s all forms of affection, ‘I miss yous’, ‘ love yous’ I can sleep though…, and quite well too.I have to ask myself, do I really want to go on? After this initial ‘gra-gra’ Is it worth it?

    You then realize that this initial passion is good, Its the ‘Ignition’ and it can happen to anyone at anytime with whoever. But the issue comes with maintaining the flame. That’s why people ‘fall out’ of love, ’cause there was no substance to it. After the ignition it all died away.
    Love is deliberate. We make our choices, to commit or not, that’s just what it is.

    Posted by Gaminegirlie | October 25, 2010, 1:52 pm
  3. i honestly feel what Gaminegirlie says…To love is a choice at the end of the day…#nufffsaid

    Posted by ayorinde | October 25, 2010, 2:56 pm
  4. I grew up hearing ‘Love’ was a feeling… they LIED!!!

    Love is soooo NOT a feeling, it’s a CHOICE.

    You choose to keep loving the one who lied to you. You choose to keep loving the one who cheated on you. You choose to keep loving the one who… who.. who…. in-short… you choose to Love.

    The ONE will be the one who you CHOOSE to make The ONE…

    and this is MY OPINION… 🙂

    Posted by Zee | October 26, 2010, 7:23 am
  5. hmm… I like….

    Posted by thetoolsman | October 26, 2010, 7:58 am
  6. Also agree with some of her thoughts….

    Posted by thetoolsman | October 26, 2010, 7:59 am
  7. Nice poem…if u wrote this 10 years ago, ‘wonder what u’re writing now!
    This is my opinion on the matter and it is born of personal experience…

    Sometimes love isn’t really a choice. U can’t choose to love this person but not the other …successfully. U only find that ‘cos of a combination of factors (such as a person’s personality/behaviour and time spent with the person)over time, u have discover a brew of emotions and commitment to(ward) the person.

    ‘Was in a relationship once where I tried and tried to muster all the right emotions, I failed flagrantly.

    In thesame vein, U don’t get to choose to stop loving that person who proves undeserving of it? U only decide to do something reasonable (like move on) DESPITE the love u feel for that person ad hope that the feeling will dull with time away from the person.

    I do agree with u though, when love comes, it leaves no doubts! Thumbs up!

    Posted by Nora | October 27, 2010, 9:00 am
  8. I think there is THE ONE and wrote the poem below on what love means to me. Nice blog BTW..

    Love is the connection of two hearts
    When two people touch each other’s soul

    Love is honesty and trust
    With patience and understanding

    Love is helping one another
    When there is mutual respect

    Love is walking hand in hand
    To reach your dreams together

    Love is forgiving the others wrongs
    That differences may be worked out

    Love is the absolute belief
    That there is a happily ever after

    Posted by Myne Whitman | October 28, 2010, 8:55 pm
  9. I ♥ this!! My favorite part is the last bit…cos love in its truest sense know absolutely NO doubt 😀

    Posted by jhola | November 2, 2010, 10:50 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,755 other followers

Follow Me:

  • Serious #Agbadagate 4 hours ago
  • RT @serenawilliams: There are so many reasons to quit, but even more to keep playing. Even if you don’t go pro, sports can teach you so muc… 14 hours ago
  • RT @ava: "We lit two hundred candles for you." I can't. Shout-out to Mint Condition, 112, Shai, Troop, Boyz II Men, Jodeci and all the othe… 14 hours ago
  • RT @SAnonymousng: Rape culture: men's sexualised violence against women is made 'normal' by common ideas and beliefs. There's a continuum o… 17 hours ago
  • Inside’s cream. Outside’s mocha. 1 day ago
