//
you're reading...
Monday Rush

Who’s your alter?

Hey people. Good weekend? Yes? No? Ok, maybe we should just skip that. Interesting week ahead though – last episode of A-Zed (yeah, kinda sad) but hey, it’s been one hell of a ride. More on that later.
Today, I want to talk about something most of us probably do. Some consciously, others, well, unconsciously. If I were to ask most of us if we had an alter ego, a lot of you would probably respond and say no. Ok, a little test then, put forward your phones – blackberries preferably (sorry if you use any other product) and lets go through your chats. Chances are, we’ll probably have some chats that look like these:

Chat 1
He: So, what service did you attend yesterday?
She: Second service.
He: Pastor was so on point with that message, I felt like he was talking to me
She: I felt the same way. God has really blessed that man…

Chat 2
He: One look at your dp and all I think about is Friday…
She: *coversface*
He: lol.. I can’t wait to eat you up again
She: oh, stop it, I’m at work now..
He: Hmm…. you’re wearing a skirt aren’t you? How short is it?
She: Oh, behave…

Chat 3
He: Was just thinking about you…
She: I miss you so much.
He: Got plans tonight?
She: 🙂 No, any ideas?
He: Well, do you still have that whip you got for Halloween?
She: *evil grin* Do you still have your cuffs?

Three chats – same person? Well, yes, it’s his phone but all those chats going on simultaneously and he claims he doesn’t have an alter?  A lot of arguments can come up here but I will save those for the comments. Maybe having “alters” isn’t exactly the right way to couch this but what I’m particular about is the fact that most people are in fact guilty of this. So lets hear your thoughts, first, are you guilty?  And then, do you think it’s something you do unconsciously or otherwise. Speak your mind.

About thetoolsman

I mostly refer to myself as an unrepentant media addict .. Well, cause I'm mostly always hunting for information through one media channel or the other... Hit me up on twitter @thetoolsman

Discussion

22 thoughts on “Who’s your alter?

  1. We dont have an alter ego. What are you on about? Yes we do,*who said that?*. WOOOHHHOOOOOOO

    Posted by darkside | February 7, 2011, 8:37 am
  2. maybe am guilty of two and three but if you look at it 2 and 3 are thesame type of convos…..

    Posted by dammy | February 7, 2011, 8:39 am
  3. With statements like ‘I am not my tweets’ and multiple bb personalities, I don’t think anyone shld even try to deny this.

    Posted by jola | February 7, 2011, 8:50 am
  4. hmm.. but you might have a 4, 5, 6 and more abi?

    Posted by thetoolsman | February 7, 2011, 8:52 am
  5. lol.. funny enough, those are the people I’m waiting for…

    Posted by thetoolsman | February 7, 2011, 8:53 am
  6. Speaking of alter-ego’s i probably do..have 1…there is a side of me i know wud surprise some people i know…but its not like i hide it…there is just no need for them to see it… it doesnt come up in our relating with each other…
    Does this mean its an alter-ego tho?

    Posted by beforesheimplodes | February 7, 2011, 8:54 am
  7. Serious one even.. seeing as you see the need to protect her.. abi it’s a he? O_o…

    Posted by thetoolsman | February 7, 2011, 8:57 am
  8. emmmmm.. lt me nt lie i tnk ive gt 1 or 2 of dem altr peeps.. x_x

    Posted by pebbles | February 7, 2011, 9:06 am
  9. for me what am trying to say is that the egos blend into 1 to form me because i dont even remember wich one i am everytime

    Posted by dammy | February 7, 2011, 9:16 am
  10. Hmm.. Dami Dami… I like this your line, I’m going to steal it… so, you’ve sorted yourself out, you’re free to go with all your alters…

    Posted by thetoolsman | February 7, 2011, 9:19 am
  11. Well, I don’t think u can call them alters
    Cos if we go by what we read in novels and see in films,
    Those r some really alter ish stuff.. I do have those “alters” too
    If u want to call it that! Like different people can describe me diffrently,
    And like “before she implodes” says some just don’t have to see
    That other side of me. I think its easier to call it different sides to a coin.

    Posted by oluwatowbad | February 7, 2011, 9:42 am
  12. LMAO!!!! TULA! I just had a good think…and i have quite a few of these’other people’ there are the opular ones…and not so popular ones.
    I do not protect any of em and funny enuf if i wanna b completely honest…one of em is almost a ‘he’ LoL
    On the real tho i do not feel the ‘need’ to protect em…there just hasnt been the need simples!
    I shall say no more on this subject *smirk*

    Posted by beforesheimplodes | February 7, 2011, 9:45 am
  13. Well I have n I loff em all. I have Onyeka, Yekus, and Nyekus Peperempe. Lol.

    Posted by onyeka | February 7, 2011, 9:48 am
  14. hahaha..i only knw onyeka baby

    Posted by pebbles | February 7, 2011, 9:59 am
  15. Different sides of the coin..hmm.. well, i guess you could say that but it’s just funny how some people have perfected these err..”other sides” and “they’ve” become a very consistent part of their lives…

    Posted by thetoolsman | February 7, 2011, 10:01 am
  16. where i wan start from……alters choke for my head in fact i get major case of MPD….but i’m sure u know this…..my favourite alter is my drunken state…..cool dude

    Posted by skills | February 7, 2011, 10:05 am
  17. na lie jor ur fav is ur no sense state…cool dude lol

    Posted by dammy | February 7, 2011, 10:17 am
  18. @thetoolsman really all those other sides r what make up our character, because one person can’t just be shy or be just mean etc, that’s y we r all unique and different. Diff ingredients to make one soup, good or bad, tasteless or over-the -top.

    Posted by oluwatowbad | February 7, 2011, 10:17 am
  19. i would not have convo one tho, lol
    funny thing, still find it lame when people tell me they have alters, like they coming up with reason to act weird.
    but there’s dis side of me dats dark ( & oda things), hopefully she wld never show herself in public….

    Posted by wrongsocks | February 7, 2011, 10:39 am
  20. I don’t believe in alter egos. I believe people should own up to their choices and. Not try to push it to their “other” sides. But I had a bf who would tell me I have multiple people living inside me because I could go from angry to bitchy to sweet in 10 seconds. I only believe in alter egos when you’re masturbating that way you can call someone elses name that isn’t yours. Xoxo

    Posted by vanity | February 7, 2011, 1:23 pm
  21. I believe you really don’t have an alter unless the said alter is so far and distinct from your normal self that it has it’s own identity! Like @Oluwatohbad said, all those other sides make up ones character, different ingredients to make 1 soup!

    Posted by Oluwaboi | February 8, 2011, 10:42 am
  22. I honestly don’t believe I’ve got an alter ego(s). Its all just me. I could kid and have a convo w/ myself amd all that but its all fun and games. If I were to have an angry convo w/ one person and a sweet convo w/ another @ the same time it just means I’m really pissed off @ the first person and not so w/ th latter. Don’t mean there are two of me. Simply put, we are human and we’ve got a shit load of emotions. One person regardless.

    Posted by Nono | February 14, 2011, 4:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,755 other followers

Follow Me:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

