//
you're reading...
Monday Rush

Living with Marvin.

Hey everyone, before we get into todays post, I’d just like to quickly run through two things. Firstly, I’ve been accused by a lot of people, especially on twitter, for failing to keep them updated with new posts here. I’d like to apologize again and just state that I stopped mentioning too many people on new post alerts cause the list had grown remarkably over time and mentioning everyone would come off as spamming a lot of timelines. I think things have pretty much stabilized here now and we have an almost regular post timetable which I’d like to share.

MON – Monday Rush

TUE – Betty Tuesdays

WED – Wednesday Dialogue

THU – Exclusive Series (Our Best Friends Wedding)

FRI – Wet Fridays

*SUN – Sunday Polls

All posts except Sunday Polls are pretty much regular and they come up at 10am daily. The Sunday Polls come up occasionally on Sunday evenings. If you’re still having issues subscribing here (Subscribing doesn’t mean you get emails whenever people comment, you only get notifications when new posts go up), please bookmark this link –> http://bitly.com/toolsman. Thats the blog homepage where you’ll see all the posts put up arranged orderly.

Secondly, voting continues for the Nigerian Blog Awards and you can still vote for us and all your favorite blogs here –> VOTE.

***********************************

Now to today’s business. Let’s take a walk down emotional lane. Today, I want to talk to the dudes. Well, the ladies are welcome to listen too since we know you guys are here anyways. So, I can’t say enough about my love for music. Recently, I heard the new single from Drake titled Marvin’s room off his forthcoming album tentatively called ‘Take Care’.

The moment I heard the first chorus of the song I knew it was one of those tunes that would drive some sort of controversy. Why? Drake did something most rappers find very hard to do. Write and properly deliver something bound to make such an emotional impact. For those who haven’t heard the tune, you can download it here, give it a listen and then come back.

If your internet is shitty, here’s a quick summary ‘Drake paints a scene in which he’s wasted late at night, missing an old love. It’s vaguely similar to the storyline of Lady Antebellum‘s ‘Need You Now’ — except that he knows his ex has a new man, and he doesn’t care.‘ Now, here’s the interesting bit. Lets take a look at the lyrics to the chorus:

Fuck that n*gga that you love so bad

I know you still think about the times we had

I say fuck that n*gga that you think you found

And since you picked up I know he’s not around

I’m just sayin, you could do better

Tell me have you heard that lately

I’m just saying you could do better

And I’ll start hating, only if you make me

I’m sure a lot of guys heard that bit and went “Yeah, that’s what I’m talking about. Tell ’em Drake.. tell those compromising a** sisters the truth they don’t tell themselves”.. Well, like I said, Drake did something most rappers wont do. Yeah, he sings and all but because he still has a reputation to protect he couldn’t come all out singing/rapping what I think he really wanted to say (Not every rapper can be Diddy). Now, I know what the chorus says but every time I listen to it, here’s what I hear:

Fuck me for hurting you so bad

I know I still think about the times we had

Fuck me for thinking you couldn’t find another

I was praying he wont be around so you’d pickup

I’m just saying, I know you can do better (than me)

I know you heard that a lot while with me

I’m just saying, I know you can do better (than me)

I know I’m hating but please don’t hate me

What am I getting at? Drake comes across as trying to get his ex to cheat/come back to him but upon closer examination, you’ll feel bad for him because he comes of as desperate, lonely and heart-broken. Tell me, how many guys… no, scratch that, how many BLACK men will ever ‘easily and/or openly’ admit to all these things or even one of them as a result of losing a woman?

I listen to songs like Mario’s The Hardest Moment from the D.N.A album on which he sang:

Girl you should go left and I will go right

We wasted enough time

But I think we should kiss

So we can take it with us to play in our minds

And if you feel a tear falling on your lips

Then girl that would be mine

Cause I’m a man that ain’t afraid to cry

See a man that ain’t afraid to cry is a man that ain’t afraid to die

And I just wonder how many black men can truly relate to the words. I got out of my last relationship after a couple of years and though things ended somewhat amicably, I’ve always admitted to close friends that the whole thing hit me – badly. I wallowed (in my own way) for a couple of months and even after then, bumping into each other whenever we had to meet up with mutual friends was always near traumatic for me. But it wasn’t until I openly expressed my emotions that I began to get better (you don’t want to know how many “consoling” women are out there).

Jokes apart, today is all about the guys sharing. The ladies can always help (by consoling) or sharing experiences as well but I’d really like to hear the guys talk about their emotional moments and how they went about dealing with them. Use the comment box and speak your mind. Cheers.

About thetoolsman

I mostly refer to myself as an unrepentant media addict .. Well, cause I'm mostly always hunting for information through one media channel or the other... Hit me up on twitter @thetoolsman

Discussion

106 thoughts on “Living with Marvin.

  1. First

    Posted by bimbo | July 4, 2011, 9:01 am
  2. ogaju

    Posted by H•A•W | July 4, 2011, 9:01 am
  3. I dunno how I came 2nd. LOL

    Posted by highlandblue | July 4, 2011, 9:01 am
  4. I was even third again! *sideeye* at Bimbo

    Posted by highlandblue | July 4, 2011, 9:02 am
  5. 3rd? Damn u glo!!!

    Posted by EdoBarbie | July 4, 2011, 9:02 am
  6. Simii siimii na!

    Posted by ShoWade | July 4, 2011, 9:03 am
  7. Yes I was third!! *drinks palmwine*

    Posted by EdoBarbie | July 4, 2011, 9:03 am
  8. (Y)

    Posted by ibetapassmynebo | July 4, 2011, 9:08 am
  9. na wa o !!!! so u guys don’t v any work dis early morning ehn !!!!
    u can’t even let this babe be 1st 😦
    u all will see *snapping fingers*
    lemme gaun read dis post i’ll b back 4 una

    Posted by Foxy | July 4, 2011, 9:08 am
  10. To be honest (and this is after some thought) I dont make a special effort to get over someone. What does it mean to get over someone? To stop hurting because of the split? To forget that you ever had good times with the person? To stop loving the person? Somehow I dont think any of these are totally possible so I dont even try to achieve them. Maybe I believe that one way or the other, the relationship will continue on a level, just not the level I am used to. And somehow, we meet up and get to talk and enjoy the embers of the blaze that once was. Why try to shut out a wonderful human being for the rest of my life? Is she the devil? Well, maybe I haven’t been hurt enough. We love you Toolsman!

    Posted by highlandblue | July 4, 2011, 9:09 am
  11. Nice one bruv…I guess for me when those emotional moments come I look to the Emperors of my Holy of Holies to lend a listening ear…they always have my back, and they aren’t afraid to let me know when I’m talking bullshit and get me back in line.

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | July 4, 2011, 9:11 am
  12. :-)….sits back and sips ribena

    Posted by iyamilele | July 4, 2011, 9:11 am
  13. Gosh!!! U people are sooo fast….am the 10th sha

    Posted by blondie | July 4, 2011, 9:12 am
  14. #oneword… Deep!

    Posted by @demmylee | July 4, 2011, 9:18 am
  15. Took me 4yrs to finally get ova my ex. Guys don’t lik talkin abt emo ish bcos its nt termed manly….

    However,havin a girl u can talk to den bang lik a bass drum afta wiv no strings attached always helps 😀

    Posted by Immortal TeddyBear | July 4, 2011, 9:18 am
  16. So appaz I made the top 10 commentators today…*shrug* no need to rush seeing as I own the Zobo franchise…hehehehehe *sips on his glass of Zobo Classic*

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | July 4, 2011, 9:19 am
  17. *from his glass…I beg ur pardon…

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | July 4, 2011, 9:19 am
  18. Another insightful piece.. I’ll sit back and watch the boys comments on this. But I’m definitely not the the girl to console a man that has fucked up…maybe cuz I don’t forget easily!

    Posted by vixenpixie | July 4, 2011, 9:21 am
  19. Wow!

    Posted by noname | July 4, 2011, 9:22 am
  20. The consequences of “falling in love” is if eventually you don’t get to spend the rest of your life with that woman … then its definitely gonna hurt after the split- whether u are the most macho king man or not..
    But telling ur ex “u can do better” ..or “I know u still think about the me” …is just ur heart’s way of tellin you, u still haven’t let go.
    U might hit it maybe once or twice with those lines but its very unlikely the woman is gonna leave her new man bcos ur bitterself is holding onto ‘past glory’ or because u’v told her she’s made the wrong choice for being with him..

    Its best to let go- but its easier said than done.

    Posted by ricdizzle | July 4, 2011, 9:24 am
  21. I refuse to share my story for fear of Riley verbally annihilating my manhood.

    Posted by ShoWade | July 4, 2011, 9:25 am
  22. Hmmm…so someone came first.bwery gud.
    As regards this post from heaven.
    I should send this to someone.
    guys do have emotions that run deep and they are the ones who find it most difficult to let go.I know from my experience that long after u have moved on from a relationship they keep trying to get you back on that level.
    Maybe its ego,maybe proving okafors law or something
    But whatever u all have to say about this post..yall get emotional and u make marvins call.
    Its best to talk things out and achieve closure.settle scores..and if u can’t help loving her inspite of all that,its alwite.

    Posted by iamsamsie | July 4, 2011, 9:25 am
  23. *grabs my zobo container….waiting for mama boli to come out

    Posted by bukiola | July 4, 2011, 9:28 am
  24. I wud say I’m one of the guys,so if I of my guy gets heartbroken,I wud act as a good hommie n let him get drunk n xpress al his emotions while I listen

    Posted by blondie | July 4, 2011, 9:29 am
  25. i jst finished mine 😀

    Posted by Foxy | July 4, 2011, 9:29 am
  26. And they say MTN is bad? HIAN!

    Posted by bimbo | July 4, 2011, 9:32 am
  27. Oya..guys share ..im waiting:D

    Posted by kechilauren | July 4, 2011, 9:34 am
  28. I’ve kept a talking relationship with some of my ex, except for the animal I wrongly assumed was a lady.

    I think its ok to keep in touch IF BOTH PARTIES are down. Don’t be a stalker on ur ex. *yuck* I believe that should be a punishable offence under the law.

    **sEX with EX should EXist** Discuss!!

    Posted by 2ndelawal | July 4, 2011, 9:36 am
  29. Alan Sharer ……these women will still take over

    Posted by Master Sushey | July 4, 2011, 9:42 am
  30. It’s rare to find a piece that strips us men naked. I’m not surprised it’s your post; that’s why you’re our oga. *now planking in your honor*

    On a more serious note, guys usually don’t bare their emotions because they don’t see the point; they also need to protect what’s left of their hearts and salvage what’s left of their pride. If a girl has decided to move on with someone else, then she’s truly gone. Opening up after that is like crying over spilled milk. The guy looks desperate and at best, he’d be pitied. No girl wants an object of pity; that’s not attractive. It also feels like the guy is giving more power to his ex; she’ll always have that knowledge to hold over him.

    As for moving on, that takes time. It also needs the voluntary acceptance that you loved your ex and lost her. Numbing the pain won’t take it away, so I face that head-on and then i can move on. It’s not a pleasant experience and having friends around can lighten the burden.

    Posted by papyrusczar | July 4, 2011, 9:42 am
  31. Hey Rosebuds, I still won’t come to Nigeria. You’re sub’ing me right? By the way, I’m over Kanye.

    Posted by Amber Rose | July 4, 2011, 9:44 am
  32. Its definitely unusual to find a man who expresses his pain at losing a woman he has/had feelings for.

    He has to feel comfortable to express himself and society hasn’t helped because of the expectations it places on men.

    Just because ure man, u have to meet up with certain expectations.

    Example: if a girl hits a toe while playing her parents will go ‘sorry my princess, let me see ur leg’ and on the flipside to a boy in d same scenario u’ll hear ‘don’t cry! u are a big boy’

    So… Its pretty much embedded in our sub-conscious as men that we shouldn’t express certain things…at least to other people.

    I haven’t cried in over 16 yrs. ’cause I’m emotionally detached and I have a high tolerance for physical pain. But I do feel like crying in different situations but those tears will just not come.

    We all have feelings and we express them differently.

    But be true to yourself and Do U.

    IMO, being able to connect with ur emotions is vital for a healthy life.
    I know what I miss in not being able to feel or express certain things.

    F.

    Posted by @FoluShaw | July 4, 2011, 9:46 am
  33. I have never doubted it for once that guys do have emotions and when they truly love it runs deep! I love emotional men who ain’t scared of their emotions, but then again you have to show your sensitive side to people who care only.

    On with the tales already, I’m not touching this dial today.

    Posted by Chicasa | July 4, 2011, 9:46 am
  34. This is a very insightful post. A lot of men don’t talk about their feeling because its not ‘manly’. The ones that open up have such deep feelings and insecurities. Its okay to let it out once in a while.
    I wrote a similar post to this. I wrote the female version; the girl who final had enough of the guy and left him. You can read it here —- http://wp.me/p1xjCb-1T
    Good job Toolsman!!!

    Posted by d3ola | July 4, 2011, 9:48 am
  35. Rebound

    Posted by lekan adio | July 4, 2011, 9:52 am
  36. Hmmmm….thumbs up @thetoolsman, nice post. Personally, I’m not sure about this ‘getting over’ thingy. Truth is you both must have had great times in the relationship. Because you had to go your different ways shouldn’t make the devil overnight. I believe accepting that your circumstances have changed and continuing to appreciate what you shared will definitely be the way to go. Personally, I’m good friends with all my exes (errrm…ok a significant percentage shah) and that’s how I achieved it.

    I think the take a way is to always remember she’s not the devil just because you guys didnt work out in the end. You had great times…cherish those.

    Posted by Temitayo | July 4, 2011, 9:52 am
  37. Am inclined to agree with iamsamsie. However, dis is not 2 say girls find it easy all d time o. Nonetheless, wen u dnt let go completely and u meet someonelse. Things get tricky and u myt end up breaking d new babe’s heart…because u cannot totally commit as a result of unresolved heart issues

    Posted by Miss Em | July 4, 2011, 10:17 am
  38. Seriously? Tula?
    It’s Monday morning for fuck’s sake!!!!!
    Guys should be focused on making both ends meet this morning not listening to sad songs or reminiscing on their weak moments.

    *grabs crotch* and walks away….

    Posted by simplehedonism | July 4, 2011, 10:18 am
  39. I admit, v been wondering what Drakey was really trying to say in that chorus but I get it now. Thanks Mr. Tools 🙂
    Awww m here to console anybody that needs consoling…lol
    At some point, u gats express ur feelings, talk to someone… I know it hurts, but its going to get better

    Sha sha v been to Marvin’s room before…I don’t know what exactly my ex was thinking…but all in all…it was a tough break-up for me. Wasn’t a clean break, n we were still on each other’s matter for one year after the break up
    I loved him a lot, but I knew I could do better
    I’d found someone else and was ready to move on, but I did go to Marvin’s room. One last time
    X_x

    I’m not sure about how I’d react if a guy cried on me…but if its that bad that u do need to cry, let it out 🙂

    Posted by Yass | July 4, 2011, 10:24 am
  40. I admit, v been wondering what Drakey was really trying to say in that chorus but I get it now. Thanks Mr. Tools 🙂
    Awww m here to console anybody that needs consoling…lol
    At some point, u gats express ur feelings, talk to someone… I know it hurts, but its going to get better

    Sha sha v been to Marvin’s room before…I don’t know what exactly my ex was thinking…but all in all…it was a tough break-up for me. Wasn’t a clean break, n we were still on each other’s matter for one year after the break up
    I loved him a lot, but I knew I could do better
    I’d found someone else and was ready to move on, but I did go to Marvin’s room. One last time
    X_x

    I’m not sure about how I’d react if a guy cried on me…but if its that bad that u do need to cry, let it out 🙂

    Moving on is not easy, but sometimes u have to do what u have to. Learn from ur relationships…history shouldn’t repeat itself.
    Be good to your next girl. I don’t think u could ever totally stop loving somebody u used to be in love with tho… I don’t think so.

    Posted by Yass | July 4, 2011, 10:25 am
  41. I endorse this comment. the way boys are raised is the root of our inability to communicate emotions effectively. Truth is, most break-ups hurt both parties a lot. but guys will always want to be ‘the man’ and try to act like it wasnt a big deal. Society simply doesnt encourage men to be emotional. Often with tragic consequences.

    Posted by ThinkTank! | July 4, 2011, 10:35 am
  42. Guys love to be seen as the alpha male, one who’s strong, able to overcome hurt in whatever form it may come. When in reality they are big babies, who crave attention! Once the rug is pulled out from under their feet they can’t even conjure their ego to overshadow their hurt. They break down and most times when they do, they lose all sense of reasoning!
    …shout out to girls who play the role the role of consoling hurt bruvas, may your hard work not be a futile mission! 😉

    Posted by MsWaspy | July 4, 2011, 10:38 am
  43. eyaaaa kpele *laughing in swahili*

    Posted by sandie_pandie | July 4, 2011, 10:41 am
  44. SimpleHedonism is same as Lagoshunter.

    Posted by Lagos Hunter | July 4, 2011, 10:52 am
  45. Awwwwwww Hell-Naawwwwww!!! WTF is this GAY, dick-in-muscular-man-ass bullshit Niggguh? Yo Yo Yo Yo, y’all need to stop with the Homo shit for real tho. Now everrbody be spilling their emotional shit all over the place. fuck that.

    And fo real tho…Marvins room? who Da fuck is Marvin and WTF Drake be doing up in another nigga room, all alone and shit, whining like a lil bitch-pussy? Thats some sad/creepy/gay shit ritE thurr… Prolly jerking off into Marvins boxer shorts and crying while he wrote that shit. Fucking Homo.

    Seriously! Fuck nawwww. Real niggas dont do that shit right. If Yo girl leave u, when u miss the bitch, then Stick yo dick in 12 things she loves: go fuck her sister, mother, bestfriend, colleagues and if she got a female dog or cat or pet or watever mayne, then fuck that too. Fuck it to death if u can.

    In summary:
    1. This post is fucking gay
    2. Drake is fucking gay
    3. Fuck everything the bitch loves…to death.

    Real niggas dont talk. We fuck.

    Riley out

    Posted by Riley | July 4, 2011, 10:56 am
  46. Riley…*#?!://()*@;-_#*;_-‘”‘,!?

    In summary:
    1. We love you

    Posted by MsJulz | July 4, 2011, 11:03 am
  47. So Tula, this is me “unMANning” myself…..

    I am not sure what I am supposed to be sharing here so I will just scribble some random jibberish

    Heartbreak is simply knowing that it’s another guy’s presence not mine that now makes her happy.

    I always try to be a friend in all my relationships because friendship is all we will have when the lust fades away.

    Only one woman has ever made me cry.
    Today,that woman wears my ring and my son calls him “mummy” so I guess those tears weren’t wasted after all…..

    For me, the movie “Alfie” captures it all. It is all fun and games until we lose the ones who love us and hurt the ones we love.

    Enough of all this mushy rubbish…….

    Tula, happy now?

    *Scratches balls and returns to the business of the day* —-> Work!

    Posted by Lagos Hunter | July 4, 2011, 11:04 am
  48. ¯\..(•͡.̮ •͡ )../¯

    Posted by StephanieIj | July 4, 2011, 11:05 am
  49. I really don’t know who I love more…Riley in here…or HoodNeegah on Koro’s blog…these guys always leave me in stitches mehn.

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | July 4, 2011, 11:10 am
  50. bwahahahahahahahahahahaha

    Posted by Simmylala | July 4, 2011, 11:10 am
  51. Animal? ¯\..(•͡.̮ •͡ )../¯

    Posted by StephanieIj | July 4, 2011, 11:11 am
  52. lmaoooo. I love you Riley! :*

    Posted by UrNextDoorNeighbour | July 4, 2011, 11:13 am
  53. 😦

    Posted by StephanieIj | July 4, 2011, 11:16 am
  54. \_

    Posted by StephanieIj | July 4, 2011, 11:21 am
  55. 🙂

    Posted by StephanieIj | July 4, 2011, 11:22 am
  56. Buhahahahahaha @Riley
    ┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐ that woman ur with!!!….you guys tink ur al alpha male if I hear,some of you are pussys I.M.O…tell us the truth,wen dt girl broke ur heart you all cried lyk babies…out!!

    Posted by blondie | July 4, 2011, 11:37 am
  57. what i’ll never understand is this : if u feel so strongly about that person that breaking up hurts so much, why break up :s

    Posted by april | July 4, 2011, 11:38 am
  58. “See a man that ain’t afraid to cry is a man that ain’t afraid to die” … Yea, this line got me and I wish more men would understand this.. Nice read though (as always).. I’m grateful for the schedule.. 😀

    Posted by jael999 | July 4, 2011, 11:51 am
  59. Dear Riley,
    Can we hook up?I know ure a sissy having fun on this blog.

    Posted by iamsamsie | July 4, 2011, 12:09 pm
  60. Err… cos the other party doesn’t want you no more?

    Posted by SlevinCalevra | July 4, 2011, 12:12 pm
  61. I didn’t wanna say anything here but err… f*** it!
    I was in a relationship for about 5 years and when she finally said she was through, i won’t lie i sulked mehnnn. I played the whole “you’ll never find anyone better than me” bullshit. Funny thing is she agreed but she was willing to take her chances. I was too ‘good’ for her. Meanwhile secretly, my thots were “How the hell am i ever gonna find another girl like this?” To say i was whipped is putting it mildly…
    So i can relate. That’s all in the past now and all i can say is when i look in retrospect, she was right.
    I LOVE my life now… I don’t think i would’ve been where i am today without that decision.
    *Now morphing back into Larry Sushey…*

    Posted by SlevinCalevra | July 4, 2011, 12:24 pm
  62. naa i’m talking about when both of them are obviously hurting

    Posted by april | July 4, 2011, 12:25 pm
  63. LMFAO @ Riley!!! The hardest part of breakups tho, is when the other party moves on while you are still hurting. You guys just broke up last week and this week, she’s in that dude’s Sport Range. Fuck Societal views on how I’m supposed to react. I’mma cry like Jim Iyke on that street right there. And cry some more at home too while listening to Enya and eating Kellogs. 😦

    Posted by Genesis | July 4, 2011, 12:32 pm
  64. I totally agree with Riley on this one, apart from the screwing everything she loves though. That’s just disgusting & stupid. Screw only her hot girlfriend/colleague/sister/cousin. No mothers, no dogs, no cats or animals of any sort.

    Tula,u do realise this goes against all teamSawaleh codes right. Expect a letter from us soon stating ur appropriate punishment. I thought after the Dizzle affair y’all woulda learnt ur lesson.

    Sawyerr, I see u sitting on d wall, commenting yet not saying anything as usual. This is also punishable by TeamSawaleh law. (Its d third one on page 23, thou shalt not be a dosgbe). Expect a small fine soon.

    Lastly, I’d like u all to take a cue from Sir Hunter (yes, u’re now an honored Knight of the Sawaleh Table). If you must do something as gay as crying in front of a girl you love make sure u end up marrying her, if not u’d have fooled urself for nothing.

    Remember, an ex is an ex for a reason. Either because she thinks (or thought) u’re not worth her time, affection and devotion or she slept with ur friend before she met u (or after), or (my personal favorite) u couldn’t take it anymore and just had to tell her fat & ugly she’d become. 😀

    Whatever the reason it’s done & u’re better off without her. So move on and quit whining about it. 😐

    Posted by freshprinz | July 4, 2011, 12:35 pm
  65. My sentiments exactly…..

    Posted by Lagos Hunter | July 4, 2011, 12:40 pm
  66. @StephanieIj

    Sad much why?

    By the way, —–> this ¯\..(•͡.̮ •͡ )../¯ always invokes the image of a witch in my head : )

    Posted by Lagos Hunter | July 4, 2011, 12:43 pm
  67. Awwww.. You sweet senti boys. 🙂 For those of you that still have stuff to let out, therapy sessions in my DM. Don’t be shy 😉
    Nice one Toolsman 😀

    Posted by cecenostockings | July 4, 2011, 12:43 pm
  68. @StephanieIj ¯\..(•͡.̮ •͡ )../¯

    Posted by Lagos Hunter | July 4, 2011, 12:44 pm
  69. I think Riley can relate to Drake at this point. Evidently, his comment is so emotional. Lmaoooo!!!

    Posted by EdoBarbie | July 4, 2011, 12:47 pm
  70. Where’s Dizzle when you need him?

    Posted by kelvin | July 4, 2011, 1:09 pm
  71. LOL! Steph you are a clown

    Posted by beforesheimplodes | July 4, 2011, 1:10 pm
  72. i could kiss you for this posts, its rare to find guys going all emo on us

    Posted by BBB | July 4, 2011, 1:14 pm
  73. Love and its dick.
    Screwing everyone whether we’re willing or no.
    Mayne! I’ve never cried of a woman but darn I’ve felt pain. I only felt that kind of pain once.

    I’ve not found someone that could hurt me like that again.
    Or maybe it’s because I would not be so naive?

    Love and its dick.

    Posted by afrosays | July 4, 2011, 1:18 pm
  74. Is it still heartbreak when you gave your all to said Ex(girl) while in the relationship but then you broke up with her because she wasn’t meeting you halfway? Cuz honestly when I broke up with her it felt like a load was lifted so moving on was relatively easy.

    Posted by Cupid(Not the gay baby) | July 4, 2011, 1:38 pm
  75. y’all need a drink???…all dese cryin’ has 2 hav dehydrated us..
    @Riley,seriously?? I tink i hate u..lol
    @toolsman…wow man,ur rewrite of drizzy’s chorus is d ish…*now savin ds page*
    & im out!!

    Posted by jemjem | July 4, 2011, 1:54 pm
  76. Sure love aint female tho?

    Posted by thetoolsman | July 4, 2011, 1:57 pm
  77. Good question…

    Posted by thetoolsman | July 4, 2011, 1:58 pm
  78. 😦 😦

    Posted by thetoolsman | July 4, 2011, 1:59 pm
  79. ok. 🙂

    Posted by SlevinCalevra | July 4, 2011, 2:29 pm
  80. Bwahaha at @Genesis’ —-> I’mma cry like Jim Iyke on that street right there

    Posted by alahyor | July 4, 2011, 2:42 pm
  81. Bwuahahahahahahahaha…Vicks Lemon Plus no go kill me o…

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | July 4, 2011, 2:47 pm
  82. Very good question…in fact I still haven’t seen him on twitter…after all this while…*bbm sarcastic smiley*

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | July 4, 2011, 2:47 pm
  83. Love na transvestite!

    Posted by OYE | July 4, 2011, 2:50 pm
  84. BY D WAY….FOR THOSE PEOPS LOOKING FOR ME “IFF”….PLS REFER TO MY LAST TWEET…….THANK YOU!

    Posted by ibetapassmynebo | July 4, 2011, 3:22 pm
  85. lol…..@Genesis. naija movies influenced that comment.

    Truth is…If the person ‘mattered’, it will hurt as hell.

    Posted by anitttta | July 4, 2011, 3:48 pm
  86. Why is your wife a “him” tho?¯\..(•͡.̮ •͡ )../¯

    Posted by amebo | July 4, 2011, 3:50 pm
  87. It’s so cool to know the Nigerian man in pain isn’t a myth. ‘Cos the way some boys carry on sometimes you’d think girls are the sole shareholders of Heartbreak Inc. Nice post and kudos to all the men who’ve commented……

    Posted by jAyajade | July 4, 2011, 4:24 pm
  88. Contrary to popular belief crying isn’t a sign of weakness…it’s a sign of erm *scratchin head* oh well u get sha. Getting over some1 u truly loved isn’t beans. Feel free to 2 shed some tears and sulk….Free therapy sessions…I’m gonna be available, a nice shoulder 2 cry on, wiv some zobo or boli and groundnut :*

    Posted by @Ms_stephydiva | July 4, 2011, 4:26 pm
  89. Me sef I hook oooo!

    Posted by bimbo | July 4, 2011, 4:30 pm
  90. Are we to assume the kiss is included in the consolation package? *P setting radar activated*

    Posted by highlandblue | July 4, 2011, 4:31 pm
  91. Without trying to sound cocky, I’m one of the most objective people I know so I’ve almost always seen the logic on the other party’s side or the ‘bigger picture’ every time I’ve gotten ‘heartbroken’. Doesn’t change the fact that it hurts like hell, though. And to be honest, I’ve done my own fair share of heart-breaking 😀 X_x

    Posted by 0latoxic | July 4, 2011, 5:03 pm
  92. Exactly!

    Posted by book-ey | July 4, 2011, 5:06 pm
  93. yes it hurts .and we do feel pain especially wen we know we’ve done everything right….and arghhh dat pain..ehen…its real…never knew emo pain cud hurt physically….. but sha sha …..time doesn’t help it go away .. but a generous shoulder to cry on goes a long way .

    Posted by lade | July 4, 2011, 6:13 pm
  94. Marvin Gay tho???

    Co-incidence…˚⌣˚

    Posted by @FoluShaw | July 4, 2011, 6:21 pm
  95. loool olodo

    Posted by pippi longStocking | July 4, 2011, 8:48 pm
  96. *in Larry Sushey voice* My name is Terdoo Bendega and I am immortal.

    and You people have been talking about pain and heart break…I guess I just learnt a couple new words.

    I’ve had one bad break up.

    I consoled her.

    That is all.

    Posted by terdoh | July 4, 2011, 11:10 pm
  97. I’m confused abt all this encouragement to cry. As kids, wen being flogged can’t remember cryin ever diminishin the pain of each stroke, so how d f@#* can it mend a broken heart or fix d fact dt she’s leavin. Men r meant to be rational n objective, 2 key features u’ll never find in tears (except dey’re crocodile tears).

    Posted by slimeyes | July 4, 2011, 11:12 pm
  98. Move on. Using the ex as minimum (overall) requirement for the next.

    Posted by shawlarchitunde | July 5, 2011, 12:45 am
  99. Only one girl ever made me cry. 6years n several girls after that, I’m still waitin to see another dt wud bring me to dt point.
    *sipping viju meek*

    Posted by bykerboi | July 5, 2011, 2:23 pm
  100. Applied riley’s post breakup rule tho. Lols *evil grin*

    Posted by bykerboi | July 5, 2011, 2:56 pm
  101. word!

    Posted by Boukkie | July 5, 2011, 10:13 pm
  102. nice post toolsman, as always

    Posted by Boukkie | July 5, 2011, 10:42 pm
  103. WHOA!!!

    Posted by qama | July 11, 2011, 10:29 am
  104. i think u avnt bin hurt enough

    Posted by skay segha | July 11, 2011, 9:38 pm
  105. As in… *slowly sipping zobo imperial in awe*

    Posted by yetitweets | July 12, 2011, 10:46 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Best thing you never had. « Thetoolsman's Blog - July 11, 2011

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,755 other followers

Follow Me:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

