//
you're reading...
Special

If tomorrow never (really) comes

Hey people. As much as I tried to ignore the HUGE elephant we have staring at all of us, I just couldn’t. So, it is said that tomorrow will be the End Of Days. The end of the world as we all know it. I sat and was thinking to myself that if the predictions turn out right and things actually end tomorrow, what is the ONE thing I’ll say I truly regret not being able to experience during my lifetime.

It took only a short while to realize the answer. So, I allowed my mind travel five years into the future where I wrote this.

I was born the day you came into my life, before then, nothing really mattered
Every time I close my eyes, every time I blink, I see you
The sun only shines out of envy for you,
the moon glows to compete with your luminesce

I lay next to you nurturing heaven itself by my side
I’ll wake middle of every night to check on you
my sole reason of existence, my tomorrow
Sleep holds little for me because you are my dreams

My quest for perfection stops every time I look in your eyes
You make me feel small, vulnerable and I should resent you for that
but humility washes over me when I remember he sent you for that
Your existence proves God exists, you are my re-occuring miracle.

There are times I cannot understand you
A Thousand meanings accompany your every chuckle, giggle and rant
but each one means more than a thousand smiles to me
If I were to be honest, people would also find me hard to understand
Because everything I say to you would include the words “I” and “Love you”
Just another proof we are one and the same

I have been honorably reduced; feeling like a soldier ant
My sole responsibility is to ward evil away from you
Unlike the ant & his queen, I am big and you are my little one
This world is too cruel, something so beautiful should never feel pain

We will fight. Mostly about nothing
Mostly because I sometimes think about losing you
Or maybe because you’ve held my heart prisoner since the day we met
I feel the need to keep you around me so people don’t see the void within me
Careful connection. Our connection makes me care fully

So forgive me when I exacerbate you,
As the same blood runs through our veins
You are a part of every single smile on my face, each tear I shed
You are my endless miracle. Every second since the day we met…
Know that you are the reason each chamber of my heart fires still
You are the reason I dream dreams
You are the reason I wake everyday
You are the reason for tomorrow

So, there’s my answer. A lil something for my unborn child.  It’s time for yours. Use the comment box to tell us about that ONE thing you’d regret not experiencing if the world does come to an end tomorrow. Speak your mind. Cheers.

PS: I’ll be re-posting the revised trailer/first episode of “Our best friend’s wedding” tomorrow. I’ve formatted it to allow the subsequent posts shorter.

About thetoolsman

I mostly refer to myself as an unrepentant media addict .. Well, cause I'm mostly always hunting for information through one media channel or the other... Hit me up on twitter @thetoolsman

Discussion

96 thoughts on “If tomorrow never (really) comes

  1. Gast be 1st….:p 😀

    Posted by Iyamilele | May 20, 2011, 8:55 am
  2. 1st to comment.. bye x_X

    Posted by Optix | May 20, 2011, 8:56 am
  3. 😦

    Posted by Optix | May 20, 2011, 8:57 am
  4. Awwwwww …. *sigh* ….i fear it wud be same for me….almost exactly the same…

    Posted by beforesheimplodes | May 20, 2011, 9:00 am
  5. O_o

    Posted by Commentator | May 20, 2011, 9:00 am
  6. Oh my! Tears in my eyes x_x. Brb

    Posted by BawseLadyTonie | May 20, 2011, 9:01 am
  7. This is beautiful…
    ‘I was born the day you came into my life, before then, nothing really mattered’

    Funny I woke up in the middle of the night bout 2mnths ago thinking ‘what if tomorrow doesn’t come for me’….and then I sent bbm’s to about 15 special people, after I cried…it was bloody scary.

    Posted by Iyamilele | May 20, 2011, 9:02 am
  8. okay…I hope this is to your unborn child

    Posted by chinnydiva | May 20, 2011, 9:04 am
  9. So you’d regret not falling in love b4 humanity is wiped out by the prophesised apocalyptic storm, right? Hmm deep, beautifully written.

    If the world ends 2moro, my regret would be not having a child b4 I’m forced to exit this cruel world, not xperiencing the miraculous thing that is childbirth, not holding my baby in my arms for the 1st time and feel the pain I felt a couple of minutes b4 vanish n be replaced by a flood of maternal emotions, greatest being love and protection. It’s not too late 2 make one, is it? lol

    Posted by wordsofanaries | May 20, 2011, 9:06 am
  10. awww…who’s d lucky lady…rili heartfelt ish bruv…
    Mine would be a looooottttt different…

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | May 20, 2011, 9:08 am
  11. Well d top of my list is watching my daughter(s) grow. Can’t really think of anything else….its something I look forward to and I’ll b a lil sad 2 miss it. Well I’ll b rocking my halo in the clouds so guess it won’t really matter. 😀

    Posted by zany | May 20, 2011, 9:08 am
  12. err.. No, as ChinnyDiva correctly said, it’s written for my unborn child…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 20, 2011, 9:10 am
  13. Awww… Can I be the baby mama????

    Posted by nengie | May 20, 2011, 9:11 am
  14. Not lady o… MY UNBORN CHILD….

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 20, 2011, 9:11 am
  15. @chinnydiva.. Noo its not to his unborn child, its to his left breast…”Smh”..

    Posted by V | May 20, 2011, 9:11 am
  16. It seems to be…or so I believe

    Posted by Iyamilele | May 20, 2011, 9:13 am
  17. LOL! V kiloderm? abeg drink sprite o! d world is ending

    Posted by chinnydiva | May 20, 2011, 9:18 am
  18. *shines teeth*

    Posted by chinnydiva | May 20, 2011, 9:19 am
  19. Beautiful piece I must say…mine wud b not getting married to the man of my dreams and sorry to add anoda, havin beautiful babies..:D

    Posted by dammydiva | May 20, 2011, 9:20 am
  20. Regret? Wrong choice of word….I won’t regret anythg if d world ends 2mrw cos as it is its not meant to hpn….but in 5yrs tym…b a qualified doc, saving lives around d world 🙂

    Posted by mee | May 20, 2011, 9:20 am
  21. errr…am I allowed to say I’ll regret not having fulfilled my sexual fantasies..or are y’all too sober for that?

    Posted by chinnydiva | May 20, 2011, 9:22 am
  22. Not hiking to the top of Mount Kilimanjaro will be mine.

    Posted by lagoshunter | May 20, 2011, 9:23 am
  23. This is beautiful..I actually felt tears…
    What I really want to experience before the end of the world…is hours on the beach. In some far away island with my future family..just 6 of us..

    Posted by kechilauren | May 20, 2011, 9:24 am
  24. Tula ati scam pelu oyinbo…..all the babes go dey queue up for u now….*side eye*…oh yelz hayam jelux….Nice piece tho

    Posted by Master Sushey | May 20, 2011, 9:27 am
  25. Beautiful beautiful piece. Love it! Unborn child, lover, friend….. It’s all love.
    One thing I’d defo regret tho, if the world does come to an end, is not having the opportunity to experience the joy of building my own family…

    Posted by BawseLadyTonie | May 20, 2011, 9:27 am
  26. Sometimes I wonder if our good friend Zara has an alter in ChinnyDiva…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 20, 2011, 9:27 am
  27. lol.. hmmm.. send your resume to HR..

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 20, 2011, 9:28 am
  28. And thank God its 4 ur unborn child cos I was so gna bleh if its 4 a babe! As in bleh! That wud v bin so predictable…

    Posted by mee | May 20, 2011, 9:30 am
  29. Err.. why not Everest?

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 20, 2011, 9:31 am
  30. smh… you didnt answer the question tho..

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 20, 2011, 9:32 am
  31. Sorry dt post is taken 🙂
    And I gatso say, mtn is #winning this morning 😀

    Posted by mee | May 20, 2011, 9:32 am
  32. erm… 6? 4 kids? Some Branjelina P?

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 20, 2011, 9:33 am
  33. Tomorrow cannot not come…because, like chinnydiva I never really debe….and I want to do it especially with that partilcular purlzon that would eventually comment on this post, being as obsessed with May 21st as it is..
    Tula! Cute poem. That’s another reason why I know the world is not ending tmrw. I have to meet my darling baby.

    Posted by Slim | May 20, 2011, 9:33 am
  34. Beautifully written. ‘I was born the day you came into my life’. The first line did it for me.

    Posted by i.e | May 20, 2011, 9:35 am
  35. Ope. Good for you!! First ko:p

    Posted by kechilauren | May 20, 2011, 9:37 am
  36. awwww…nice one…rili nice one…

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | May 20, 2011, 9:37 am
  37. Because I am a realist. Kilimanjaro is closer, less expensive and thus more achievable…..

    Posted by lagoshunter | May 20, 2011, 9:38 am
  38. omo I’m wit u on dis one o…chimoo…God forbid d world should end 2moro…I cannot die d way I am o…

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | May 20, 2011, 9:39 am
  39. biko biko I’m nobory’s alter o! full blooded ibo geh w/ needs and desires.

    Posted by chinnydiva | May 20, 2011, 9:40 am
  40. I have a bucket list and i’ve only crossed out 11 outta 174 young man…..i hope to achieve all before i’m 40…..if i list am hia lasan….*sigh*

    Posted by Master Sushey | May 20, 2011, 9:43 am
  41. *sigh*

    This really got to me I guess…

    I don’t think I’ll “regret” not experiencing anything though. That’s rather strong. I’d probably only wish I did stuff like… spend a night at a lonesome beach… X_X

    Posted by Glory | May 20, 2011, 9:43 am
  42. No. :p

    Posted by zany | May 20, 2011, 9:44 am
  43. Spend the night .. alone?

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 20, 2011, 9:48 am
  44. *spy mode activated*… this geh can be razz though.. she’ll now be forming deep on her blog… hilzz…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 20, 2011, 9:49 am
  45. My regret would be not having had a closer relationship wit God

    Posted by sociallymisunderstood | May 20, 2011, 9:54 am
  46. Err… Nope. 🙂

    Posted by Glory | May 20, 2011, 9:58 am
  47. Skinny dippin with a few of my friends from yabaleft would be what I regret the most. The fun will be legen…dontwaitforit..dary.

    For those of you saying beach, beach beach,
    1) pour some sand into the bathtub ,
    2) open the windows for coo breeze..
    3)lie down in birthdaysuit there, till you hear trumpet!

    Thank me later in heaven

    Posted by RiCDiZzLe | May 20, 2011, 9:58 am
  48. Well written post tools.

    What I’ll miss if tomorrow ends the world is Not knowing what its like to be madly in love and loved back;and also making sweet passionate love to that one person.

    Posted by mabijo | May 20, 2011, 10:01 am
  49. Very lovely post..While reading I thought it was to Jesus.. Not your unborn Child. Enjoyed reading.

    Posted by Missfadesomi | May 20, 2011, 10:03 am
  50. Wish I could o how I would
    Rip the pages out this book
    Maybe tell a different tale
    The kind with love & fairies, tales
    Of castles & horses & me in shining armour
    Would’ve been ur one true safe harbor

    Its not as if I have regrets
    I had a plan but roadblocks met
    I wish I could’ve conquered all
    Before the sun & skies would fall
    But date & time I did not see
    The moment Christ would come for me

    But through it all one thing I know
    That I’d been lucky, blessed to go
    On that journey with the one
    Who died for me,
    The saviour He
    Left it all on dat crossed tree
    All for me He sacrificed
    His purity and hoped I might
    Reciprocate with all my heart
    & love not Him alone but all
    Of the creatures He created
    Take His love & duplicate it.

    So I look forward to that moment
    Levitate & I would own it
    The right to the be the groom like He
    And u like the church would be…….
    MY ETERNAL BRIDE.

    (P.S- in case u weren’t sure, this is not for my unborn child :P)

    Posted by freshprinz | May 20, 2011, 10:06 am

  51. Very lovely post..While reading I thought it was to Jesus.. Not your unborn Child. Enjoyed reading

    Posted by Missfadesomi | May 20, 2011, 10:07 am
  52. This is another post not a comment. #justsaying. 😀

    Posted by bella | May 20, 2011, 10:14 am
  53. AAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!
    This thing does not sound like it’s for any flipping unborn child! It’s for “the” LOVER! LoL! *side eye*

    Posted by Delphine | May 20, 2011, 10:17 am
  54. I honestly thought about putting up a post about something similar. I like the poem a whole lot. Tastefully written.

    This is my theme for everyday living..Making plans, achieving things, living for today, not worrying about tomorrow…

    Good stuff…honestly don’t know what else to say.

    Posted by awizi | May 20, 2011, 10:34 am
  55. I feel inspired…..new post coming up!

    Posted by awizi | May 20, 2011, 10:35 am
  56. @Devlon: Thank u o. I thought so too o. Maybe he’s just too shy 2 say d babes name. …..smh….

    Posted by freshprinz | May 20, 2011, 10:36 am
  57. Not having kids would b mine. Dis post isn’t 4 any unborn child jo. Beautiful post

    Posted by OmoJesuDivaOlorire | May 20, 2011, 10:51 am
  58. huh? Shy? look at these instigators o..

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 20, 2011, 10:59 am
  59. OmoJesu (ironic name for you)… \___ <– you know what to do…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 20, 2011, 11:03 am
  60. I really don’t know what i would regret not having done if tomorrow never comes. Maybe the fact that i’ve never been in an aeroplane? *i kid* Oh yeah i’ve got one— I’d regret that my mother hasn’t enjoyed the fruits of her labour enough. The woman deserves to be overpampered.
    Nice post Tula.

    Posted by SlevinCalevra | May 20, 2011, 11:21 am
  61. Sorry…but where exactly did you ‘feel tears’, in your heart?? bahahaha (revenge comment)

    Posted by IYAMILELE | May 20, 2011, 11:37 am
  62. Frehprinz of this air abeg na blog b dis

    Posted by OmoJesuDivaOlorire | May 20, 2011, 11:48 am
  63. Dear tools, of all the things in your bucket list the thing you’d regret not doing isn’t even in the bucket list..the piece was well written I actually smiled considering how stoic I can be when reading stuff, if I were the unborn child and read this thing, I’d be motivated forever!!! and when the chips are down I’d read it over to stir me up again! 😀 #okbye

    Posted by @oyedirockfan | May 20, 2011, 11:57 am
  64. Beautiful post. Not marrying the man I love and having the most beautiful babies would be mine

    Posted by Ms_Anee | May 20, 2011, 12:14 pm
  65. Even if Ʊ said this beautiful piece is written for ur unborn child (which by the way i don’t believe),can i steal it & read to ma Future Wife on our wedding day as marriage vow..Oh I 4got,it all might end tomorrow. I’ll miss not dancing with ma bride,the supposed ❤
    Of my life @ our wedding (which by the way, i don't knw who she is & when i'll get married)& then a lot of unclean stuff on my bucket list.

    Posted by gchild01 | May 20, 2011, 12:31 pm
  66. Regrets…
    First lemme just say that ur opener(first two lines) was on point.. As for what I will regret..

    I will regret refusing regrets,
    Not been too open
    And failing to understand life in
    Its context…

    If I continue na to write poem o.. Lol.

    Nice post sire!

    Posted by @hueyblack | May 20, 2011, 12:39 pm
  67. Ahem @gshyd01. Ayam singoo so if d world doesn’t end 2mao…. Let’s look @ our bucket lists:-)

    Posted by OmoJesuDivaOlorire | May 20, 2011, 12:54 pm
  68. Unborn child? Sounds more like wife to me…

    Beautiful.

    Posted by 'Dania | May 20, 2011, 1:00 pm
  69. Unborn Child?? Tot its gonna be ur future wife tho…newyz, this is very sweet of U! sure ur unborn child is goin to be very happy!!!

    Posted by Adetoun | May 20, 2011, 1:01 pm
  70. Good one! 🙂 If at all my only regret will be the fact that I told people that it can’t happen. I would feel sorry for those who are hurt and would say I made them miss out. As for me if it happens and I’m left behind i will have no regrets cos it must mean i was never in the numbers. Tough luck tinz. lol

    Posted by @Qurr | May 20, 2011, 1:01 pm
  71. @slim, why has this purlzin not commented o…..

    Posted by freshprinz | May 20, 2011, 1:12 pm
  72. Wow… I dunt even know what to say… Simply amazing…

    Posted by Simmylala | May 20, 2011, 1:45 pm
  73. My first time commenting here… I think I would regret not having that special deep connection and love with that one special person. Not knowing what it feels like.

    Posted by ene | May 20, 2011, 3:24 pm
  74. hahahahaha a practical man (Y) i love it

    Posted by bbb | May 20, 2011, 4:41 pm
  75. Mind blowing orgasm with a guy, no man has ever been able to do that, i only orgasm when i masturbate, so yeah if the world ends, id regret not having met a guy that knew what the hell he was doing
    okay and thereafter errrr children and the whole works :p

    Posted by 36f` | May 20, 2011, 4:44 pm
  76. Actually from a medical perspective the more a woman masturbates the tougher the chances that she will have a penetration-induced orgasm. Don’t believe me but ask your doc friiend. #okbye

    Posted by @Qurr | May 20, 2011, 5:22 pm
  77. Wow @ orgasm n masturbation talk.
    I’ll regret nt knowin wu dt 1 person was. The 1 meant 2 make me happy.
    Btw if the world does end 2moro, I v a crazy crush on u tula. If it doesn’t, ignore it.

    Posted by some girl | May 20, 2011, 5:46 pm
  78. @someg awwwww! Unrequited love sure does suck balls(pun intended) nyways,pay me well enough and I can make it happen. I’m T’s HR as is.

    Posted by chinnydiva | May 20, 2011, 5:57 pm
  79. looool.

    Posted by mzs_pam | May 20, 2011, 6:02 pm
  80. Just came to comment…see y’all in Heaven, hopefully! Okbye…

    Posted by kelvin | May 20, 2011, 7:07 pm
  81. Am sowri ds is coming late….*etisalat well done*…

    Lovely post..perfect timing…..well done!

    Posted by ibetapassmyneighbour | May 20, 2011, 8:31 pm
  82. Looool.@iyamilele..no oh …I felt tears in my womb..facepalm*.
    @toolsman.yes..4 kids..no brangelina

    Posted by kechilauren | May 20, 2011, 9:10 pm
  83. Sigh. Good sigh. That will be all for now.

    Posted by ms_tomiwa | May 20, 2011, 9:20 pm
  84. This is truely beautifully written, I wonder if its possible to love someone the way u describe it…
    Regrets.. Right now, none! Least I won’t have to watch my “loved ones” betray me anymore.

    Posted by BARbaraa | May 20, 2011, 10:05 pm
  85. This is mindblowing.
    My regret is…
    *sigh* I’m not such a prolific writer
    Its even hard getting it down
    And explaining what’s in my heart
    But I should try.
    My deepest regret would be holding back.

    Posted by loba | May 20, 2011, 11:36 pm
  86. *standing ovation*
    Nice poem!!!
    I’m really going to be pissed i never got to experience my own wedding. I’ve always wondered what my future hubby wld look like and how badass my wedding will be. It’ll suck to never find out 😦

    Posted by kitkat | May 21, 2011, 3:23 am
  87. Hmmmm…been reading ur blog for a while now…Neva posted a comment …this is going to be my first time….I would miss not seeing my son’s face…after carrying the young man for 9months…hell no…the world can’t end now..

    Posted by omolola | May 21, 2011, 9:35 am
  88. beautiful, truly beautiful. your child will be blessed to have you, and you blessed to have him or her 🙂
    i think that i’d feel like you for those future beautiful souls that will someday be part of our lives
    may many blessings go your way

    Posted by renloveskyoko1 | May 22, 2011, 3:27 am
  89. LMAO! Ricky mi, you must always be foolish. Dead @ “coo breeze”

    Posted by Daks | May 23, 2011, 12:58 am
  90. This post is very sensitive, u can confirm from the oestrogen-filled comments that are following it.

    It’s something to give a deep thought to tho (I havent given it a thought yet), altho no matter how ,uch one tries, u can never accomplish all that u want to do with ur life on earth before its over…

    #DelayedComment

    Posted by Radeyo | May 23, 2011, 10:07 am
  91. Excellent post thanks for sharing. I enjoy reading and also writing poetry myself. Feel free to check it out. You have a great layout here!

    Posted by Digital Poet | May 25, 2011, 3:53 am
  92. Thanks a lot. Will do…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 9:07 am
  93. This thing is too deep for an unborn child jare…..ahn ahn DAMN. More like to my future wife .when I read again, this part.”There are times I cannot understand you
    A Thousand meanings accompany your every chuckle, giggle and rant
    but each one means more than a thousand smiles to me” really got me, I imagined myself cuddling my definitely cute unborn child(daughter) with my husband(boyfriend at the moment) leaning over..so so sweet

    Posted by kankey | June 18, 2011, 1:23 am
  94. “Because everything I say to you would include the words “I” and “Love you”
    Just another proof we are one and the same…..” and this is supposed to be for your unborn child? seriously ?????…..beautifully written, as always

    Posted by fearless | June 29, 2011, 9:48 am
  95. “Because everything I say to you would include the words “I” and “Love you”
    Just another proof we are one and the same…..”
    and this is supposed to be for your unborn child? seriously ?????…..
    beautifully written, as always

    Posted by fearless | June 29, 2011, 12:47 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: If tomorrow never (really) comes (via Thetoolsman’s Blog) « beforesheimplodes - May 20, 2011

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,754 other followers

Follow Me:

