//
you're reading...
Special, Uncategorized

I am the SIN.

Hey people. So it turns out my mind is still in that weird place so today’s post will be erm.. be different. What can I say, enjoy.

Pleasure needs a title as much as a child needs a name
Night and Day
Heaven and Hell
How can both, perfectly opposite, stir up the same emotion
That exact same feeling
I close my eyes
I can’t bear to look
I feel lost
With one, I feel the other
With the other I feel one
I’m lost in my own mind
Looking for answers
Looking for reasons
Looking for a fault
A flaw that will split Night and Day
Heaven and Hell

A lot of times I lay in silence as I watch Night take over Day as if filling out blank spaces on a canvas. The gentle caress and embrace of the moonlight soothing away the harsh stings of the sun

I enjoy kisses at Night
I enjoy kisses during the Day
Hell’s kisses fall on my lower lips complimenting kisses from Heaven up above

Heaven plants me… Hell picks me

I breathe in Heaven, exhale Hell
One renting my body.. the other leasing my mind

Hell cuts me … Heaven heals me

One gives me air just so the other can take my breath away
The Day drains me, strength returns at Night
One brings me to tears, the other gifts me smiles

Pleasure from pain
Pain from pleasure
This sinful cycle will be the end of me
This confession won’t deliver me from sin but it would be a sin if these words remained undelivered
With every passing day of denial, helpless begins to mean help less
I fail miserably at reading between the lines because the lines do not exist
I can not remain hidden in the evening forever
I can not choose
I can not pick
Pleasure needs a title as much as a child needs a name
One is my Angel
One is my Devil
I am the SIN.

Comments and opinions will be appreciated. Use the comment box and speak your mind. Cheers.

About thetoolsman

I mostly refer to myself as an unrepentant media addict .. Well, cause I'm mostly always hunting for information through one media channel or the other... Hit me up on twitter @thetoolsman

Discussion

94 thoughts on “I am the SIN.

  1. sinners lets go!!!

    Posted by jiballzzz | May 6, 2011, 9:04 am
  2. 🙂 ill b bck

    Posted by pebbles | May 6, 2011, 9:04 am
  3. *sigh* I’m in a verrry weird place myself right now, though its not the same exact weird place, but I can relate.

    Posted by loba | May 6, 2011, 9:06 am
  4. Ohhhhhh yea!!!!!! I’m loving this weird you!!!!!!

    Posted by nengie | May 6, 2011, 9:06 am
  5. How can I leave a comment?
    For I am not sure….
    of that which you speak?
    Dude,if your mind is in a weird place,
    kindly tie it a rope & drag it out for Chrissake!

    And alas, William Shakespare said..
    “Some rise by sin, and some by virtue fall”

    Now counting how many comments will contain the word “deep”

    Posted by @LagosHunter | May 6, 2011, 9:14 am
  6. oh i can relate to this…

    Posted by Wumie | May 6, 2011, 9:17 am
  7. lol … funny enough I thought you’d be able to relate. Forget about the depth.. you’re telling me you’ve never had to play SIN? The object of war between angels and demons?

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 9:21 am
  8. I like this, especially how it ends.
    I’m feeling this your weird mood, stay here for a little longer…pleassseee 🙂

    Posted by Iyamilele | May 6, 2011, 9:22 am
  9. @lagoshunter your sarcasm flutters my heart.

    Posted by loba | May 6, 2011, 9:22 am
  10. Extraordinary Stuff…

    Posted by Madt Bandit | May 6, 2011, 9:23 am
  11. Very soon, I’m just gonna give up writing…this is not fair…
    I know this poem has more than one reason for being. But if I could draw conclusions for one, I’d say this is a poem of infidelity and how the guilt tears his soul apart. But he has issues letting the main chic (Daytime) go… but well, lets see what everyone else thinks.

    Posted by The Capoeira Panda | May 6, 2011, 9:24 am
  12. Ok, this really is different… With this bottle of Coke, I dub thee Bard Toolsman!

    Posted by Delphine | May 6, 2011, 9:25 am
  13. Give up ke.. don’t try it… Once again I’ve left this open … I like the infidelity interpretation though …

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 9:27 am
  14. LOL… thank you your royal hawtness…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 9:28 am
  15. 1 comment. Spoken word let loose.

    If you’re still in that weird place, your mind will sink to greater depths and a whole lot more will come out, like a prospector looking for diamonds…

    I am the SIN.

    I refuse to use the word deep, that four-letter word thrown about so carelessly, same as the word fuck..

    These are words of emotion that resonate deeply in that part of your mind only you are aware of..you seem to have reached a different level of ecstasy..Words are your drug and the only antidote are those same words…

    Let yourself go…muy bien (very good).

    Posted by awizii | May 6, 2011, 9:31 am
  16. Lemme just say it plain and simple, to all ye deep people…

    I do not understand.

    Uncle Toolsman, oya, please begin to explain…

    Posted by Slim | May 6, 2011, 9:36 am
  17. And I was just thinking of committing a sin just b4 reading dis blog 😀 weird stuff tho..

    Posted by Wola | May 6, 2011, 9:36 am
  18. RT @LOBA: @lagoshunter your sarcasm flutters my heart.

    Posted by StephanieIj | May 6, 2011, 9:38 am
  19. And Her majesty Delphine gives into ‘the Coke’ lol.
    Lovely write up…..highlights the indecision a person faces at almost every turn and the gradual transition instead of abrupt difference between good and evil, right and wrong….and to an extent heaven and hell…..

    Posted by jayajade | May 6, 2011, 9:39 am
  20. Confusion. Lust. Guilt.
    You have one, you yearn for the other which is intensified by the fact that you shouldn’t. Temptation. Helplessness. Classic case of being stuck between the ‘right’ one and the forbidden one. Am I right?

    Posted by wordsofanaries | May 6, 2011, 9:42 am
  21. I like this very much.. I’ll throw in one more word: Greed. Oh and the issue comes when you can’t tell which is right and which is forbidden… night sometimes becomes day and vice versa …

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 9:44 am
  22. I had to read it three times, line after line and I slowly took it in…it became clearer.

    Posted by Iyamilele | May 6, 2011, 9:45 am
  23. Indecision!

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 9:45 am
  24. smh.. as you were…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 9:46 am
  25. classic case of “it’s wrong but you want it”…No pleasure without the pain.

    Posted by awizi | May 6, 2011, 9:47 am
  26. lol.. I’ll suggest you read it again.. everytime I do, I get a new interpretation.. lemme give you one.. SIN = woman… Night/Hell = man, Day/Heaven = man

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 9:48 am
  27. “Words are your drug and the only antidote are those same words…” … you’re truly the king when it comes to this.. thanks man

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 9:49 am
  28. I call exactly what you are portraying, the mystery of duality. You could even add yin and yang. Beautiful sometimes and heartbreaking the rest of the time…..

    Posted by Nono | May 6, 2011, 9:49 am
  29. I think ‘heartbreaking’ MOST times cause the average human is greedy.. why have yin alone when you can have both yin & yang but eventually, a decision has to be made…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 10:05 am
  30. Of course this is deep!

    My sarcasm is a deliberate stab at all those who may not think deeper than the word ‘deep’…..

    I am a demon (confessed hedonist) and the moralist) is the angel…..of course,I play SIN everyday

    Posted by LagosHunter | May 6, 2011, 10:07 am
  31. I love it…it could very well explain my life at the moment. Sad but true…. NIce one, been thinking of how to express this, probably still would.

    Posted by Son1aO | May 6, 2011, 10:09 am
  32. wow..just saw this..me king ke? God is the ultimate source of inspiration…only that it radiates from everything we see, and feel,hear and write about…Thanks man.

    Posted by awizi | May 6, 2011, 10:12 am
  33. I like your outlook on this Nono..

    Posted by awizi | May 6, 2011, 10:14 am
  34. *breaking my writing pen*

    *bbm angry smiley*

    All these writers sef!

    Posted by phoenix9ja | May 6, 2011, 10:17 am
  35. Hahaha!!…nice!!!…what y’all need to know is BOLDLY written out!!!…un punto sir!!…this just reminds me of kanye’s “lost in the world” (kinda)

    Posted by mr I'm out of this world | May 6, 2011, 10:19 am
  36. lol.. he might have a point … thanks bruv..

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 10:20 am
  37. go for it 🙂

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 10:20 am
  38. hmmm. ‘deep’ starts to sound cliche at some point, so you look for another word with a similar meaning…this time I didn’t find any…

    good stuff.

    Posted by bem iordaah | May 6, 2011, 10:26 am
  39. Night and Day are shades of gray… Good and Evil? Reality and Illusion? And to say it’s all relative is to make an absolute statement. *sigh*

    Posted by Glory Okubo | May 6, 2011, 10:27 am
  40. We have greatness defined in a voice amongst us today.. y’all remember this name.. thanks bruv…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 10:30 am
  41. I too I’m in a very weird place, and tho my weird place is way different frm yours… I’ve just bin diagnosed of cancer, to me night has become day, day has become night… I love these lines of d poem:

    I’m lost in my own mind
    Looking for answers
    Looking for reasons
    Looking for a fault
    A flaw that will split Night and Day
    Heaven and Hell

    *sigh* I know one day, I’ll be able to separate night from day again… I’m sorry I’ve interpreted your poem in my own words… I guess to each, his/her own meaning!!!

    May your pen never run dry of ink…

    Posted by miraclesdohappen | May 6, 2011, 10:34 am
  42. Blank Stare…..

    Posted by Keyzer Soze | May 6, 2011, 10:34 am
  43. Two words for this post–> FATAL ATTRACTION!

    Posted by kechilauren | May 6, 2011, 10:34 am
  44. hmmm.. I see what you did here… relative – absolute… good point..

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 10:36 am
  45. oh wow… I so so sorry 😦
    No need to apologize, it was written to stir up several interpretations.
    I’ll join you in praying the good Lord helps you draw that line once again. Amen.

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 10:39 am
  46. hmm… definitely captures it…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 10:43 am
  47. Btw…toolsman..ur versatility in writing amazes me everyday..I love this wierd place ur in..its good for my eyess,mind and soul.:)

    Posted by kechilauren | May 6, 2011, 10:47 am
  48. yeah…i figured that much out…but at a point it all began to swim around…

    Dont worry. I shall read it again when i wake up from sleep. Hopefully that would make a difference.

    Need i say #deep?

    Posted by Slim | May 6, 2011, 10:49 am
  49. she’s a programmer..whatchu think? 😉

    Posted by awizi | May 6, 2011, 10:54 am
  50. Lovely piece! What I understand about this is that SIN is something we know is harmful and bad but that urge to fulfill our “fleshy” desires pull us out of that “heavenly” mode to hell and then we feel sober after committing and want to quickly get back into that “Holy” mode. SIN is that thin line between Heaven and hell which we as humans don’t have proper control over except with the help of God.

    Posted by Olushayee | May 6, 2011, 10:59 am
  51. =^_^=

    Posted by Glory Okubo | May 6, 2011, 11:05 am
  52. err.. you guys need a room?

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 11:08 am
  53. Lovely piece! What I understand about this is that SIN is something we know is harmful and bad but that urge to fulfill our “fleshy” desires pull us out of that “heavenly” mode to hell and then we feel sober after committing and want to quickly get back into that “Holy” mode. SIN is that thin line between Heaven and hell which we as humans don’t have proper control over except with the help of God….

    Posted by Olushayee | May 6, 2011, 11:12 am
  54. I am the SIN..right now..lost in thought…its my comfort zone..I love being the sin..where’s the fun if..nvm
    Amazing!..x

    Posted by Jade Mustapha | May 6, 2011, 11:14 am
  55. I can totally relate….except in my case I had to chose night cos Night was fun,daring,spontaneous ….Good one !!

    Posted by Queen-bee | May 6, 2011, 11:18 am
  56. come back here and finish that comment..

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 11:20 am
  57. I won’t pretend I understand…I won’t say “deep”, “I’m in the weird place too”, “I relate to this”… Truth is, I have no idea what u guys are on about….what does this make me? Dumb? Shallow? 😦

    Posted by Commentator | May 6, 2011, 12:08 pm
  58. Well pleasure jst got its title…SIN…buh can one do without it, pretty hard for me tho….
    U̶̲̥̅̊ ‘r really good tools, no doubt, i’m feeling dis

    Posted by loffy | May 6, 2011, 12:16 pm
  59. Just like Archimedes jumping around with his balls gleefully banging against each other on the streets of Athens, I have received my “Eureka” moment for I have been pondering on the subject matter for a couple of days now. Danke Tools.

    Posted by Uncle Jevi | May 6, 2011, 12:18 pm
  60. ….heaven plants me, hell picks me
    One gives me air,just so the other could take my breath away….
    Classic! It’s as if to say we’re being mocked by a higher force. We try to be gud, very gud, but dt doesn’t stop bad things from happening to us. There has to b a balance, which I clearly do not undstnd… Urrgh! Dis piece has stirred up a lot of tots… I’ll b bck…….

    Posted by Mzanonymous | May 6, 2011, 12:25 pm
  61. Ogbeni choose 1 babe and \__

    Posted by onyeka | May 6, 2011, 12:28 pm
  62. Ogbeni choose 1 babe and \__. Nice piece

    Posted by nyekus peperempe | May 6, 2011, 12:28 pm
  63. lol.. you’re welcome..

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 12:31 pm
  64. lol.. in your mind now..

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 12:35 pm
  65. “It’s as if to say we’re being mocked by a higher force.” <—I like…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 12:50 pm
  66. “We love Jesus but we’ve learnt a lot from satan” reminds me of the battle between good and evil I face everytime my conscience wakes up from sleep.

    Still, evil and good complement each other. Balance

    Posted by MsJulz | May 6, 2011, 12:55 pm
  67. This is an awesome piece, one that would definitely generate unending thots…some of which i would also like to share…Nice one toolsman

    Who flipped the coin?
    One question, multiple answers
    Two sides, one coin
    One plan, two outcomes
    Two teams, one goal

    Up in the air it goes, casting a shadow upon their eyes
    As they watched keenly

    Heartbeats increase, veins stretch
    Only one side can win
    A song of defeat will be raised for the other
    If it’s head it shall be war
    But the tail shall bring freedom

    War births freedom, the father of peace
    Whose side shall I fall?
    An ally with the head is war against the tail
    But freedom with the tail is a death sentence

    Two different contestants battle for one prize
    My soul

    Behold the shock upon their faces
    As the coin falls upon the ground

    Here comes the verdict
    Who shall emerge winner
    Who goes home in shame?

    Wait a minute
    The prize is certain
    The battle field is set
    And the warriors are ready
    Who flipped the coin?

    Posted by Tramskid | May 6, 2011, 1:32 pm
  68. This is equivalent to viewing our seemingly simple lives through a “truth” lens that shows us the endless cycle of chaos we all live in. We’re constantly in that grey “evening” with night and day constantly tearing up the well worn fabric of the soul! Great writing…it just keeps getting better.

    Posted by shaAgi | May 6, 2011, 1:41 pm
  69. Nooo :p

    Posted by Jade Mustapha | May 6, 2011, 2:04 pm
  70. Who flipped the coin? hahaha.. nice respinse .. I like.. thanks bruv..

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 2:18 pm
  71. I enjoy kisses at Night
    I enjoy kisses during the Day
    Hell’s kisses fall on my lower lips complimenting kisses from Heaven up above

    Heaven plants me… Hell picks me

    I breathe in Heaven, exhale Hell
    One renting my body.. the other leasing my mind

    Hell cuts me … Heaven heals me”

    Boy oh Boy. I enjoyed this

    Posted by creamandcoffee | May 6, 2011, 3:21 pm
  72. Sin seems Indispensable….its a constant battle between Heaven and Hell!

    Posted by mabijo | May 6, 2011, 4:09 pm
  73. lol @ Boy oh Boy…. I was hoping someone would highlight this line:

    Hell’s kisses fall on my lower lips complimenting kisses from Heaven up above ..

    It fits my favourite interpretation so far.. the one where Sin is a woman and heaven/hell are identical twins… ‘lower lips’ … ‘up above’ .. sigh…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 4:10 pm
  74. :s

    Posted by mobanks | May 6, 2011, 4:11 pm
  75. :(.. why the confused face?

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 4:27 pm
  76. Bows and says thank you……

    Posted by LagosHunter | May 6, 2011, 5:01 pm
  77. RT? RT? O_O
    Anyway, iBow and iSay thank you……

    Posted by LagosHunter | May 6, 2011, 5:03 pm
  78. Eyes and soul? ..erm.. ok .. thanks..

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 6, 2011, 5:09 pm
  79. Cos I didn’t get the post

    Posted by mobanks | May 6, 2011, 5:38 pm
  80. This is really profound Tula. Nice one! Unlike some people, I didn’t get the ‘man’ ‘woman’ vibe of this poem. For me this poem speaks to duality (Good vs. Evil) that we always think are clearly defined…seperate if you like. But the truth is, everyone co-habits in a space that is coloured by shades of gray. At the end of heaven is hell and the begining of hell is heaven. Evil is a part of good and good is a part of evil. The most happy people are the ones like you who realize that the so called lines are blurry, perhaps because in reality they do not exist. Everything: man/woman, light/darkness, good/evil is a part of the universal cosmos, one needing the other to thrive.
    Okay lemme stop rambling, I might be yarning rubbish sef! 😀
    But I really like this poem and I can SO relate to it!

    Posted by zanyfran | May 6, 2011, 6:58 pm
  81. Post and comments remind me of d movie- megamind 🙂 #okbye

    Posted by QT | May 6, 2011, 7:51 pm
  82. No comment…..

    Posted by ibetapassmyneighbour | May 6, 2011, 8:22 pm
  83. (Did the theme get a little lost here\or take on new meanings in the midst of all the words with their inherent ambiguities?)

    Certaintly cannot be said to consistently refer to a woman.
    WE are the metaphor. Good & Evil seem opposite but really aren’t. They both satisfy, albeit in different manners (evil’ll take the lower lips for instance)

    It is WE who are unfaithful, it is the duality of our being. We are prostitutes, slaves to caprice

    Posted by @osinubi | May 6, 2011, 8:35 pm
  84. My best part of this is the different intepretations. Each making you see the piece in a different light. Good job. (Y)

    Posted by beth | May 6, 2011, 9:55 pm
  85. This isn’t deep this is like inception deeper than deep…the crazy life we live in a battle that goes on and on.the conscious mind and the unconcious mind,ying yang,pleasure and pain,everything intertwined.
    The interlocking never ends. A lot of comments here highlights how mad people are see interpretations.lol.nice one thetoolsman(y)

    Posted by mo' | May 6, 2011, 11:19 pm
  86. Nice piece…although it sort of has a sad/deep mood. I like the contradiction as well. Good work.

    Posted by Ify | May 7, 2011, 9:25 am
  87. I don’t know why I keep coming back here (6 times in total). I usu do not leave a comment unless I have something new to add. But this post just haunts me, literally.

    It is one of the few things I’ve seen lately that possess beauty in their simple-complexity.

    Fantastic stuff

    I’ll zip it here.

    Posted by 'Jibòla | May 8, 2011, 7:56 am
  88. I don’t know why I keep coming back here (6 times in all).

    I usually don’t comment unless I have something new to add, but it would seem that this post is haunting in it’s elusive complexity.

    *sigh*

    Beautiful stuff.

    Posted by efaguevara | May 8, 2011, 8:18 am
  89. “This confession won’t deliver me from sin but it would be a sin if these words remained undelivered
    With every passing day of denial, helpless begins to mean help less”
    I love the word play here,Beautiful piece,only dt i got lost,found,lost again so manytimes,i feel like I’m watching LOST.*scratchingHeadwithConfusedLook*

    Posted by gchild01 | May 9, 2011, 3:19 pm
  90. Amazing wordplay!!!
    We should see more of the weird you!
    🙂

    My favorite line: “One renting my body.. the other leasing my mind”

    Posted by Yasminn | May 9, 2011, 7:35 pm
  91. Wooow!! Ur ryt abt ur mind being in a wierd place. This puts one in a position to think though. I’m nt sure how I feel bt its kinda wierd now “…breathe in heaven, exhale hell” Dude u’v got some skill, this is a nyc piece. I do pray u’l continue to b a blessing to ppl arnd u. Cheers 🙂

    Posted by Chiwunma | May 11, 2011, 6:00 am
  92. Reminds me so much of Al pacino’s lines in d last scenes of the Devil’s Advocate. “Man is filled with all sorts of desires but then the rules are set in opposition.— mocked by a higher force

    Posted by bykerboi | May 19, 2011, 5:44 am
  93. Read it 3 times and I still don’t get it. The metaphors keep getting misplaced to me. Maybe its due to me not believing and understanding the pressure of anticipating the afterlife :p my belief in a “God” but not in “sin” :p :p so for me its as “deep” as a virgins vagina, which to most, is golden =)), aLl thanks to my scientific shallow thought process… overall a nice read.

    Posted by PXC_Jerry | May 22, 2011, 8:47 am
  94. *yawning* itumo?????

    Posted by kankey | June 18, 2011, 1:03 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,755 other followers

Follow Me:

  • Serious #Agbadagate 4 hours ago
  • RT @serenawilliams: There are so many reasons to quit, but even more to keep playing. Even if you don’t go pro, sports can teach you so muc… 14 hours ago
  • RT @ava: "We lit two hundred candles for you." I can't. Shout-out to Mint Condition, 112, Shai, Troop, Boyz II Men, Jodeci and all the othe… 14 hours ago
  • RT @SAnonymousng: Rape culture: men's sexualised violence against women is made 'normal' by common ideas and beliefs. There's a continuum o… 17 hours ago
  • Inside’s cream. Outside’s mocha. 1 day ago
