//
you're reading...
Betty Tuesdays

Superman

Hi everyone. Today’s post is……. maybe I should just let you help me out with the adjectives on this one. Enjoy.

I am superman.

“Tinkolo tinkoko!”

I will save the world.

“Tinkololo tinkoko!”

Nobody else can. The job is mine.
They have become robots.

“Left! Right! Left!”

I laugh long and hard. They look at me strangely. Why don’t they laugh? I will save them. So they can laugh.

The music comes on. Maybe they’ll dance.

“Kimon! Let’s go! Wa gba!”

I break into dance. Left foot askew, right foot at an angle. Body undulating in jerky movements.

But they don’t dance. They just walk so rigidly. Can’t they hear the song? Why won’t they dance?

This is serious! I must save them so they can dance.

I need a plan. I sit.

A plan. A plan.

Superman needs a plan. When? How?

Superman is hungry. Food. Food.

Superman should eat before he plans. Before he saves.

Aha! There’s food! Superman is happy.

“Tinkolo tinkoko!”

I dance to my food. Warm bread. Ahhh…

“Ha! Weee-ree! Wee-re! Ole! Mad man ohhh! Come back here! Oooo-le!”

Why is she shouting? She needs to be saved. She’s gone mad. I have to run. So I can eat in peace. So I can be strong. So I can save her.

“Tinkolo tinkoko!”

END.

There you have it. Can you relate? Maybe yes, maybe no? It’s always interesting imagining how things really are on the other side. Please use the comment box to share your thoughts experiences and so on. Ciao.

About Betty

Attaining 'halcyon'... @UberBetty

Discussion

47 thoughts on “Superman

  1. Am I first?okay I think superman is crazy.

    Posted by doynoyesanmi | June 14, 2011, 9:03 am
  2. I remember This mad man stealing bread scene a lot..naijaa movies sha.lol.
    Betty..(Y)

    Posted by kechilauren | June 14, 2011, 9:03 am
  3. First!!!

    Posted by freshprinz | June 14, 2011, 9:03 am
  4. First!!!!

    Posted by freshprinz | June 14, 2011, 9:04 am
  5. HOW!!??? Curse u MTN!!! CURSE U!!!!!

    Posted by freshprinz | June 14, 2011, 9:06 am
  6. Mad people..they think we are mad…we KNOW they are mad..:(

    Posted by kechilauren | June 14, 2011, 9:06 am
  7. @freshprinz I am laughing so hard right now. u have no idea how stupid ur ‘first’ looks on the third position. are you d crazy person betty is writing about ?! LOL

    abeg am joking o!

    Posted by ekwe | June 14, 2011, 9:07 am
  8. Weyrey….ta lo fe yi lori?

    Posted by Shawana Kolawole | June 14, 2011, 9:08 am
  9. betty,this is a nice, incredibly short story. *sighs* can u just try keeping me entertained for much longer?

    my friend betty is a great woman.

    did u guys know that I have actually exchanged DMs with d great betty? O_O #ExtremeFamzing

    Posted by ekwe | June 14, 2011, 9:12 am
  10. LOL..superman is crazy. 😦

    Posted by Spiffy | June 14, 2011, 9:13 am
  11. buhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha…..

    Posted by thetoolsman | June 14, 2011, 9:14 am
  12. You know what.. maybe you can tell your twin broher Vic. O to write a song about this…. hahahahaha…

    Posted by thetoolsman | June 14, 2011, 9:16 am
  13. LOL @vic and ekwe.

    This post reminds me of one mad woman that lived near our compound in the village. I used to sit across the road from her and just watch her take care of her baby ( a doll). Hilarious stuff.
    But mad people scare me now sha.

    Posted by cecenostockings | June 14, 2011, 9:16 am
  14. @freshprinz LMAO!u can be first tommorow.:P

    Posted by doynoyesanmi | June 14, 2011, 9:24 am
  15. I’ve Never thought of what goes on in the mind of a mentally challenged person but it won’t be surprising to know the insane thinks himself Superman and on a mission to save the world. And we the ‘sane’ one must appear mad to the mad!

    Posted by mabijo | June 14, 2011, 9:27 am
  16. You know what’s funny? The perceived mad may be the one who is sane at the end of the day….just maybe a mad person sees what a lot of us do not see..sees deeper than what we see on the surface…okay, do I sound crazy yet?

    Posted by awizii | June 14, 2011, 9:32 am
  17. LOL. As in!!

    Posted by cecenostockings | June 14, 2011, 9:37 am
  18. But this betty can write sha. Damn!

    Posted by Radeyo | June 14, 2011, 9:39 am
  19. ‘first’ madness… tinkolo tinkoko…

    it’s a function of how fast ur internet cnxn is… 9:03/9:04..

    Posted by 'il Cicero' | June 14, 2011, 9:40 am
  20. Am I mad???

    Posted by anonymous | June 14, 2011, 9:53 am
  21. 1st thought: politicians. “Nobody else can. The job is mine. They have become robots. I dance to my food. Warm bread. Ahhh…” fuels this train of thought. You pieced it well. 🙂

    Posted by listener | June 14, 2011, 9:55 am
  22. Oh my God. Superman is mad? I can relate. I hope that doesn’t make me…

    Posted by SlevinCalevra | June 14, 2011, 9:58 am
  23. 1st time commenting on TheToolsMan’s blog, suprised to know “He’s” a “Betty”: reminds me of Damascus.

    Posted by listener | June 14, 2011, 10:01 am
  24. Hope can’t help you, luv. Here. Have a hug (((lanre)))

    Posted by cecenostockings | June 14, 2011, 10:04 am
  25. uhhhh…… you write weird stuff. but you write it well. 🙂

    Posted by TecknicoleurGrl | June 14, 2011, 10:04 am
  26. Lol.reminds me of something someone once said: A mad man is half-cured when you can get him to admit he’s mad.Till then,everyone else is.

    Posted by ie | June 14, 2011, 10:07 am
  27. I love dis girl’s writing style!!!

    And no toolsman is nt a “Betty” *rme*

    Posted by Immortal TeddyBear | June 14, 2011, 10:46 am
  28. Hmmn…I’ve thot about this very often…like Awizii said…it wldnt suprise me to find out wat we call sanity is actually madness…after all wat is madness if not a “different” state of consciousness…God knows a lot of the greatest scientists were borderline mad…Schröedinger was definitely mad…no way he wasn’t…Even Jesus (yes Jesus Christ) was thot to be mad…*shrug*
    Great piece Betty…

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | June 14, 2011, 10:47 am
  29. Superlolololol superman ti ya wereh!
    Freshprinz ti ya werey!

    Vic o fe ya wereh!

    Uber ti ya wereh!

    Tula…baba wereh le leh oh! Agba wereh!

    Emi nko?? Moh ti ya wereh gan!

    Posted by ibetapassmynebo | June 14, 2011, 11:26 am
  30. Dulling henchmen? Hunger? I can’t blame him lol!

    Posted by sholly | June 14, 2011, 11:55 am
  31. Chei.. someone really needs to service this generator.. and fast too…

    Posted by thetoolsman | June 14, 2011, 12:18 pm
  32. i always wondered if we were the crazy ones… wat if we are the aliens???

    Posted by cikk0 | June 14, 2011, 12:43 pm
  33. Lol. Excellent writing Pemi.
    I pity this poor lady eh – Why is she shouting? She needs to be saved. She’s gone mad. I have to run. So I can eat in peace. So I can be strong. So I can save her. “Tinkolo tinkoko!”

    Posted by missfadesomi | June 14, 2011, 1:15 pm
  34. of course, we are the aliens!

    Posted by 'il Cicero' | June 14, 2011, 1:52 pm
  35. I’d always imagined a scenario where we were the aliens and antagonists and then they released ‘Planet 51’. Love that movie…. And then came Avatar…. Let’s just say I no longer have to imagine *shrugs*

    Posted by Olatoxic | June 14, 2011, 2:38 pm
  36. U have a real gift, Betty. (Y)

    Posted by TheMentalMosaic | June 14, 2011, 3:02 pm
  37. lol from the eyes of a mad man!!!!

    Posted by BBB | June 14, 2011, 3:04 pm
  38. The last part of this piece had me chuckling and then scrolling down and seeing Freshprizvick’s misplaced ‘First’ twice had me laughing hard!

    *hi5* Homz. Lord knows we’ve been called mad more times than we’d like to remember. By close friends and family sef…

    Uncle Tools. There’s a certain unresolved badge issue, no?

    Posted by 'Dania | June 14, 2011, 5:27 pm
  39. Reality could really be relative you know.. that’s all i will say. Great pace here…

    Posted by griffinthinks | June 14, 2011, 9:48 pm
  40. Reality could really be relative you know.. that’s all i will say. Great piece here…

    Posted by griffinthinks | June 14, 2011, 9:51 pm
  41. lool i always wonder if mad people know they are mad

    Posted by kitkat | June 15, 2011, 12:12 am
  42. Nice 1 bettyBoo..*winks*.Short story,straight to d point.a nigerian writer did write a whole book on this line of thought,he musta bn(yes,U guessed it!)@musingsofagidimallam,what a name!dey feel am die

    Posted by Shakara | June 15, 2011, 7:53 am
  43. Used to have one as a friend… Thought he was pretty normal till he chased me around…..

    Posted by Dee | June 16, 2011, 7:47 am
  44. there was a murder at a psychatric home. a patient was called to testify. defence argued he was mentally unfit to testify. the guy said he was aware that his village people were ‘worrying’ him but on that they should leave that one first. on every other issue, he is mad but on this particular issue, the was very very sane…. true story

    Posted by nengie | June 16, 2011, 9:36 am
  45. I so love this part:

    “Why is she shouting? She needs to be saved. She’s gone mad. I have to run. So I can eat in peace. So I can be strong. So I can save her.

    “Tinkolo tinkoko!”

    Great job!

    Posted by missq | June 17, 2011, 6:15 am
  46. *smiles*

    I’d really love to know what goes on in the head of crazy people.
    Who are they really? What’s important to them? What are they aware of?

    I fear that somehow, that chaos might be an art form of nature on its own, something we sane folk can never come to terms with, how the lunatic survives despite his lunacy.

    If the lunatic survives in harsh conditions, and his only crime is that he cannot fit into a system, is he a crazy only because he’s not one of us?

    *wraps toga around self and vanishes*

    Posted by afrosays | July 3, 2011, 7:30 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,754 other followers

Follow Me:

