//
you're reading...
Sunday Polls

The Fart Debate

Hey guys. Hope the weekend’s going good. So I haven’t done a poll in a bit and I had this question swirling round my head so I thought what the heck. Today’s poll might come off as a joke but I think it’s actually a serious question a lot of people fail to ask themselves when they get into relationships simply because they feel it’ll sort itself out. (ok, I’m kidding).

I might have represented a lot of actions/habits considered ‘not-so-important’ with farting but the fact remains, you can’t stay in a relationship with someone for a long period of time and not come across such habits. When the time eventually comes, how will you deal? Anyways, take the poll and then use the comment box to speak your mind. Cheers.

About thetoolsman

I mostly refer to myself as an unrepentant media addict .. Well, cause I'm mostly always hunting for information through one media channel or the other... Hit me up on twitter @thetoolsman

Discussion

34 thoughts on “The Fart Debate

  1. Two to Four weeks :p

    Posted by @Qurr | May 29, 2011, 3:46 pm
  2. State your reason(s)…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 29, 2011, 3:47 pm
  3. Omdayz this farting issue though…if after spending so long with a guy he DOESN’T fart? Ima b like dude…r u even healthy?!

    I would fart…yea I could be sneaky abt it…I wudnt just let it go…in the beginning I wud make sure we were in crowded places so I cud blame it on someone else…only if the smell is really nasty…

    If its just us I wud make a joke of it and warn him…and do it…or make it cute…or something!

    Human beings are meant to fart!!! Argh!

    Posted by beforesheimplodes | May 29, 2011, 3:52 pm
  4. 3months+into it….cos mehn…dunno…soooo funny!…

    Posted by Amah | May 29, 2011, 3:54 pm
  5. Oh well, I’m a terribly down-to-earth person. In my experience it doesn’t take days for a girl to figure that out. If she did and we got beyond dating, then further to a relationship (as the option I chose infers) then I don’t think I should have to hide behind a finger. Not to say i will disrespect her though (cos I dont even fart irreverently before my own brothers). I’m just saying, if I have to.. well… for me 2 to 4 weeks is kind of fine.

    Posted by @Qurr | May 29, 2011, 3:55 pm
  6. And I was almost first oh *sigh* off to read

    Posted by bbb | May 29, 2011, 3:55 pm
  7. Lol I just read my comment…I ddnt even know I was that passionate about the issue! Lol…I’m obviously one that gets too comfy according to most people’s standards… I am now shy x_x

    Posted by beforesheimplodes | May 29, 2011, 3:57 pm
  8. lol.. I read your comment and I was like hmm.. no need to be shy tho.. we all do it.. (I think)…

    Posted by thetoolsman | May 29, 2011, 4:04 pm
  9. My boyfriend farts all the time….and trust me the sound is so unsexy…his fart also smells like the real deal…..SHIT! Things like that actually makes me wonder..if I can cope with his farts after marriage…it isn’t wrong to fart..but too much can be harmful…

    Posted by Titi | May 29, 2011, 4:05 pm
  10. Why should you feel comfortable farting around anyone even if its your wife? Please always excuse yourself and conduct your farting business in the bathroom! Except those stubborn farts that give no warning,then you just apologise and maybe leave where you both are because of the smell!!!

    Posted by mabijo | May 29, 2011, 4:05 pm
  11. 3 months into it. Initial “formings” should be a thing of the past by then. Plus, well… Farting is a natural phenomenon x_x & when u’ve been in a relaysh with som1 4 quite a long time, it’s kinna inevitable to not fart in the presence of that person.

    Posted by BawseLadyTonie | May 29, 2011, 4:07 pm
  12. Mehn! It depends on how comfy you are with the person o! So, if it takes u just one day to be comfy with him/her, thenb why not? FART AWAY!

    Posted by Delphine | May 29, 2011, 4:08 pm
  13. One Word.

    Comfort.

    First impressions matter.

    Its always good to come correct and bring your A-game but once that is done, let the farting begin.

    So whenever u feel comfortable, that your partner knows you well enough….Let the Gas OUT…..Right in front of ’em.

    I mean, u should be able to laugh over it.

    N.B: if your partner finds your fart genuinely repulsive (like they wanna throw up and stuff); please desist.

    Final Answer: A month.

    Posted by @FoluShaw | May 29, 2011, 4:11 pm
  14. Haha!

    Posted by BawseLadyTonie | May 29, 2011, 4:13 pm
  15. Three months’ long enough to get comfortable around your SO if u guys are actually serious… I rem when my bf and I started dating. I would run back to mine anytime I felt d urge to go. Unfortuanately, one morning I rily had to go and once he realised that was y I was rushing back to mone, he wasted my time soooooooo bad, I had no choice… We reached a new level that day… No more shame for stuff like dt

    Posted by nengie | May 29, 2011, 4:19 pm
  16. Hahaha…how does one know when its time to start ‘farting’ around? Well,I think farting in front of your mate depends on your type of partner. My ex would go into a farting competition With me but my current partner..I don’t even want to think it. Farting does not indicate bondness in a relationship but if it does come down to it,when the person who’s more ‘reserved’ in the relationship farts, that should be the passkey for the other partner.but really, yall should work those butt muscles to be on a safe side.

    Posted by no1chick | May 29, 2011, 4:19 pm
  17. Lol! I can’t help commenting on this! It reminds me of the day I accidentally let one rip in front of the then boyfriend……and we were still ‘forming’ for each other then too…..we were playing ‘rough play’……he was chasing me around the house, I was screaming and giggling……he finally got me on the floor and was tickling me….I was laughing, begging him to stop….to no avail…..until we both heard the ‘pooooooo’ sound…….from me! Lol! Luckily for me though, it wasn’t the smelly type *phew* We laughed over it….and that was that.
    Back to the question though, I think maybe about a month or more into the relationship…..at least you should be comfy enough around each other by then, after all you two dated for a while first.

    Posted by Lamie | May 29, 2011, 5:54 pm
  18. 2-4 weeks is cool, or I’d say soon as I get comfy which for me isn’t difficult. It might even be less than 2 weeks…

    Posted by SlevinCalevra | May 29, 2011, 6:12 pm
  19. I personally don’t see the point of putting a time limit to it. Give or take, I reckon pretty much whenever you both feel comfortable enough aye.

    Posted by book-ey | May 29, 2011, 6:20 pm
  20. Ermm, does dis lyk include farting yle havin,U̶̲̥̅̊ know…it?xxx? *jus peepin*

    Posted by Somegal | May 29, 2011, 8:48 pm
  21. I belong to the school of thought dt see women are demi-godesses & their presence shoudnt be defiled by human combustion AKA fart, i don’t find the idea comfortable exchanging fart faces with my wife. sumppl Я of the opinion that if Ʊ’ve neva witnessed ur partner fart,Ʊ really don’t knw her yet,dts À lame theory,AXE ur mummy if she truly knws ur dad afta yrs of marriage, taking his shit & inhaling his fart. Its fart, its private, it can slip sumtimes but À concious one is above the belt.& I’m not strange,i fart wit ma dude openly, but dts cos he’s ma guy,if wifey wants dt she shud grow À pair (jst kidding).

    Posted by gchild01 | May 29, 2011, 11:28 pm
  22. I agree wit d peeps who say u can’t exactly put a time limit to it…same way u can’t put a time limit to how free u feel in a relationship…once u’r beyond d formin phase…which can be anytime depending on d ppl involved.
    it also depends on d kinda personality ur partner’s got…cos regardless of how free u are, if ur partner’s d type dat doesn’t like dat kinda ish den no try am o…unless it’s one of those farts dat has a mind of its own…
    Sori for d length of dis comment…

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | May 30, 2011, 9:15 am
  23. okay,I think its actually okay to fart if u feel comfortable with him or her….just got married and while I was still dating my husband he would fart anytime he wants to in front of me,I was always angry but I would smile about it…lol…but I eventually got used to it….for me…it took me a longggg time to be able to fart or even do the number2 in front of him….but now…I song care anymore….I would say it took being married for me to let go of myself….and it feels so good cause now he runs out of the room when I do mine….lol….now he knows how it feels….love ur blog Mr Tools….nice work…

    Posted by omolola | May 30, 2011, 9:20 am
  24. U shdnt feel comfy fartin around any1 bt in cases wen it does escape, u shld b comfy enuf 2 laugh abt it. Wat abt usin the toilet in front of ur spouse or wth him or her in the toilet

    Posted by some girl | May 30, 2011, 11:27 am
  25. I don’t really see y I shd feel comfortable farting in frnt of anyone! I prolly wud neva fart in d presence of a boyfriend and who knows, my husband too… I’m just wired (weird) like that.

    Posted by @deevagal | May 30, 2011, 12:08 pm
  26. Let me tell you what the problem is with this post/comments. NO ONE ON HERE HAS DATED THEIR FRIEND. TRUST ME! if you and your man/chic were friends before dating, you would have gone waaaay past the farting stage! we all fart, weewee, poopoo etc. Farting is so funny, it has killed quarrels in my relationship. My fiance is my friend! and thats what everyone should be after… my 2kobo

    Posted by kenyauk | May 30, 2011, 1:22 pm
  27. Ill go with 3months .I fart infront of my bf n he just shakes his head n laughs sayn “ure sometng else” not like he doesn’t fart too duh!!!. Some tngs just are..if he can kiss me in d mrng with morng breathe he mite as well love me n my fart hehehe.

    Posted by beeyuteeful | May 31, 2011, 10:04 am
  28. And I go with d guy who sd mst pple vnt dated deir frnds or somefng like dat

    Posted by beeyuteeful | May 31, 2011, 10:11 am
  29. Once in a while is ok but then a habit of loud smelly farts daily?? And no its not a sign u r comfy around each other. Soon people will say digging your nose deeply or scratching your balls 24/7 or any part of your body is a sign of being comfy. Once in a while is fine but biko not everytime…..excuse yourself.

    Posted by katie | June 1, 2011, 12:11 pm
  30. 3months before farting in front of ur boyfriend?how did u guys meet?by post or arranged dating?szcheeew!If u guys can straf why can’t you fart?i fart around my friends and vice versa and i’ve always farted around the guys i’ve dated and they’ve done same.My boyfriend shud be my friend and so,he can’t be exempted.

    Posted by georgeenah | June 6, 2011, 1:35 am
  31. I thnk 3 months is d perfect time 2 start farting comfortably. Gives both parties enough tym 2 get comfy wit each oda. As georgeenah said, once u guys start kpanshn each oda tho den fartn shudnt b a big deal.it shudnt b excessive tho.I once dated dis guy(4 two weeks) who farted almost evry 10mins n I cringed evrytym. Dat among oda reasons was y I hit d freeway.

    Posted by zee-berrie | June 6, 2011, 5:36 pm
  32. lol!he’s an extreme case abeg ah ahn!

    Posted by georgeenah | June 7, 2011, 4:55 pm
  33. You shouldn’t fart in front of anyone even your significant other except you don’t see it coming, it just shows lack of etiquette and proper training, you should always get up and go do it elsewhere like say the bathroom and it’s not about friendship cause I don’t even tolerate my siblings doing that sort of thing.

    Posted by Anon4now | August 3, 2011, 9:42 am
  34. I dont think it is right to fart infront of anyone intentionally…i cant even do it…..except the ones you cant control.

    However, the way someone reacts when you fart infront of them should pass the right message across. To each his own oooo!!!!!!!

    Posted by anitttta | August 10, 2011, 9:10 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,755 other followers

Follow Me:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

