//
you're reading...
Betty Tuesdays

Addicted

Hi everyone. I really don’t know how to introduce this piece so I’ll just let you read. Enjoy.

She clutched his arm, refusing to let go. “What? Tunde, but I love you!”

He pried her fingers off, while taking a step back. “Sade, I know you love me. I…I think a little too much. You’re just so intense.”

He took another step back when he saw the wild look in her eyes. She looked almost… mad.

She hugged herself, not bothering to stop the tears. “No.” She shook her head from side to side. “No. Tunde, I gave it all up for you. I gave you my body, Tunde, you own my soul. I let go of my friends…”

“I didn’t ask you to!” Tunde snapped. He’d become worried when during the second month of their relationship, he had met her cousin:

“Sade already has a new boyfriend?” the cousin had blurted out. “But Jide died barely two months ago! And Jide was everything to Sade.”

Sade had never mentioned any ‘Jide’; never mentioned any death to Tunde. She was always going on about how much she loved him, needed him; not even bothered or fazed that Tunde never said it back.

He took long strides to the door. He looked back to see she hadn’t moved an inch. She looked to be in shock, eyes glazed,  repeating the “No!” over and over.

“Sade, this is best. Especially for you. I think you need to be alone for a little while.” He shut the door behind him with resolve, cutting all ties to the woman behind it.

Sade turned around sharply. She paced while looking around frantically. She let out an eerie scream, reminiscent of a tortured animal’s, as she threw the nearest vase to the ground.

No! What was wrong with her? Her dad had left her mum because of her; Jide had left her; now Tunde! No! She couldn’t let him leave her. Tunde was perfect for her.

She fell to the ground, rolling herself into a ball as shudders coursed through her frame.

She just had to remind him of how much he loved her. She wouldn’t live; couldn’t live without him. She’d just remind him.

She got up, ran to the kitchen to get the sharpest knife. She laid her equipment on the center table and sat still as she watched the clock.

Her busy-banker mother always got home between 9:00 and 10:00p.m; like clockwork. She’d do it at 9:50. Her mother would call Tunde and he’d remember. He’d remember he loved her.

9:48. 9:49. 9:50. She carefully raised the knife to her left wrist. “I’ll just remind you.” She repeated under her breath; almost like a chant. She cut her lower lip from biting so hard so she wouldn’t cry out.

The knife clattered loudly to the ground when she was done. She pulled her bleeding hands to her chest, closing her eyes tight so she wouldn’t see her crimson life flow out of her.

She’d just remember her love for him while she waited.

“I love you, Tunde. I love you…”

But Mrs. Ajayi, in an unusual bid to please her daughter, took a detour to the Supermarket to get those rare sausages and the French chocolates that she always saw Sade eating.

It wasn’t her fault that the Supermarket’s computers were down and everything had to be done manually.
It also wasn’t her fault that Sade didn’t get to taste the chocolates.

*******************************

I know, I know, classic Betty right? Some of you might argue that these things don’t happen in our society but I hope the comments here today will not only change that perception but also help proffer solutions. Please use the comment box and speak your mind. Ciao ciao…

About Betty

Attaining 'halcyon'... @UberBetty

Discussion

61 thoughts on “Addicted

  1. OMG!!pemi!!:(:(deep.

    Posted by kechilauren | June 7, 2011, 9:02 am
  2. Firsties!

    Posted by Firstbot | June 7, 2011, 9:02 am
  3. FOOLISH GIRL!!! Darrizall I have to say for now…I shall return to proffer my solution…
    Good stuff Betty

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | June 7, 2011, 9:04 am
  4. Hmmmm….what a waste!

    Posted by kayshawy | June 7, 2011, 9:08 am
  5. I like when people write stuff like this for very personal reasons. These things actually happen in our society, but very rarely. Problem is a lot of people are blind to the symptoms. He could have let her down more gently. Poor girl sha. Poor uneaten chocolates *smh*
    Lovely write-up as usual.

    Posted by cecenostockings | June 7, 2011, 9:09 am
  6. Mehn I don’t judge people like this, rejection can be hard…her mission was not suicide but a different level of attention. I’ll like to believe that I don’t have it in me to be crazy in love like this. And if it’s cause I haven’t met ‘that guy’ yet, I hope I never do.
    Good post 🙂

    Posted by Iyamilele | June 7, 2011, 9:09 am
  7. That’s just sad but it happens and we don’t talk about “these things” in the Nigerian Society.

    Posted by Gbemi | June 7, 2011, 9:11 am
  8. The feeling of rejection can be so extreme..I guess that’s what moved her..people that go thru this, think they need too remind the people they love how much they mean to them..
    Maybe She also chose NOT to mention Jide because she wanted to forget about him and start again..but even if, at some point, when she felt comfortable she should have told him..
    Betty ..beautiful story.

    Posted by kechilauren | June 7, 2011, 9:21 am
  9. Well,I haven’t forgotten what I was going to say in the time it took the page to load.however’I do think addiction exists on milder and less severe forms than this depicted.
    In the subtle ways we act out our needs of dependence on our subjects of emotional interest.
    It just takes a rational mind to draw the lines and all boils down to self worth and esteem.
    Lots of people have personality disorders.
    And I will stop talking before I start blabbing.

    Posted by loisssss | June 7, 2011, 9:24 am
  10. These things happen o! You really don’t want to have a feel of rejection. It’s really painful and it leaves a mental picture. As for solutions… I’m really lost on that path… You really can’t blame people who sit all day on the internet cos sometimes, the imagined world is way better than the real world. Nice one ma’am!

    Posted by Sandie Pandie | June 7, 2011, 9:27 am
  11. They do haappen oh.A friend’s brother killed himself 3years ago because he felt his parents weren’t showing him love..actually he hung himselff on the fan.left a letter.okay maaybe it was an extreme attention whore case or jjust too much africa magic..either ways God bless that family…:(t

    Posted by kechilauren | June 7, 2011, 9:27 am
  12. There is a reason why we have therapists. A person in this situation needs to pay one a visit. This issue is too serious to proffer unprofessional solutions to.

    Well written piece. (y)

    Posted by chinnydiva | June 7, 2011, 9:31 am
  13. Moral: DON’T BE A WEIST… you’d just die and no one wld come to ur rescue… nice one, @uberbetty

    Posted by il Cicero | June 7, 2011, 9:34 am
  14. My family friend actually took rat poison and DIED cos ha husband said he was going to leave her afta reading texts proving dat she was cheating (and yes they r Nigerians-lagosians) and she was really beautiful wiv 2 adorable sons!
    SOLUTION-chocolate 🙂

    Posted by xoxo_ebire | June 7, 2011, 9:45 am
  15. Getting used to your style,and while the end was a bit predictable (very unBettyish), I like.
    Tunde, knowing how unstable she was should probably have made sure someone would be with her afterwards.
    And I agree.Poor chocolates.:(

    Posted by ie | June 7, 2011, 9:48 am
  16. This just reminded why i fell in love with betty’s writing in the first place. There are a lot of sad, mentally disturbed people who were once just regular folks like you and me. But after being beaten down and tossed around by circumstances and erhm…that thing called love they naturally picked up lifetime membership forms for #TeamYabaLeft. Someone has too tell their story and this time you did a great job with it Betty. (y)

    Okay, so back to the real question on everyone’s mind. Who got the chocolates?

    Posted by freshprinz | June 7, 2011, 10:03 am
  17. *sigh* Deep. Nice write up Pemi. Sadly, these things happen more often than we admit or hear about. Personally, I can’t fathom why a person would go to such extremes to seek one’s attention. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not being judgemental. No one likes rejection and some can’t handle it at all. I think the symptoms are almost always there but I guess our society isn’t sensitive to such symptoms.

    Reminds me of a tragic story I heard a while back about a girl hanging herself in her ex boyfriend’s room because he ended their relationship. The fundamental issue is an acute case of lack of self esteem – your life having meaning only because someone else is a part of it.

    Solution: to be honest, I don’t know. I would have said the onus lies on the parents but with their busy schedules and with the children divulging only tits n bits of their life happenings, it may be hard for parents to detect it sometimes. What can I say? God help us.

    Posted by Dotbabe | June 7, 2011, 10:03 am
  18. this! Obsession kills, literally! Some folks build their lives around some gf or bf and when they leave it comes crashing down for them, and they jump into another to fill the void before fixing themselves; which makes them time bombs waitn to explode..tunde shoulda seen these traits earlier tho.
    Another nice piece!

    Posted by sirkellz | June 7, 2011, 10:03 am
  19. hahaha… you’re not well… but theres no news there.. as you were…

    Posted by thetoolsman | June 7, 2011, 10:05 am
  20. So what is/was Sade addicted to?

    Attention??? Love???

    Sade has/had Daddy issues simple and short. Wish her daddy paid her more attention…..

    Love is no excuse for such stupidity.

    *Claps hand and does the Windeck dance*

    Posted by lagoshunter | June 7, 2011, 10:26 am
  21. Was waiting for someone to point this out.. I believe she was more addicted to ‘love’ than Tunde himself.

    Which I believe is worse.

    Posted by Betty | June 7, 2011, 10:36 am
  22. Let me first of all say that I know this is fiction. No man will want to be with a woman like Sade. (I stand to be corrected) Even if she didn’t die, I wouldn’t have taken her back if I was Tunde. Anybody that can kill for reasons other than self defence should stay away from me. Sad thing she lost her life, but she is(was) a very very silly girl! Once again, nicely written Betty!

    Posted by SlevinCalevra | June 7, 2011, 10:39 am
  23. Wow. Awesome write up. Soo sad she had to die tho.rejection can b very painful tho.

    Posted by MzLucyM | June 7, 2011, 10:54 am
  24. @kechilauren,forgive me but if dat isn’t a hoax of cowpoo-poo,then I dnt knw what is. D gal is obsessed and a full tym loco.she needs therapy.it didn’t started wit her ‘jide’ it started wit her family and dat is d worst type of traumatic xperience. Somebody call 911?

    Posted by thisgal | June 7, 2011, 10:58 am
  25. actions…reactions. different strokes for different folks. *shrugs*

    Posted by 2lu | June 7, 2011, 11:00 am
  26. hmmmmm too sad. i think as africans we like to think we are thick skinned to rejections and its likes but in all sincerity it does happen to a lot of people around us. not everybody know how to manage rejection and not everybody can easily shrug off the pain dat comes with it. as for solutions stay of men/women.

    Posted by Trust me iknow | June 7, 2011, 11:11 am
  27. Err…Okay it’s always gotta be Tunde…Y’all just love the name dont u?

    If you care to Know , Sade didn’t die, and we are together here reading y’all comment on the beginning of our love story….

    …Married

    Posted by @jobzibond | June 7, 2011, 11:14 am
  28. Hahahaha…#teamyabaleft- reminds me of the trending posts on twitter. The twit that really cracked me up was when someone twitted – #teamyabaleft where we use the heat from laptop to iron clothes!

    Posted by kayshawy | June 7, 2011, 11:14 am
  29. oh my …such a silly twat she is! Anyway, it happens in our society but rarely. A girl i kinda know slits her wrists on the regular over guys, family, stress, and anything really. she says as the blood flows out so does the pain.i told her in not so many words that she needs to see a psychiatrist. well i got my first psycho slap that day. To preserve my life, i stay away but ive brought it to her friends notice. i dont know her fam personally, so i wont go to that extent burdening myself with som1 elses issues.

    Posted by kenyauk | June 7, 2011, 11:15 am
  30. Exactly. Her addiction is much more than for attention, but she just wanted to be loved no matter who the person turned out to be. A bit extreme tho…

    Posted by ayanfalu | June 7, 2011, 11:43 am
  31. Tunde on the other hand could have handled the situation alot better. He’s lucky she hurt herself, what if she choose to ‘remind’ him that he loves her by slicing HIM up.

    Scary mehn *yikes*

    Posted by ayanfalu | June 7, 2011, 11:45 am
  32. Y’all,this is not a case of rejection,it goes deeper.her family,to be precise her father caused her disorder.yes,it is a disorder and its so unfortunate dat jide’s death had to reinforce her belief,which simply is ‘everyone I love leaves me’. A gal lyk dat will always be obsessed about gettin sumone to luv her,to show her d luv in unusual ways and it so happens dat d best place a gal can find dat is wit a guy. Forget d mother,dat type of luv is not what Sade was looking for……fathers r prominent figures in children’s life.she needs therapy,a vigorous one.and all U̶̲̥̅̊ singing her obituary,who said anything about death? @betty,did U̶̲̥̅̊? D ends says to kip d fingers crossed,read btw d lines.

    Posted by thisgal | June 7, 2011, 11:55 am
  33. That the girl has gone bonkers..is not news..I’m just sayin that these things donot happen like dt..other factors inspire them
    Yes call 911, book therapy sessions.but I’m sure she doesn’t see it as a problem.
    I always say obsession and love are two different things, she just didn’t know where to draw the line:(

    Posted by kechilauren | June 7, 2011, 12:03 pm
  34. *astounded* how exactly does betty create magic in half a page? smh for my verbosity.

    Posted by EkweMartin | June 7, 2011, 12:17 pm
  35. LMAO…jokes

    Posted by Iyamilele | June 7, 2011, 12:38 pm
  36. I get ur point,about d other factors which includes a wide range of things…but she was never in love with dat Tunde nor d so dead Jide,she was in love with d idea of being loved which has d potential of turning into obsession as it obviously did.Two entirely different things…her mind is warped so she willl neva believe she needs help,why do U̶̲̥̅̊ think wheneva U̶̲̥̅̊ ask ur friend ‘are U̶̲̥̅̊ mad?v U̶̲̥̅̊ gone bonkers?’ They deny ‘no’ dats cos they knw at dat particular period they did went mad or r mad as d case may be…so its up to her mum now to help her,if she can.if not, #teamyabaleft.

    Posted by thisgal | June 7, 2011, 12:44 pm
  37. Intense. Wow. And you are right, things like this do happen in our society. We just don’t get to hear of them.

    Posted by Miz | June 7, 2011, 1:02 pm
  38. These things do happen, in our society!
    I had a friend who would cut herself, and she also had a friend who was just as dangerous (to themselves anyway)
    Its really complicated…saying the person is foolish or mad isn’t going to help…there are many reasons people fall into such patterns.
    One junior girl even wanted to drink bleach!
    I used to be really baffled as to why a humanbeing would slit her own wrists or want to drink bleach but mehhn, life isn’t easy for everybody

    Posted by mizzkenzo | June 7, 2011, 1:19 pm
  39. but really do you blame the boy for not reciprocating the feelings or do you blame the girl for loving too much and not knowing when to stop? Is there even a way to stop yourself from over loving someone? I know a guy in a similar situation. There’s no doubting the fact that the girl loves him with her body soul and money and even went as far as deferring her admission because the boy was not given one. The thought of what she will do in the eventuality of the boy breaking up with her makes me shudder

    Posted by dat ibo gurl | June 7, 2011, 1:45 pm
  40. *tosses guguru and epa into mouth*

    Pemi, you.are.a.blessing.

    Excellent…Now my thoughts…self-esteem is key..and a number of people are chronic attention/love/my-life-is-not-complete-until-I-i-am-in-love whores.

    I have to also say this is a serious issue. I know some dude who killed himself because..wait for it…his partner broke up with him (yes he was gay). Tula might know of this too. Really tragic.

    Pemi was obsessed with the idea of being loved. I’m not judging, but please your life is precious and does not deserved to be taken away just because someone rejected you.

    Solution….Therapy, a new squeeze..lots of chocolate, games, shopping sprees, Twitter..

    Stay out of bullshit…You deserve happiness…and stay alive..

    *washes down groundnut with sprite*

    Posted by awizii | June 7, 2011, 2:20 pm
  41. *deserve* I apologise

    Posted by awizii | June 7, 2011, 2:23 pm
  42. Awizii, I believe you men ‘Sade’ was obsessed. Not Pemi. Lol. Jo oh.
    Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone provided by Airtel Nigeria.

    Posted by Betty | June 7, 2011, 2:26 pm
  43. oh snap…what was I thinking? must’ve been the guguru..

    My bad dear….”SADE WAS OBSESSED OH”

    Well done..

    Posted by awizii | June 7, 2011, 2:31 pm
  44. SHe needs help #thatisall
    We have all been and rejected, i didnt slit my wrist
    what a normal girl will do is indulge in desserts and maybe get fat
    not slit her wrists

    THIS is also why going through the process of heartbreak is important
    you have to grieve, and then let go and move on

    Posted by BBB | June 7, 2011, 2:34 pm
  45. You deserve a hug for that….

    Posted by awizii | June 7, 2011, 2:36 pm
  46. Err.. Betty.. wharris did? you’re offering Airtel free ads?

    Posted by thetoolsman | June 7, 2011, 3:11 pm
  47. Erm.. lemme just say, I disagree with your use of the term ‘normal girl’… I know this is Africa and we easily push things like this aside but I think from the comments we’ve all agreed that these people exist and they need ‘professional’ help…

    Posted by thetoolsman | June 7, 2011, 3:16 pm
  48. I think the gal was actually obsessed with having some one to love….remember the part where it says she kept telling the guy how much she loved him n not caring if he didn’t say it back n how she easily forgot jide when she started dating tunde
    I’ll tell I’ve been in that dark place but not as extreme as to kill myself….just being extremely depressed cause I didn’t have some one I loved #emphasison ‘Iloved’

    Posted by babykomarol | June 7, 2011, 3:53 pm
  49. Please forgive me. I replied from my email. X_X

    Posted by Betty | June 7, 2011, 4:13 pm
  50. “Her busy-banker mother always got home between 9:00 and 10:00p.m; like clockwork. She’d do it at 9:50. Her mother would call Tunde and he’d remember. He’d remember he loved her.”

    Its obvious she’s addicted to attention;event the act of slicing her wrist was timed.Its sad but things like this happen tho some may not be as extreme as sade’s. Maybe its time,people started talking more and stopped bottling up less.

    Posted by georgeenah | June 7, 2011, 4:26 pm
  51. Well we shouldnt look at this as is, its iust a representation of how far a girl can go when she’s been hurt that deep. This scenario really does hapen in our society, maybe the script might differ a little but it happens.

    Posted by mAximus | June 7, 2011, 7:22 pm
  52. Needless to say, u went to qc. Junior girl????

    Posted by bimbo | June 7, 2011, 11:32 pm
  53. Thisgal, you make a lot of sense. there is an awning difference between being in love with a person, and being locked up in an obsessive desire to be loved.

    Posted by @Qurr | June 8, 2011, 3:03 am
  54. Is there anything like loving someone too much? I dont think there should be…..

    Posted by dammy | June 8, 2011, 8:11 am
  55. And the girl died…
    Sade’s problem started when her father left her and if her mother had been very observant she would have noticed changes in sade’s attitude and sort help immediately. But sade is probably an only child and her mother was too busy indulging her rather than helping her.

    Posted by mabijo | June 8, 2011, 8:26 am
  56. Did she have to die??????? beautiful tho

    Posted by some girl | June 8, 2011, 6:36 pm
  57. Looks like Betty’s got a thing for tragic stories, i enjoyed it though. I think Sade should have taken some time out to sort herself out, i guess she was scared of been alone…
    More ink in ur pen

    Posted by loffy | June 9, 2011, 10:43 am
  58. wow she really went all out huh? no one is worth dying for no matter the rejection….

    Posted by deji | June 10, 2011, 1:15 pm
  59. dre is..& it hurts to death..

    Posted by mzs_pam | June 10, 2011, 7:01 pm
  60. **sigh*..betty ds tho’?

    Posted by mzs_pam | June 10, 2011, 7:04 pm
  61. LOL! Poor uneaten chocolates??? Hahahaaaa!!

    Nice one, B!

    Posted by Slim | June 11, 2011, 12:28 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,754 other followers

Follow Me:

