//
you're reading...
Wednesday Dialogue

Ode to young love

Hey guys. Monday was the day of monsters and boy did you guys bring it. Today I’d like to slow things down a little and hopefully appeal to your softer side (especially the guys). Summer’s almost here and it’s that time of the year when loads of people return home from “overs”. As a result, you tend to bump into a lot of people you’ve not seen in ages. So I thought to do an ode (not ódè) to young love. I called on our in house baby blogger @Uberbetty to tell this story:


I walked with my head bowed. Mumbling under my breath. I do this. Especially when I’m stressed. I was walking out of the giant plaza where my little Interior Design office was located.

You know that thing when you bump into someone and then you both go left; then right together; then left again? When you exchange awkward smiles and one person has to stand still till the other passes?

Yeah that. Well, it happened to me. But it stopped at the awkward smile part; cause as I looked up to smile the awkward smile; I froze. And so did he.

It was him. As in, HIM!

Oh you don’t know who ‘him’ is? Remember that best friend you had in SS3? Yes, that one you’re no longer in touch with! Well, this was her older brother. Why did we freeze? Well, because of ‘that night’.

“Tunde, Teni is saying goodnight!” Ayo had told her brother as I stared anywhere but at him. Tunde; my everlasting crush on him had been my personal secret.

“Oh? Should I drop you off?” His deep voice had reached out to envelope me. I tried to stop the stupid smile that always showed up when he was near. “Um.. If you want.”

“Abeg, Tunde, please drop her. I have to wash plates before mummy comes back.”

In the car. With Tunde. There was no silence. Not because we were talking – no, his loud rock music was probably leaving headaches as he sped down the roads. I softly sang along so: a) he would notice I had a great voice; and b) he would notice I was also into his kind of music.

He shouted something over the music. I pointed to my ears. I had managed to keep a straight face so far. He reduced the volume.

“I’m traveling. Transferring.”

My heart had started to race double time. I said “Oh”. I tried to make it sound off-hand and carefree but it came out tiny and squeaky.

“I haven’t told Ayo yet. She thinks it’s later in the year.” He had drawn out a deep breath. “She says you’re going to Abuja next week.. So you probably won’t meet me when you get back..”

I had said nothing. A small tear had managed to escape. I faced the window. I wondered if he could hear my heart break.

The rest of the ride had been silent. Two houses from mine, he had parked. I frowned. He had turned to me.

” So.. umm.. This is goodbye.”

I hadn’t known what to do. “Bye.” I had squeaked again and stretched my hand for a handshake. He’d smiled a silly smile and drawn me closer to hug me.

I’d inhaled deep. Storing his scent in my head, in my heart. He was leaving me; clueless that he was leaving me.

Until he’d touched my face. Softly. Eyes open wide, I’d gazed up. Love-struck. Letting it all out. And I’d seen a reflection of my heart in his eyes. Or I’d hoped.

He kissed me. My first kiss. My heart ran and flew then burst into fireworks. He kissed me again. My second kiss. I counted till six. Then a whispered “Bye” was all I said afterward.

I didn’t hear from him again. If he sent his sister to me, she never delivered the messages.

And now, he’s back.

I don’t know if I still feel anything for him. It’s been a long time. He was my first love. Love? Even too fleeting to call ‘love’.

He’s back. “Hi”. He says.

How do I play this?

********************************************

There you go. Betty has asked her question but for me I want to hear your “young love” stories (yes, even if it’s with Ekaette or Akpan). No matter how silly or ridiculous it is, use the comment box and speak your mind. Cheers.

About thetoolsman

I mostly refer to myself as an unrepentant media addict .. Well, cause I'm mostly always hunting for information through one media channel or the other... Hit me up on twitter @thetoolsman

Discussion

123 thoughts on “Ode to young love

  1. make i form 1st to comment…Gala n lacasera plix

    Posted by Master Sushey | May 25, 2011, 9:08 am
  2. *sigh* i will try and come back

    Posted by beforesheimplodes | May 25, 2011, 9:09 am
  3. FIRST!

    Posted by Funke | May 25, 2011, 9:10 am
  4. Ooooooooooooooooooo! I wanted to be first naow.,*stamps foot*

    Posted by Funke | May 25, 2011, 9:11 am
  5. *sigh* the mysterious powers of the first luv! ^_^

    Posted by B | May 25, 2011, 9:15 am
  6. What’s sigh-ing you now..

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 9:18 am
  7. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww…..*am I crying?*……

    Well for betty….I beliv u kno wots right for u….

    Oh well…my young love story…hmmmmmm……

    I don’t even wanna go there…….

    *sips J.C LeROUX*

    Posted by ibetapassmyneighbour | May 25, 2011, 9:26 am
  8. my first love… he was my neighbour. i think i was ten. we were playing a game at home and my cousin made us kiss.*nostalgia*…. its nine years now and we’ve dated other people but whenever we see, he still says he loves me…*me i dunno oo*.. #okbye
    Great post btw

    Posted by Didi | May 25, 2011, 9:29 am
  9. Oh my days…. I have been here before!*wipes tear* Its the most awkward situation in life.

    Posted by Simmylala | May 25, 2011, 9:32 am
  10. elm… “puppy love” dat tin eventually fade away jare! out of sight out of mind… well i still tink of wunmi(my 1st) once a while! even if i see her now ehn, we prolly wld jst shag n dats all men! PERIOD! hehehee

    Posted by thumbwrita | May 25, 2011, 9:38 am
  11. Sherifat *sigh* #OkBye

    Posted by Mak_Tavish | May 25, 2011, 9:44 am
  12. Errrm…am I weird? Every time I see my first love the only thing that goes on in my head is ‘what did I see in him’.

    Posted by Spiffy | May 25, 2011, 9:46 am
  13. mine was with my sexy Hausa teacher when I was in Js 2..orobo woman…and that accent…and she wasn’t married…and…

    Posted by awizi | May 25, 2011, 9:51 am
  14. Lol,nice post, I remember my first crush(tayo), he lived opposite my house, we attended d same lesson, but I neva told him I had a crush on him, I was to shy to tell him. 🙂

    Posted by oyinkan | May 25, 2011, 9:51 am
  15. Ah!!! First love…. Funny enuf, we still talk… And are still close… Well kinda… Den ‘GSM’was still a biiiggggg deal… My friends and I played a prank on him… Had to confess about three days later. We ended up talking every week, then every day, then 5 times a day… Infact, we dated for abt 2 yrs, saw him 2 times only, lol… That was back in ’04… Till date, we’ve met only 4 times… Crazy, isn’t it???

    Posted by nengie | May 25, 2011, 9:51 am
  16. erm.. good luck with that…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 9:57 am
  17. erm.. er… erm.. Never mind…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 9:57 am
  18. And if you bump into him now?

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 9:57 am
  19. dont think you are…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 9:58 am
  20. First crush… I can’t remember joor.

    Posted by Glory | May 25, 2011, 9:59 am
  21. asin reali? her head is kinda huge! ok! *holdinlips

    Posted by thumbwrita | May 25, 2011, 9:59 am
  22. Oh shelt, how cud I forget my first crush??? Primary school, he was an academic rival… All d girls liked him. He was uber smart… Of course, I dint tell him…

    Fast forward 6/7 yrs later, saw him across d road at silverbird… Was with my friends, one of whom happened to be his namesake… We were tryin to get her attention and one of us screamed her name, and I was like shhhhhhh! They gave me the weird look and we crossed…

    Alas I was right beside him and he said: hey! Nengi ryt?? Guess my reply???

    To my eternal shame, I opened my mouth and said: hey, yea… We were tryin to get my friend’s attention and I told the others not to scream your name cuz u guys are namesakes and then you would think I was trying to get ur attention…

    Never in my life have I wished so hard for the ground to open up and swallow me….

    Posted by nengie | May 25, 2011, 10:02 am
  23. LOL.. Im sorry but this is funny…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 10:07 am
  24. hmm.. yeah right…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 10:10 am
  25. Now it is but back then…..
    Infact, I never ever want to see him again, just in case he remembers… The look he gave me… Sigh

    Posted by nengie | May 25, 2011, 10:14 am
  26. ok!

    Posted by thumbwrita | May 25, 2011, 10:26 am
  27. My first serious crush…met him right after SS3 at a church program….then in my first year in Uni… We ‘nearly’ had sthg in second year but…nwayz I’ve met him a gazillion times since…we’re pretty good friends now.

    Posted by jAyajade | May 25, 2011, 10:27 am
  28. My first crush was henry, the cute sundaay school teacher.hmmm abeg.nothin happened..he just taught me the ways of the Lord..I’m sure hez married somewhere nw.

    Posted by kechilauren | May 25, 2011, 10:29 am
  29. Bet Wale you have been pickin on me of recent…what have i done now 😦

    Posted by beforesheimplodes | May 25, 2011, 10:30 am
  30. Well, my first was actually named Tunde.. I was besotted with Tundes for a while..

    So, this is actually sorta kinda an ode to him.. 😀

    Typical bad guy; Regular good girl– How come we had so much to talk about? Every saturday; 11pm to Sunday; 4am. Then I’d sleep off in church.

    I should stop here..

    Posted by UberBetty | May 25, 2011, 10:30 am
  31. HORITE! *side eye*

    Posted by beforesheimplodes | May 25, 2011, 10:30 am
  32. He “taught” you the ways of the Lord.. ahem .. horite o…

    Posted by Thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 10:35 am
  33. ahn ahn now.. go on… was just grabbing my pop corn…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 10:36 am
  34. My first crush was this mr biggs dude I saw everymorning when I go to buy snacks for school.I later realizd he was fugly. *rolling my eyes* talk about me having taste.lmfao

    Posted by Titi | May 25, 2011, 10:37 am
  35. Lmaooo Nengi sorry ehn

    Posted by Spiffy | May 25, 2011, 10:37 am
  36. 😀 :D.. nothin’ but love “homie” mi …

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 10:38 am
  37. Coughs* the tundes of the world..betty brilliant story

    Posted by kechilauren | May 25, 2011, 10:42 am
  38. My first crush!!!
    I had this crush on him from like primary 3 to SS1 X_X
    I reaaally reeeally liked him
    Probably cos he was sooo cuuute
    Seeing him this summer
    If I were unhappily committed or single, I’d definitely set P 😀

    Posted by Yasminn | May 25, 2011, 10:44 am
  39. Err…are we talking about first love or first crush? Because if it’s first crush, then it was one of my family friends. I adored him, and he knew. Useless boy…mscheeew. I used to follow him everywhere! Then he’d introduce me to his friends as his wife just to watch me blush. We’re still pretty tight.

    If it’s first love, then I still love him. But we can’t ever be together again. Maybe in heaven sha. But not here.

    Posted by cecenostockings | May 25, 2011, 10:45 am
  40. Oh! Almost forgot. Lovely write up betty 🙂

    Posted by cecenostockings | May 25, 2011, 10:53 am
  41. did you say Primary 3 tho.. ahn ahn.. na jazz?

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 10:55 am
  42. Hmm! Bad experience mehn. I met my 1st luv( Busayo) @ a job interview, she was a member of d panel dat interviewed me. Did sum silly stuffs wit d girl way bck. I cldn’t concentrate during d interview.

    Posted by MoonChild | May 25, 2011, 10:55 am
  43. You know how people say first loves are forever? Maybe for them, not for me.
    My first love..a year older than me…but one of the types who grew up too fast.
    Dude had no respect, but childishly, stupidly I loved.
    Ah well, that mess has been cleaned up, and trashed, but never…
    Rather, he has become a guideline for WHAT NOT TO LOOK FOR IN A GUY.
    I wish I had sweeter memories, but I don’t.

    Posted by Yasminn | May 25, 2011, 11:01 am
  44. Met him when i was in SS3 went to their school for an event and i was debating or sumtin like dat….
    I cudnt stop looking @ him from the moment we met…thankfully we had a mutual friend who proceeded 2 hookin up 😉 . we ended up datin den he broke my heart & i dumped his ass….
    Saw him 5yrs l8r in Jd n his gaze still made my heart stop…..*sigh*……1st love….

    Posted by Funke | May 25, 2011, 11:04 am
  45. I’ve gotten over the Tundes of the world.. Met some that marred the Tunde-thing… *sigh* Tula, I’ve drawn the curtains, go home!

    Posted by UberBetty | May 25, 2011, 11:09 am
  46. Thank you, Cece!

    Posted by UberBetty | May 25, 2011, 11:11 am
  47. Nice post…
    My 1st crush or love? I try to convince myself now he wasn’t my 1ove..
    Days of landline..redialled my num afta a frnd used his landline to call me..out of curiousity and him forming mr anonymous, we became good frnds ova d fone…it was obvious we both liked eachoda but I was too shy to even hook up wv him..we finally hooked up after 2 years, my 1st kiss, 10 seconds felt lyk 4eva cos I sailed to heaven and back…and afta dat perfect moment came my doubts, his badboyism and many yrs down d line he’s still single and oh well im still wv my doubts for ALL men. Sigh.

    Posted by reena | May 25, 2011, 11:11 am
  48. Ah. Ist crush/love. Well to me then it was one and the same. Funny story. His name was also tunde or as we called him then ‘baba’. And the more he picked on me the more I fell in love. Chai. I think I spent like 5 or so yrs of my life fantasizing our happily ever after. (True story). Still won’t mind tho. Hehe

    Posted by thatssodamie | May 25, 2011, 11:22 am
  49. Ah, my first crush was my neighbour, my mentor, my art ‘teacher’, my family friend, my ‘best’ friend, everything. I crushed on him so hard that my breath would seize every time I heard his voice. We used to meet at the gate connecting our house and talk through the cracks and I’ll go feeling like I was on cloud 9…
    Until popsi ‘saw’ what he was doing to me. Bam! We were never allowed to see each other again. *sigh*
    Oh well. He’s just a flight away now, but I cant believe I ever even liked him. So brash! Kai!
    Lovely story, Betty. See, you’re bringing out the story teller in all of us now…

    Posted by Slim | May 25, 2011, 11:30 am
  50. Noooo…. 😦 😦

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 11:41 am
  51. Just in case you’re wondering, this was when Biggs was Biggs …

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 11:42 am
  52. Art teacher? .. you too.. I think I need to invite some parents to this thread…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 11:44 am
  53. I guess I am.. 😉 Come one! Come all! Come share your own story..

    Posted by UberBetty | May 25, 2011, 11:44 am
  54. My first crush was way back in primary school,we are still in touch but we haven’t seen each other in 18yrs even though we are presently in the same city. And thoughts of him still makes me smile…

    Posted by mabijo | May 25, 2011, 11:52 am
  55. I can’t remember my first crush o, my first love toasted me for 10 yrs, we dated eventually, he cheated, I dumped him 🙂
    I like todays post sha, it was cute

    Posted by nonametoday | May 25, 2011, 11:54 am
  56. Thank you! Thank you! Where are those people who pronounced me ‘sad’..? She said this was ‘cute’.. Woohoo!

    Posted by UberBetty | May 25, 2011, 12:08 pm
  57. *ahemmm** i’ll come bck to ds..

    Posted by mzs_pam | May 25, 2011, 12:09 pm
  58. I have always had many crushes at the same time… each compensating for the other in ways unimaginable… well i have met some in more recent times and Gawd! twas and will always be some of d best reunions i have ever had…

    P.S. waiting to meet more

    Posted by 'il Cicero' | May 25, 2011, 12:11 pm
  59. My first crush was in primary 4. I ‘loved’ him so much i decided the best way to show him this was to totally ignore him. He must have loved me too cos he reciprocated the ignoring.

    Fast forward to Secondary school where i saw him across the road and ran to him to ‘apologize’. He must have tot it was an African movie cos he ran away.

    I guess it was really true love.

    Posted by MsJulz | May 25, 2011, 12:20 pm
  60. What always gets to me is the way uberbetty chooses her words, ‘I’d seen a reflection of my heart in his eyes’. Another wonderful piece :). Anyways, as regards the issue *shrugs* we deal with the awkwardness as it comes. If you still feel the butterflies, then you know there’s something there worth discovering/rediscovering. Bye

    Posted by i_rep_mars | May 25, 2011, 12:27 pm
  61. my first love was Tula…we met way back in primary school. He used to come to my house to help me with my homework and then we would draw kisses for each other(we were too young to kiss)
    eventually tho, we did. it was boring sha…
    the flame died way back but if I see him now, it may be awkward cos he started hitting on my cuz…#okbye

    Posted by chinnydiva | May 25, 2011, 12:31 pm
  62. Funny i share the same name with the main character. Yes my name is ‘Teni’ and no I’m not a chick.

    First love was in JSS3 Ibilola. funny thing was she left the country just when we finally told each other how we felt. Haven’t seen her since then..though she wrote me a couple of letters, i never replied. Been trying to find her by all means; Face book, twitter, Google etc. she was cool like that. *drinks sprite* Nice one tools & Betty…. you got me feeling nostalgic

    Posted by griffinthinks | May 25, 2011, 12:53 pm
  63. Tokunboh: family friend. Freakishly tall, beautiful smile. Young asshole though. Started playin women 4rm age 9. Mscheew. In yankee now

    Posted by some girl | May 25, 2011, 1:06 pm
  64. *calabash falls and breaks*… so Tula is a ‘code breaker’, huh???

    see CITY PEOPLE HEADLINE: Trendy Lagos Big Boy, Tula leave childhood crush and runs away with Cousin!

    Posted by 'il Cicero' | May 25, 2011, 1:10 pm
  65. Oh well…
    1st love… lemme start by SMH for myself!
    1st love was 1 of my cousin’s friends(abt sum 7 yrs ago).
    i was so smitten that every single thing he said was funny (btw, i still LOVE his voice)but we’r miles apart sha…
    so bck 2 d story, there was 1 time ehn that i jst couldn’t take it anymore n due to how dense i was way bck then, i sent him a 2 page text telling him how my friend (insert my name here) loved him bla bla bla n how she’s upset he doesn’t notice her n what a lovely couple they would make. and ended the text with from ANONYMOUS.
    my plan was perfect considering the fact that i noticed that by hiding ur caller ID, ur number won’t show so stupid me sent the message to him.
    well u can figure the rest, i honestly don’t know wot I’ll do if i ever see him again …

    Posted by totally blonde ! | May 25, 2011, 1:23 pm
  66. buahahahahahaha! very catchy headline tho..

    Posted by chinnydiva | May 25, 2011, 1:39 pm
  67. First crush,i think his name was Dami.. We talked almost everyday on the phone but we never saw.. Our landline bill was deep!I actually liked him a lot. Anyways, we eventually saw and he was fat… End of story -____-

    Posted by Temitope | May 25, 2011, 2:00 pm
  68. It’s still sad, madam. Don’t console yasef.

    Posted by 'Jibòla | May 25, 2011, 2:03 pm
  69. I feel like a heel everytime I think of my first love. We crushed on each other, she left to school. I moved on, she came back. I broke her heart 10 ways to Scotland. And again and again over the years cuz she didn’t give up on.

    *sigh*

    Worst of all. She still loves me.

    Posted by 'Jibòla | May 25, 2011, 2:19 pm
  70. Margaret Davies,d cute girl I dissed in school and yet had the biggest crush on…

    Until someday I found her over at my house, her mum was supplying flowers for my dad and a very good excuse to come to my house….
    First kiss was at the extreme corner of the garden they were trying to finish at that time…I still remember how dreamy it felt….lol

    Well over that now tho…she hasn’t been heard from since sec.schl days

    Posted by sirkellz | May 25, 2011, 2:19 pm
  71. <_< .. Chinny wharris dis how dare you come here to lie like this.. Pls tell them the truth, you were my classmate and neighbour. You noticed my creative talents early on and in exchange for your cousins hookup, I drew kisses for you to deliver to Hamid our mallams son.. (-__-)

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 2:23 pm
  72. My first luv (Dom),I think I was nine, we were family firends,our mothers would always joke sayin we would get married. They even used to call us husband and wife.It was quite serious if I recall. He was my first kiss.Well he later moved to London. We are still good friends and I see him every 2 years and he always looks better than the last time I saw him and I still love the way he talks esp in Hausa,that’s just music to my ears. Waiting on summer so I can set p. 🙂

    Posted by Mz.T | May 25, 2011, 2:39 pm
  73. Looooollll! @ totally blonde… Ur story’s worse! Hahahaha

    Posted by nengie | May 25, 2011, 2:39 pm
  74. I had one of those *sigh*! Too late for me now though! But I say “JUMP @ IT IF HE IS FREE AND YOU ARE TOO”!!!

    Posted by mamalaw | May 25, 2011, 2:39 pm
  75. hahahahaha! I knew you were going to deny us, at least I saved one of your kisses…the one where you said…oh never mind! its a good thing I got over you in time…

    Posted by chinnydiva | May 25, 2011, 2:45 pm
  76. erm.. I put her in rehab.. she’ll get better.. baby steps .. (I still need to beg Mr. Afro to keep her away from that his gong for a while tho.. maybe he should give her a flute instead)

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 2:49 pm
  77. huh? very true love…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 2:52 pm
  78. My first crush was my left hand…*sigh* Good times.

    Posted by terdoh | May 25, 2011, 3:21 pm
  79. My first crush..I’ll never forget. He sent tony montana perfume and panties to me in my secondary school and wrote one letter he signed out with ‘BUY’ instead of ‘BYE’…I was so humiliated,I stopped crushing after that experience.

    Posted by no1chick | May 25, 2011, 3:23 pm
  80. Did I mention he also sent me a plastic rose? Say no to Crushes…#thatisall

    Posted by no1chick | May 25, 2011, 3:33 pm
  81. Hew,people are young and I am old..they were having first loves in Mr.biggs?
    I’m too aged to comment.
    I don Tay.

    Posted by loisssss | May 25, 2011, 3:34 pm
  82. ahhhhh…..first love.. I was completely gaga ….acting like a ninny (which I’m not) whenever he was in my vicinity… I’d like to think he didn’t know i was nuts over him but alas…….
    I see him now and then and laugh at younger me

    Posted by dee | May 25, 2011, 3:52 pm
  83. First crush was in primary school,muyiwa,. After school, we’ll stay back in class and share his ribena (we called it wine). My best friend in primary school had a crush on him 2 and because of dat, we renamed ourselves by the archie comic, he was archie, my friend was veronica and I was betty. We haven’t really spoken since primary school tho.

    Posted by dee | May 25, 2011, 3:53 pm
  84. Oh lord!!! @number one chick!!! ROTFL!!at least u didn’t get Mr Biggs fried rice and plastic fanta!!

    Posted by jadesola | May 25, 2011, 3:55 pm
  85. Gala and lacasera coming your way…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 4:11 pm
  86. Wow. B4 I read part 2 of this blog (the comments) lemme just say WOW. I swaer I was in that car mehn! Ahn ahn the writing is teeeeeewwwwww maaaad!

    Posted by bimbo | May 25, 2011, 4:13 pm
  87. Reading this has given me better understanding of why you act like you were deprived of certain ‘growing up’ experiences…..

    :-p

    Posted by lagoshunter | May 25, 2011, 4:16 pm
  88. wow.. I feel for you..

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 4:20 pm
  89. I used to live in dolphin estate, I live in block 43, my 1st crush lived in block 44… I was in jss1 he just got admitted into uni in one igbo state like dat, his name was Omo… I used to lie dat I was goin to my frnds house in his block & I’ll b at his place, we’ll gist & all… We spent most tyms @ d backyard gisting… I wld steal my mums 3310 to call him & he wld call me bck to, he was 19 or 20 then & I was 11… Then he told me he was going to skol, but he wld kip in touch, we kissed dat day…. I neva heard frm him again, his family moved & we later moved!!!

    Fast forward to 2011, january, I go to a phone shop in Medinat estate gbagada, where I had earlier dropped my fone for repair in the morning to pick up my fone, I’m talking wit the fone guy and BAM!!! He walks into the shop… I kip staring @ him and 5mins later, I’m like Omo, re u Omo? He replies, yes… And I stupidly say “its me, the girl u broke her heart in dolphin estate… -_- and then he does the whole I remember u, I’m sorry, dis is wat happened, its not like I meant it that way, good to see u, let’s have a drink bla bla bla act… But as he kept talkin, I kept wondering wat I saw in him… He collected my number, called twice and noticed I was giving him the cold treatment… Not heard frm him since then…

    *whew* *sips 7up*

    Posted by MsDuro | May 25, 2011, 4:27 pm
  90. lol…….

    Posted by Odun | May 25, 2011, 4:38 pm
  91. My first crush was my elder brother’s friend and dayum he was finnnnnneee, think usher and fabolous mixed together. I like to think he had a thing for me and if an opportunity comes up? Am definitely taking it. Lol.
    My first love? Well am still loving him 🙂

    Posted by ene | May 25, 2011, 4:40 pm
  92. @lagoshunter you won’t understand. The guy went on to say ‘Let’s make our love shine in our parents eyes so that they will consent to our being together’..Of course I’m writing this in proper english cos I’ve been humiliated enough with all his gbagauns.my point is its possible to crush on an illiterate or serial gbagauner and you won’t know….@jadesola No thanks,the panties was enough humiliation.

    Posted by no1chick | May 25, 2011, 4:40 pm
  93. Chimo… 20 and 11… and you said he broke your heart ke? Better start thanking God, your mothers prayers were being answered and you didnt know…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 4:42 pm
  94. Usher and Fabolous though?

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 25, 2011, 4:45 pm
  95. shoo, fugly people are regular people too…but i no fugly sha…

    Posted by DrUncle | May 25, 2011, 5:17 pm
  96. mehn, the first time i realized that i “posted” a babe was the time i was travelling for my A-levels, and there was this fulani chick i seriously liked…used to compose poems for her…stupid lare once told her that her heart would be violin to my fiddle and we would play a beautiful tune together, and she well, ignored me…got to the airport and just as i was about to board, she told me that she had been in love with me since SS2 but she had to “MAKE” me work for it(2004)…fast forward to now,i wonder why she misspelt my name on her wedding invite…at least i got it sha…

    Posted by DrUncle | May 25, 2011, 5:25 pm
  97. I love Betty. That girl is a genius.

    Err to the point: I have stories of mystery, love, innocence, firsts, surrenders, fantasies and reunions. All too long to fit in here though…

    *twirls moustach*

    Posted by @Qurr | May 25, 2011, 5:36 pm
  98. my own first love is now very ugly and fat…. halleluyah! i dunno how and why the whole school thot he was the ‘finest of them all’

    now, whenever i see him, i adjust my collar, bounce and roll my sc.. hahaha! never again shall i fall for such a scam!

    Posted by gwampa! | May 25, 2011, 5:38 pm
  99. *sigh* My first crush/love will be hard because as far as I’m concerned, I crushed on at least 2 boys at a time. Well my first fake crush was some dude called mo or so as his sister was in my secondary school. We never spoke. I remember the song by eve that goes ‘love is blind and it can take over your life…’ Everytime I went to the gate to go home… *dead* now my real crush came when I was 16. I had just finished secondary school. My cousins had a party at theirs and I saw this guy… And I stood there just looking and looking and salivating more or less. I had never had a bf so it was allowed to look stupid just by looking at ‘man’. He walked over to me and asked if I wanted to dance and we did dance.. I couldn’t even see any other person at the party, his eyes, his lips etc. Geees.. Anyhoooos… he said he wanted to see me again and asked if I was gonna be at some party in 11.45 and I said ‘Yes’ I was so happy.. Landline calls, yahoo messenger.. Mode of communication until oh the parrty! My first kiss!!! Till date I still want to kiss him coz that’s like my bestest kiss ever. He taught me how to kiss.. It wasn’t even ‘yucky’ for the first time… He would say ‘imagine my tongue is a lolly’ oh dear… We went out for a bit and distance and all spoilt it but we still talk some times.. Ok like hardly tho but everytime we see, its like everything just stops… Sigh… *this is like ma longest comment ever*

    Posted by H.A.W | May 25, 2011, 5:41 pm
  100. Lovely write up Pemi. I felt like I was the girl beside Tunde. 😀 .. Okay now to my first “love” or “loves” actually.. My neighbour John.. & Emeka (Both went to my primary school – Both cuties!) Then in my second primary school.. Lanre Palmer! He liked me too so I guess he’s my real first “love” though he came after the two.. Then Temo.. (These people were in my head n heart at the same time.. Somewhat) Didn’t kiss any of them tho. We always held hands and did mushy stuff.. Except Emeka. I saw Lanre Palmer last year and I kinda felt all crushed up but he’s not my type any more so there. 🙂

    Posted by missfadesomi | May 25, 2011, 5:41 pm
  101. my first crush, my first love, my first kiss, my first boyfriend, my first male best friend…. *deep sigh*
    i still think hes my great love. he was 3yrs my senior in sec skol and i used to have a crush on him then, but he was big boy so i had no chance… fast forward 3yrs later, i just finished secondary skol, my mind saddled with m and b love stories and im wondering when im gonna get kissed. i see him walkin on my street appaz, he jus moved into my area.*dancing* i musta been doin smtin right. i saw him everyday for 6mnths, until i got into university and had to only see him wkends and then of course like all young love stories, he had to travel abroad. but he came bak and hes stil one of my best friends till date…

    this post is so nostalgic and beautiful @betty and @toolsman

    Posted by @deevagal | May 25, 2011, 5:52 pm
  102. Hahahahahaha @toolsman, my mum pray, I’m not sure she did, if she knew abt it she won’t pray, she wld beat d spirit out of me… I guess her general prayer sha and dat still kips me goin till 2day… So he was 20 and I was 11 and den we meet again in 2011… Hmmmmm _—-_

    Posted by MsDuro | May 25, 2011, 5:54 pm
  103. Haha. Love? See, we’re built for love but love won’t keep it real. It starts something it’s too scared to finish (Too much pride). #NoLoveStoriesHere.

    Posted by book-ey | May 25, 2011, 6:10 pm
  104. No1chick,Temitope,totallyblonde,MsJulz…LMAOOO!!
    DrUncle,sorry o.

    Posted by izzie | May 25, 2011, 6:38 pm
  105. *puts down his flute of shilled Zobo Imperial n grabs d mic*
    Great piece Betty…I’m still stupified dat u don’t hav a personal blog…
    Now onto d first crush paroles…omo I can’t remember my FIRST crush o cos I was a “serial crusher”…I do remember one of d many childhood ones…Morenike…her mum was African American…n she lived jus down d road…I was too shy to tell her anything…but we were friends…besides almost every other boy on d street had a crush on her as well…she’s in Yankee now n well at least we’re friends on FB…end of story…*drops d mic n picks up his shilled Zobo*

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | May 25, 2011, 6:58 pm
  106. There’s a fake bimbo on dis blog o. Aunty/uncle pls gaan find anoda name. My first crush was niyi. I was 9, he was 12. I was in pry 6, he was in js2. He was toasting my sister and ddnt knw I existed. I loved him. Fast forward 3 yrs. I just finished js3, had boobs now, not soo gawky looking, he comes to mine to see my sis, she’s not home, I am. We spend 5hrs talking. I saw him every single day that summer. We talked for hours.day b4 he was goin bak to skul, he kissed me. Magic! He got scared. I was too young, he was supposed to be my protector. We went back to just frnds. I still loved him. He still loved me. Kept up d frnship for 6yrs. 3yrs ago, he made d mistake of telln his gf about me(plus he called her my name). She made him choose. He chose her.loved him enough to understand and was willing to be the ‘friend on the side’. He messed up and started treating me like a ‘side chic’. We had a huge fight. We dnt talk nomore. I miss him ridicuolusly. He has a part of me

    Posted by bimbo | May 25, 2011, 8:21 pm
  107. Beautiful write up
    First crush was in primary schl, I was in primary 4, Seyi was in my class, we had a mad ass chemistry, even at the age, everyone knew us as the ‘it’ couple, some still ask after him lol. Anyhoo, we talked on the phone every day, his mum even came to see me once and brought cake along, haha! Long story short, my mum thought all along that ‘seyi’ was a girl, when she found out, she banned me from talking to him. I told him about it and he said he kinda knew it was coming..and that was the end of it..kinda sad huh?

    Posted by miss feisty | May 26, 2011, 12:32 am
  108. LOVE the writing..beautiful .. thumbs up uberbetty

    first proper crush was probably my brother’s best friend.. hez 3 years older than i am… i did any and everything i possibly could to always somehow have to follow my brother to his house .. we talked alot.. he was and is a total cutie and almost literally EVERY girl that meets him loves him.. he used to call me his “future” and i’ld act like i wasnt interested.. he was and still is my friend .. he has a gf now , i have a bf now .. still havnt kissed him till today ..

    got my first kiss from my first bf when i was 16 (all of u kissing at 6 and 9 are bad sheedren :p )… wish i cld take it back … apart from appearance, there really wasnt anything i cld say i was attracted to about him *sigh*

    my first love is my current (2nd) boy friend 🙂

    Posted by palavachronicles | May 26, 2011, 12:41 am
  109. Awwwwwwww, my poor Habims. I remember Niyi.

    Lmaoooo @ no1chick. All I can do is apologise on the guys behalf.

    My first love was Sesan. His kisses were heavenly. My world revolved around him. Met him when I was 10 and loved him till I was 14.

    Now I get a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach when I see him. But I’ll always remember that period of my life with a smile on my face

    Posted by Sam-Sam | May 26, 2011, 1:02 am
  110. Awwwwwww!! cute stowie. My first cwush was my neighbor and i was only 8yrs old. Didnt think he liked me cos i used to wear these huge glasses and i was on low-cut 😦
    Fast forward 5 yrs later, i was in high schl and by then i was a total babe. We met through a friend and he ended up being my first boyfwend 🙂

    Posted by kitkat | May 26, 2011, 4:36 am
  111. i cant stop laughing….

    Posted by Odun | May 26, 2011, 7:27 am
  112. whew!!!i thot the comments would never end…ok so my first crush…hmmmm…lemme see….i was a witch jooor….i dint have any crush till uni…imagine!!!but then his name is E-punk(i remixed d name…decode if u can… :D)…he was a year ahead of me and we were hi-hi friends but i almost fainted each time i saw him…my very good friend (Gboyega)dat was in his class knew and encouraged me to always come to their class i’d sit beside Gboyega and we would gist and gist about nothing while i was spying on E-punk….anyways while i was gisting with Gboyega, E-punk was also crushing-up and was super shyer than me sef… hhaaaa….how can i forget??his friends finally pushed him to come chk up on me in my hostel and they even escorted him…dat nyt was a dream come true, we took a walk and well we dint talk much but i was just happy we were together and suddenly it happened…..i was so excited and i tripped….i tripped…i fell down and he was so skinny he cldn even catch me….thank God we were already close to my hostel….i just said thanks and bye……after that day we continued with our hi-hi friendship..(ps. he had a gf @ dis point o) anyways fastforward to 2009…we became closer friends…he had finished school…was a bigger boy but then i just kept wondering what attracted me to him….he’s ok o but just not my type jarey…..i guess my love life started a bit late so i dint have “taste” on time…….abeg e don do…..
    this is my longest comment ever….

    my second crush…..when i went for nysc in benin…he was extra super sweet…i was a frustrated corper then and he was a happy one…served in NPDC, had an apartment..he was balling tight…we were in d same cds group and as d only girl in a group of 18(uncreme) guys.. lol…he was d only one i cld talk to so we fast became friends and we went out after cd most times, then i later started visiting him…he called regularly…he was just rily sweet, he made me feel like a queen…ok i kissed him 2x and they were heavenly….anyways we both knew our love was “Benin-Love” cos i had a bf in LOS(who was @ dat time rily messing up) plus he is ibo(my mum would skin me alive) …service ended and we finally had to part ways…i cried cos i was gonna miss him but we parted on a good note and he travelled afterwards for his masters….i still miss him tho….i’v a new bf now sha and am very happy……

    ps: u guys brought out the story teller in me…if any1 tells me its a good story i’d start writing…lolz…

    Posted by ESSENCE | May 26, 2011, 8:44 am
  113. oh my God …my 1st love was tunde!!!one fine K.C boy like that. i used to see him at ALL the sec skool parties. didnt talk to him till we were in ss2 cos luckily for me, my besto in my new school was his cousin. omo! one day in ss3, i went to his house in dolphin with his cuz after extension and then he took me upstairs and he triiiied to kiss me, i was having palpitations everytime he held my waist so …the kiss didnt happen that day but he came to my house (so far away from his *sigh* puppylove) and we eventually did!i was floating on cloud 9 the rest of the year and then he travelled and i havent seen him since then 😦 we cool now tho…holla at each other from time to time on fb.

    Posted by kenyauk | May 26, 2011, 8:56 am
  114. Thinking back……..Tunde was a very good kisser! u know those breath-taking, hard but soft kisses where no kind of breeze can come between yall bodies kinda kisses? yea, that kind. i swear if i see him again, ill ask him to kiss me in a public place like at a carpark at a random wedding of people i know nothing of and then ill run like hell if its as good as i remember.(its just a thought *insert ”what if i kissed you track by drake” here*)

    Posted by kenyauk | May 26, 2011, 9:25 am
  115. C why i pray never to meet him any time soon

    Posted by totally blonde ! | May 26, 2011, 1:41 pm
  116. Come on b nice
    *covering face wiv feet*

    Posted by totally blonde ! | May 26, 2011, 2:15 pm
  117. a summary wld do …

    Posted by totally blonde ! | May 26, 2011, 2:25 pm
  118. wow… “imagine my tongue was a lolly” *starry eyes*

    Posted by totally blonde ! | May 26, 2011, 2:29 pm
  119. Hehehhehe I remember sesan too and I get that horrid feeling on ur behalf too

    Posted by bimbo | May 26, 2011, 8:29 pm
  120. Nicee

    Posted by msyewieo | May 26, 2011, 9:42 pm
  121. Well,my first love wasn’t the first guy I liked or dated!oh no nothing cliche like that!met him when I was in my 3rd year in uni n we dated for 2years!he broke up wiv me bla bla bla!buh he still remains the best man I know!n his breath on my skin makes me moisten all the time!

    Posted by divadrama | May 31, 2011, 10:24 am
  122. Awwww *nostalgic* clears throat…my first crush Demeji (huge grin ) the class prefect of primary 5 Akpan he was neat to a fault beautiful hand writing I avoided him in every way I could sad part he didn’t notice *now wailing* his cousin was in my secondary school and I asked of him until I left*sigh* My first love hmmm meet in my diploma year we became friends, he had issues with girlfriend and I was d shoulder he layed on his confidant*wipes tears* eventually he got over her we became closer and eeeem I fell in love good part is it was mutual anyway 2yrs of time wasting we moved on he has a girl friend now bla bla bla.Anyway we are best friends and I still love him.

    Posted by mo' | June 5, 2011, 12:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,755 other followers

Follow Me:

  • Serious #Agbadagate 4 hours ago
  • RT @serenawilliams: There are so many reasons to quit, but even more to keep playing. Even if you don’t go pro, sports can teach you so muc… 14 hours ago
  • RT @ava: "We lit two hundred candles for you." I can't. Shout-out to Mint Condition, 112, Shai, Troop, Boyz II Men, Jodeci and all the othe… 14 hours ago
  • RT @SAnonymousng: Rape culture: men's sexualised violence against women is made 'normal' by common ideas and beliefs. There's a continuum o… 17 hours ago
  • Inside’s cream. Outside’s mocha. 1 day ago
