//
you're reading...
Special

Birthday giveaway

Hey everyone. Yes it’s my birthday. Let me just say a HUGE thank you to you guys for all the messages, calls, posts, tweets and to all those who tried singing… thank you.

So, I’m here for two reasons. Firstly, I promised a giveaway didn’t I? I spent most of the weekend trying to thinkup a way to give what I have out and couldn’t comeup with something that wasn’t too complicated . So, I’ll be giving away this:

To the person who comes up with the most creative reason why I should, before midnight tomorrow.

To make things fair, I’ve enlisted my good friend, super OAP, Gbemi Olateru-Olagbegi (@Mz411) to help pick the winner. So, get thinking, use the comment box and convince her.

Huge s/o to the guys at Ten Over Ten (@tenoverten) for making this happen.

Secondly, a lot of people have been asking wasap with my birthday. Well, sadly, due to the fact that I have work tomorrow and the curfew, I can’t do much today but I’ve got you guys covered.

Date: Saturday April 30th

Venue: Number 10, Saka Tinubu, V.I Lagos..

Time: Well, just show up (after leaving The Undeground event of course) and we’ll shut it down all night.

What else? I’ll be giving out cocktails at the bar to the ladies for as long as possible so tell a friend to tell a friend to.. you know the deal…

Thanks again guys.. start sending in your comments. Cheers.

PS: The Vagina Monologues Remix begins tomorrow… 10am… don’t miss out…

About thetoolsman

I mostly refer to myself as an unrepentant media addict .. Well, cause I'm mostly always hunting for information through one media channel or the other... Hit me up on twitter @thetoolsman

Discussion

54 thoughts on “Birthday giveaway

  1. Errrrm… Give me, cos I’ve got the Tools? :/

    Posted by Commentator | April 26, 2011, 10:01 am
  2. Because I’m a groupie …. :s

    Posted by Hugegroupie:d | April 26, 2011, 10:12 am
  3. fuck the give away….just might come to lagos this weekend …Number 10 abi?

    Posted by @Sheriphskills | April 26, 2011, 10:21 am
  4. *grabs mic*Loudly declares* I think it should get the give away cos I’m a hopeless sucker for your blog and because I know someday I’ll be sitting front row in the audience, proudly wearing the Tee and clapping wildly as you go on stage to receive your ‘Young Writer’s Award’ at Eko Hotel. *drops mic*

    P.s- all places, events are purely fictional. The *mic* and wearer of the Tee however is real. -_-

    Posted by The_Winner aka shampion | April 26, 2011, 10:24 am
  5. Oops–>I think I*

    Posted by The_Winner aka shampion | April 26, 2011, 10:28 am
  6. Happy birthday bro. Many more years…

    Posted by SlevinCalevra | April 26, 2011, 10:35 am
  7. First, u didn’t acknowledge my birthday tweet *sadface*
    Second, pik me cos iv actually got the tools… (Literally and figuratively) and iv been trynna get everyone I know to get down to ur blog just so dey can get a feel of d tools! 😉

    Posted by deevagal | April 26, 2011, 10:37 am
  8. You should give me the shirt because I don’t own a T-shirt, I’ve never owned one. I don’t know what it feels like to wear one. 😦
    Also, a little birdie told me the Tee has super powers. I need it badly. It’ll save my life. And because I’m noble, I’ll use it to save other damsels in distress.
    I have other reasons but I don’t wanna drone on…

    Posted by Delphine | April 26, 2011, 10:41 am
  9. Give it to me #nohomo … or give it to a girl and prove me right again. No guy ever wins ur giveaway prices *kmt*

    Posted by Redribs | April 26, 2011, 10:46 am
  10. *clears throat* I think I should get the shirt because the statement “I’ve got the tools” is situated where my tools are (my boobs) and I really do have them 😀 ..plus I’ld wear it in a picture advertising my make-up services ..like “I’ve got the tools to remodel your face.

    And I read ur blog , comment and all that other good stuff AND I wished u a happy birthday:D.

    *fingers crossed*

    Posted by palavachronicles | April 26, 2011, 10:47 am
  11. *screams loud* PICK ME!!!!!!!!!!! Ok now that I have your attention, pick me because
    1) its a really nice tee that’ll look good in my wardrobe. 😀
    2) your blog is def one of my favorite and I look 4ward to updates…I will b proud to rock a tee I won from it.

    3) *sulking* I neva really win anything so this might jst make my day
    4) *thinks* u really numbering…how far can u go
    5) I’ve run out of reasons, but if that tee cud talk, it’ll tell u it wants me too. 😀

    Ps happy birthday. Hope u have fun. 🙂

    Posted by zany | April 26, 2011, 10:58 am
  12. *scoffs* I see people playing the pity ‘i-never-had-a-tee’, i-never-won-anything card. *yimu* I’m the winner, shikena! :D. *sotto voce* Remember I’ll be wearing it for the ‘Award’;) *cough*

    Posted by The_Winner -- again | April 26, 2011, 11:08 am
  13. HBD.

    Get at me for a delivery address. @banxman

    Posted by afrosays | April 26, 2011, 11:44 am
  14. For these reasons; I am a travel writer and I collect tee shirts, hence, teeshirts are part of my souvenirs and an active part of my wardrobe. This means I’d be spreading the word about your blog everywhere I go, and all it cost you would be a cool teeshirt!

    P.S. Hope it has your blog URL in fine print somewhere at the back. And hey, my next stop is New York! *wink*

    Posted by Vicki | April 26, 2011, 12:00 pm
  15. Cos I want 😦

    Posted by Hugegroupie:d | April 26, 2011, 12:37 pm
  16. Happy Birthday! Have a blast 🙂

    Posted by crystalclearwords | April 26, 2011, 12:48 pm
  17. Happy Birthday Toolsman!

    I should have the tee-shirt because I don’t know you personally neither do I follow you on twitter and yet I don’t need a reminder to read your blog.

    You are a very good writer,so, I send the link to your blog to people on my bbm for their reading pleasure and at the same time broadcasting your blog.

    When I get the tee-shirt(a Uk size 8) I’ll wear it to church,work,party,in fact everywhere and because it looks so good on me people will want to know what the ‘tools’ is and they will also ‘get the tools’ from me 😉

    Ok,so “with this argument of mine hope I have been able to convince you and not confuse you” that I need the tee-shirt!!!!

    Btw,I have only one tee-shirt(a souvenir from my graduation in 2007),so the tools tee would be welcomed!

    Posted by mabijo | April 26, 2011, 1:01 pm
  18. The instruction to be cre8ive kinda unwittingly encourages ppl 2 lie…but I won’t.The shirt has 2 b mine bcos ever since I was a little man I knew I had d tools, although at the moment, I still feel I lack the skills to use em effectively. My daddy always told me ‘Son, u have d right tools 4 d job…’ & my mum used to say ‘My dear, of all ur friends, u r best equipped to excel!’I believed them…but they didn’t know or think I did. With this shirt dear toolsman, I intend to let them see just how much I believed their messages! Just imagine the pride & glo that’l be present on both their faces when they see me walk in2 d livin rum (lyk Chuck Norris), look over my shoulder (lyk TI) and then smile @ dem (lyk Morris Chestnut), wearing thetoolsmans shirt (lyk…myself).Pls help me make my parents proud!! Also, factor in d fact dat I don’t know u but I dig (really dig) ur blog & dat 2day, I wish u d happiest bday u’ve had so far!

    Posted by TheMushite | April 26, 2011, 1:28 pm
  19. 2days ago smone said ur love blogpost and bullet analogy was BS; I pointed out that u didn’t say it was a universal law and leaving ur posts open ended always means u expect a discussion/refuting/addint etc…..
    Today; I gave u a happy birthday s/o today via twitter and said ur blog was “one of the best of all time” a’la Kanye. Someone didn’t agree wit me and said ur blog was good but that my words were “taking it a bit too far”….. We had a lil back and forth till she ended with “U are right”……..
    I’m not villifying anybody; I’m just saying I stuck by my words and defended them AND YOU…… If this isn’t tshirt worthy; I dunno what is…..:D

    PS: u can check my tweets to verify if u think I’m lying….

    Posted by @gorgeousbskin | April 26, 2011, 1:46 pm
  20. *grumbling* all these ppl n their stories…….pls @mz411 listen 2 me not dem. Mine is genuine…. 😀

    Posted by zany | April 26, 2011, 2:26 pm
  21. i hate books..i HATE reading and i hate errything connected to that…then my friend showed me ur blog 5 days ago and in 5 days ive read everysingle post here and im serz…ive final exams soon and readin his is waaaayyyy better than school work…#justSaying

    Posted by Ms. R.A.N | April 26, 2011, 2:27 pm
  22. Hello, lol!!! so far so good, comments have been hilarious! So, i feel that i shud get the tee shirt not just for the fact that i kno i’ve got the tools both intellectually and physically, but also because it would really, really be a source of inspiration to me – I’m an aspiring blogger with so much to say; and having a tee shirt from one of my favorite bloggers is sure to ginger me; other than that i can think up a million and one ways to rock that tee and rily prove to the world that i’ve the tools! 🙂

    Posted by ScarletDiva86 | April 26, 2011, 2:50 pm
  23. Err…okay. Nice tee but I really don’t want it. Just wanna wish you a happy birthday.

    I started reading your blog sometime this month and since then I’ve been hooked for good. I absolutely luv the way you write. I’ve said this so much I’m begining to sound like a broken record. I have a huge writer’s crush on you and I feel really bad I won’t make the party this weekend. 😦

    Don’t ever ever ever stop writing. Have a blast and knock down a few will ya?!

    Cheers!

    Posted by chinnydiva | April 26, 2011, 3:57 pm
  24. I fnk mabijo shld win.
    Happy bday again darlin

    Posted by onome | April 26, 2011, 4:22 pm
  25. bloody hell! Who will i give the shirt to? I might as well keep it for myself! lol!

    Posted by Gbemi | April 26, 2011, 4:34 pm
  26. Happy birthday tools, many more centuries to come ….
    Nw abt the tee, urrrrrrr….can’t think of any reason why i deserve it except i’m a big fan of yours….but just gimme anyways, thanks, wil send my address soon, i remain ur loyal fan *big smile*

    Posted by loffy | April 26, 2011, 4:41 pm
  27. Hey toolsman… Gıve me the damn tee shırt 4 Chrıst sake! I know how far ur wrıte ups go (ı’ve known u sınce d 90’s!!!) And ıf Gbemı ıs readıng thıs, pls take thıs post dırectly to Toolsman… He’ll understand y!!!!!

    Posted by nıyı adelaja | April 26, 2011, 4:44 pm
  28. Hey… Toolsman we go way back to da 90’s man and ı nutured ur wrıtıng skılls. Its payback tıme… Gıve me d damn tee!!!! Gbemı pls re-dırect thıs post to Olawale Adetula pls!!

    Posted by nıyı adelaja | April 26, 2011, 4:50 pm
  29. Erm pick me cos

    1. I said happy birthday.
    2. I’m fair and it’d contrast beautifully with my skin
    3. I’d be soo pretty in it that it’d be a damn waste to give it to anyone else 😀

    Posted by jayajade | April 26, 2011, 5:06 pm
  30. Ok this tee looks nice buh I doubt if it comes in my size!I’m a big fan of thetoolsman’s blog!n I live all the way in abeokuta!Happy birthday once again!fyi an xl will do!

    Posted by divadrama | April 26, 2011, 5:15 pm
  31. Dear gbemi,
    I want to be THE ONE, because it would be such a pleasure to have something from such a profound writer, I have been following his blog since I had the pleasure to read it, he made me fall in love with john mayer “friends, lovers…” (Can’t remember the title of the song) what more dedicated fan would you want to wear your tee-shirt. I can proudly say, I’VE GOT THE TOOLS.
    Yours’
    ‘Loba

    Posted by loba | April 26, 2011, 7:16 pm
  32. Urgh! Move the birthday! I’m starting to hate april 30th, too many things going down that i would not be present for…
    *sigh*

    Lol, waiting for the person whose gonna say “Give me the tee cos i’ve got huge TT’s…the kind that make a Tools tee look tight. you know warra mean *wink*”

    Or something like that sha. All these stories are yawn-inspiring. Get creative jo.

    Posted by slimsiren | April 26, 2011, 7:18 pm
  33. Pssst! Pls put in a good word for me too n I’ll buy u biscuit 😉

    Posted by Ayeesha | April 26, 2011, 7:50 pm
  34. err.. thanks :).. but err.. pls read oh.. pls… we’ll have more posts waiting for you after your exams…

    Posted by thetoolsman | April 26, 2011, 8:04 pm
  35. :(.. was so looking forward to you being there… thanks tho…

    Posted by thetoolsman | April 26, 2011, 8:05 pm
  36. Thanks…

    Posted by thetoolsman | April 26, 2011, 8:06 pm
  37. LOL.. Niyooo… LMAo @ “you nurtured my skills”..

    Posted by thetoolsman | April 26, 2011, 8:08 pm
  38. Oh trust me.. it’ll be customized to suit whoever wins .. Thanks…

    Posted by thetoolsman | April 26, 2011, 8:10 pm
  39. LOL… what she said…

    Posted by thetoolsman | April 26, 2011, 8:17 pm
  40. Happy birthday!!!..have fun 🙂

    Posted by kitkat | April 26, 2011, 8:36 pm
  41. Shirt.. I no want…*my size no dey mkt*….cocktail..I want and am comn wv all my ugly neighbours….
    Happy bday to you……*hop ther wud b cake oh*

    Posted by ibetapassmyneighbour | April 26, 2011, 8:41 pm
  42. OSU Student Comment… buhahahahah

    Posted by Hahahaha | April 26, 2011, 10:33 pm
  43. The comments on this posts remind me of secondary school days when it was time to fill d ‘sign out book’.

    “It started when… blah blah blah…. we used to blah blah blah…. and I used to blah blah blah…..”

    BLEH

    Posted by The Real Showstopper | April 26, 2011, 10:47 pm
  44. Me too. 😦 😥

    Posted by chinnydiva | April 26, 2011, 10:51 pm
  45. Hey Gbemi,

    I do not have the skills/tools to do write-ups but every time I read this blog a light-bulb comment naturally comes to me.

    The sun is not always sunny on my side but I have read comments on ere that have made me appreciate my circumstance much more.

    I’ve made mistakes and I’m such a pessimist that most times just think I aint good enough.

    In recent times nonetheless, I have being convinced that positive thoughts would always keep me forging through.

    The inscription on this t.shirt would be the icing on the cake for me cos I’d be preaching the best message to myself and others that I’d meet.

    Kindly deem it fit to pick me.

    Cheers,
    Stephanie.

    Posted by StephanieIj | April 27, 2011, 9:30 am
  46. Pick me Gbemi!
    I’ve got the tools literally, I would sell that tee anyday anytime by wearing it, I wore a I rep naija tee yesterday and trust me cos of my “tool” some folks here have bought plane tickets already “oops”
    But really, I’m a huge fan of tulas, he knows this,I read and comment on everypost, and most of all I recognize true talent when I see one, and tula has got the tools, he is afterall the toolsman

    Posted by BBB | April 27, 2011, 11:44 am
  47. Hi Gbemi…I’m not here to contest for the tee…altho I must add that it looks great…I already wished Tools a happy birthday on twitter as well…so all I came to do was have fun…and boy are these comments fun…see format wey ppl jus dey drop sha…ahn ahn…
    I think Winner aka Shampion should win it tho…just my 2 cents…
    I hope I can make it on Saturday…I’ve got quite a few events dat day n a beach party d next…so it’s gonna be pretty tight…

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | April 27, 2011, 2:04 pm
  48. Dear OAP,

    Haba! You can pick a winner already na. Dont worry, we wont judge your level of taste for creativity.

    Besides, the very creative ones you await are obviously not interested in the shirt seeing that it’s almost Tula’s next bday sef. I dont mind it tho :D. And if I dont get it, then I will have to resort to making my own abaversion: “I’ve got the cools”.

    Ok I’m just kidding about the shakara idea.
    Just gimme the Tee and I’ll quest the ‘ools’ myself.

    Posted by radeyo | April 27, 2011, 2:53 pm
  49. Oh well, what can I say now to win me this tee??? Considering I won the last giveaway it would be really unfair to win this one… So methinks you should give it to Zany then make another one for your biggest fan! 😀

    Posted by nengie | April 27, 2011, 3:16 pm
  50. Give me the tee cos I am one person that has being following your very cocky ass since forever without a follow back (can’t be bothered though)and I have read at least 80% of ur blog.not because I find u attractive but because I sense a great level of been very smart, intelligent&very creative and I see you with a very bright successful future.

    Posted by mo' | April 27, 2011, 10:58 pm
  51. #clearingthroatnervously#
    I define the ‘tools’ in all the different ways; plus I’m an architect to boot.. I know I’ve got the tools to build the perfect, bright future. I might need reminding though, hence the T-Shirt.

    If it helps I want it as bad as tom wants jerry 😀

    Posted by Douye | April 27, 2011, 10:59 pm
  52. This thread has now been closed… I’ll announce the winner Monday next week… Thanks guys…

    Posted by thetoolsman | April 28, 2011, 11:54 am
  53. I just came to gloat, I WON THE TEE!!!! 😀

    Posted by Delphine | May 4, 2011, 9:28 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,755 other followers

Follow Me:

  • Serious #Agbadagate 4 hours ago
  • RT @serenawilliams: There are so many reasons to quit, but even more to keep playing. Even if you don’t go pro, sports can teach you so muc… 14 hours ago
  • RT @ava: "We lit two hundred candles for you." I can't. Shout-out to Mint Condition, 112, Shai, Troop, Boyz II Men, Jodeci and all the othe… 14 hours ago
  • RT @SAnonymousng: Rape culture: men's sexualised violence against women is made 'normal' by common ideas and beliefs. There's a continuum o… 17 hours ago
  • Inside’s cream. Outside’s mocha. 1 day ago
