//
you're reading...
Our bestfriends wedding

Our Best Friends Wedding: Episode 8: Jadesola

Hey people. So, I’ll just do the rituals and run away to hide let y’all read. If you haven’t been following the series, use this link here to read up on all you’ve missed and for those who don’t know, the series is jointly written by @cikk0 and I. You can check out his blog here.

*******************

Kemi’s crib

*******************

“So how did it go?” Kemi asked. Jade seemed distracted but suddenly snapped back into the present. “What?” she asked.

“The date with Charles?” Kemi tried to scan Jade’s face.

“Oh that?”

“No. Of course that. Now shpeel. How did it go?” Jade’s face was completely devoid of expression as she started to reply:

“In one word, it was…”

*                *                *

“Beautiful, just utterly beautiful,” Jade breathed as she touched the orchids that lined the pathway to the building. As she arrived at the entrance, she looked up at the sign: “Derrick’s.”

“I can see you’re pulling out all the stops,” Jade chimed as she stepped into the luxurious culinary wonderland that was Derrick’s.

“How I for do na?” Charles replied. His eyes were bright with excitement. Someone was giddy tonight.

They were shown to a table and were not quite seated when Charles pulled out his phone. “Vibration.” He explained quickly as he maneuvered his track-pad. He was typing while he navigated his frame into the chair. Jade helped herself into her chair as well. Without Charles’ assistance. She suppressed a frown. Charles was not on his best behaviour today.

“What are you typing, Cha-cha?” He rose his face to meet Jade’s glare. He couldn’t have looked more culpable if the letters G-U-I-L-T-Y were stamped on his forehead.

“Erm. Nothing. Sorry.” And right at that moment, the awkwardness started.

“Entreés!” announced a waiter from behind Charles. Startled, he turned abruptly. Unfortunately, the waiter was already quite close. Charles, inadvertently it seemed, hit him with his elbow.

The tray clattered to the floor…

********************************************

University Of Lagos 11 years ago…

********************************************

“Choi! See babe!” Promise whispered.

“As in…” Charles replied.

“Champagne, go holler the babe na.” Champagne. One of many nicknames Charles hated.

“Mouth dey pain you?” Charles shot back

“Guy don’t fall my hand. You are the campus chairman na. Head of the Women Organizing Committee. The only guy to pull a year five chic AND an extra year law student in his first year!”

“Oh. So that’s why you guys started calling me a romancer of the elderly?!”

“Took you this long to figure it out eh?”

“Bagger…”

“Now, you’re in year two. This bush meat should be a breeze for you.”  Promise goaded.

Charles took the bait. He walked towards her.

************************

Derrick’s…

************************

Charles was again looking at his phone; giggling to himself.

“Up here dude.” Jade yelled.

“I’m so sorry, Jade. Chioma’s been cracking me up all evening.”

“Yeah. I noticed,” she quipped,

“Come on, don’t be like that. Okay. I promised you my full attention. And you’ve got it…” he trailed off as his phone beeped again. Without thinking, he looked at it again and touched his forehead as he bubbled with laughter.”

“Always a jerk,” Jade muttered,

*                *                *

“Hi my name is…”

“Charles.” She finished for him.

“You know me?” Charles was shocked.

“Yes. I know you. Everyone knows you. Even freshmen.”

“Ha. And what else do you know about me?” Charles asked

“I know that you have a small penis…” she giggled

“That is so not true! At its very worst, during haramttan, average. But when…”

“Calm down,” she interrupted again. “I was just pulling your legs. The outer two not your third.” Charles laughed in appreciation of a good tease. This was a smart one, he thought.

“Well played. And your name is?”

“Jadesola. But please call me Jade.”

“Well, you already know my name is Charles…”

“Yeah, but can I call you Cha-cha? You know.. Sorta like brand new.. my new catch?”

Charles was shocked by her boldness.

“What?!!”

*                *                *

Somehow, the bottle of red wine had toppled over and poured on the table. Also, said wine had speedily made its way across from Charles’ end to Jade’s. Her dress now looked like a crime scene. A few screams and wiping motions later, Charles offered:

“Look, Jade I’m sorry this isn’t working out the way we planned,”

“You bet it isn’t. Look at my dress! Oh dear Lord.” Jade whimpered.

“I’m so sorry this wasn’t the plan…”

And with that, it all made sense to her.

“You coward. You did this all on purpose didn’t you?” She spat

“Of course not. How could I?”

And Jade stormed out.

****************

Kemi’s Crib

****************

“No. Of course that. Now shpeel. How did it go?” Jade’s face was completely devoid of expression as she started to reply:

“In one word it was…” Jade hesitated as she thought out the appropriate word. Kemi couldn’t wait.

“Spit it out my friend. I don’t have all day!”

“Kemi, it was fucking awful…”

“What?” Kemi was stupefied. “How bad?”

“I cried afterwards. That bad.”

“Eek.” Kemi’s phone rang. She picked it. Jade watched.

“Hello. Hmm. Ok… WHAT? Are you even serious?” Kemi hung up. Kemi fumed. Jade was curious.

“That bastard Charles…” Kemi said

“What did he want?” Kemi shook her head. Kemi rolled her eyes. Kemi spoke.

“The name of the next girl…”

*                *                *

Charles put down the phone. Kemi and Jade would hate him for this but it was the best thing to do under the circumstances. He looked down and into Jade’s stare. Those eyes, those crazy beautiful eyes. They did it for him now as they did all those years ago.

He opened the drawer from where it came and placed the old photograph back in…

***********

There you go. So the story continues. Please use the comment box to share your thoughts and comments. Cheers.

About thetoolsman

I mostly refer to myself as an unrepentant media addict .. Well, cause I'm mostly always hunting for information through one media channel or the other... Hit me up on twitter @thetoolsman

Discussion

85 thoughts on “Our Best Friends Wedding: Episode 8: Jadesola

  1. nawa 4 ds guy oh

    Posted by pebbles | July 7, 2011, 9:01 am
  2. nooo

    Posted by buga | July 7, 2011, 9:01 am
  3. 2nd 😦

    Posted by bimbo | July 7, 2011, 9:01 am
  4. Silver

    Posted by Jasmine | July 7, 2011, 9:01 am
  5. I am feeling so high now! Lol. Claiming my first gold medal on one of the most anticipated blog posts on Naija Twitville. Heh heh heh. *going back to read*

    Posted by highlandblue | July 7, 2011, 9:01 am
  6. Hey 😀

    Posted by @mizztosin | July 7, 2011, 9:01 am
  7. Ahan 😐

    Posted by miszliz | July 7, 2011, 9:01 am
  8. I’m sad 4th????????? How???????

    Posted by bimbo | July 7, 2011, 9:02 am
  9. *plants flag*

    Posted by cecenostockings | July 7, 2011, 9:02 am
  10. @otegaogra…..i told u, @Highlandblue..nawa for u oo

    Posted by bukiola | July 7, 2011, 9:03 am
  11. Dammit!!! But how?!?!

    Posted by cecenostockings | July 7, 2011, 9:03 am
  12. pschewwwwww…. So he’s been a good guy abi.. So In love with her that he doesn’t want to lose her

    Posted by minini | July 7, 2011, 9:04 am
  13. Haba !!b! 10 responses already !!! Tools man !!! I can smell sum riggin o 😦

    Posted by foxy | July 7, 2011, 9:04 am
  14. being*

    Posted by minini | July 7, 2011, 9:05 am
  15. Oouch!!!! So cha-cha is scared 2take dir fshp to d next level bt nawa 4 destroying d date on purpose! *sobs sobs sobs* nt fair @toolsman

    Posted by @mizztosin | July 7, 2011, 9:05 am
  16. Why the fuck did he do that? Abi bastard ni bobo yi ni? Toolsman u did this on purpose! U saw we were on to u and u flipped the script 😦 those 2 WILL still end up together, they MUST

    Posted by Dami | July 7, 2011, 9:06 am
  17. Awwwwwwww,jade nd chacha r so cute *sigh*

    Posted by dee2qte | July 7, 2011, 9:06 am
  18. That was deep lol

    Posted by papyrusczar | July 7, 2011, 9:07 am
  19. Shit* I stayed up (time difference) trying to make sure I was first. Nko ti gbo gbo e se o da o.

    Posted by bykerboi | July 7, 2011, 9:07 am
  20. this was my acceptance speech.. I dedicate this award to my mummy, my daddy , my siblings, my friends, my mistresses, my colleagues and most importantly,… my haters!!!

    My system’s cache just chose to mess me up.. 😦

    congrats @highandblue

    Posted by 'il Cicero' | July 7, 2011, 9:07 am
  21. NA WA

    Posted by kechilauren | July 7, 2011, 9:07 am
  22. all this in only two minutes…oh mehn!!

    Posted by o25 | July 7, 2011, 9:08 am
  23. leave me jorrr… im soooo sad… my system’s cache didnt refresh.. kept showing me yesterday’s post… *running away in shame* lmaoooo

    Posted by 'il Cicero' | July 7, 2011, 9:08 am
  24. 5th.. Issorai
    Charles is just a fucking idiotic bastard (excuse my french). He’s obviously in love with Jade but doesn’t want to ruin their friendship. Why can’t he just tell her?

    Posted by Jasmine | July 7, 2011, 9:08 am
  25. Na wa oh. The rush to be first on this blog is crazy.

    Anyway, I’m so mad at Charles. Why did he have to mess up the date? All he had to do was not go with her in the first place. I think he’s just being a coward. If he gives it a chance, things could probably work out between him and Jade.

    What I really want to know is what happened between them in school.

    Posted by All Heart | July 7, 2011, 9:10 am
  26. Lol. Don’t worry you will make it one day. Just keep on trying and never give up. *stifles laugh*

    Posted by highlandblue | July 7, 2011, 9:10 am
  27. Still sucking my thumb and sulking

    Posted by bykerboi | July 7, 2011, 9:11 am
  28. Nooooooooooooooo!!!! Why is Cha-Cha being a punk…kmt!!

    Posted by Simmylala | July 7, 2011, 9:11 am
  29. Hmmmmm….more suspense….this one don pass my darling award winning super story

    Posted by ibetapassmynebo | July 7, 2011, 9:12 am
  30. This charles is just a Mumu guy,Sowee Jade 😦

    Posted by TipTapToe | July 7, 2011, 9:12 am
  31. Nawa o! Do u people camp ere! 😦

    Posted by Miss O | July 7, 2011, 9:12 am
  32. Awww…dis is so sad…*blows nose*…Nice twist guys…I didn’t think Cha cha loved her just as much. Good stuff.

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | July 7, 2011, 9:12 am
  33. (Y) @toolsman and @cikk0 you have tried. You will be spared.

    Posted by cecenostockings | July 7, 2011, 9:13 am
  34. Ok. I finally comment on the post. I love the awkwardness around someone u love. When I trip over something while a pretty girl is watching I just laugh in shame. And when she spills her drink while on a date, something in my head goes *Ka-ching!!* Nice post Toolsman. 😀

    Posted by highlandblue | July 7, 2011, 9:14 am
  35. I’m rilly curious abt wat happened btw dem in skool, can’t wait!

    Posted by dee2qte | July 7, 2011, 9:16 am
  36. Whether or not charlie likes it he’s definitely going to end up with her or regret it 4ever (can sum1 yell a thunderous amen)
    so they’ll beef themselves 4 sum time n then end up bck together …
    but he was seriously a dick head sha
    btw, u can like to press the “pause” button on the present n “playback” his godd ole’ schl days … 😀

    Posted by Foxy | July 7, 2011, 9:23 am
  37. Awwwww! *sobs* … Are we sure Jade would still work out with Charles like dis? It’s getting all too awkward btwn them… :(. How u go dey ping for Jade front? Total arinfin. Bestfriends dey try sha, na dem bottle up jealousy pass… *sigh*

    Posted by Radeyo | July 7, 2011, 9:24 am
  38. I’m feel so bad for Jade, I’m heartbroken on her behalf sef..hmmm..toolsman this had better end well oh…

    Posted by PhaithA | July 7, 2011, 9:24 am
  39. Hw cme I’m seeing 9am here…ahan…anyway, I’m first from behind jo…:p and I’m angry at Charles…bloody nitwit

    Posted by dammydiva | July 7, 2011, 9:26 am
  40. Good Read!

    Posted by vixenpixie | July 7, 2011, 9:27 am
  41. Yeeeeeepa my cha cha av fuck up oooo…..but still awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww love is a beautiful thing…..looking forward to the next episode as always

    Posted by Towsyn | July 7, 2011, 9:30 am
  42. 😦 haba cha cha y na?

    Posted by MzLucyM | July 7, 2011, 9:32 am
  43. Charles still wants Jade but he has made up his mind to taste all the other girls before he settles down!!! Go on ChaCha

    Posted by buga | July 7, 2011, 9:37 am
  44. Hey, I warned y’all didn’t I? What writer would leave the script exactly as you predicted it while they still wrote it, even if that was the original plan. Please, this is not nollywood….

    Posted by 0latoxic | July 7, 2011, 9:40 am
  45. errr dude i made that speech already *blows smokey o’s from cigar*

    Posted by bimbo | July 7, 2011, 9:40 am
  46. lmaoooo. tula has it come to this?????? but u know u have to introduce sum special prize soon sha. maybe credit? 😀 d fight for first is not a easy sumtin

    Posted by bimbo | July 7, 2011, 9:43 am
  47. Is it a bad thing for me to hope this eventually has a tragic ending? Cos that’s the only way I can’t predict an ending of any sort, I’m sorry… 😦

    Posted by 0latoxic | July 7, 2011, 9:47 am
  48. i can relate to this sha. loving sumone enough to understand that you arent good enuf for them. thats probably why he acted like such a jerk. he probably knows shes feeling him too but if he understands himself enuf to know hes a total bastard and wld prbly mess up in the future, y hurt her then? u go jare charles!

    Posted by bimbo | July 7, 2011, 9:47 am
  49. Is this the idea behind these words.. ‘ur bad for me?’:s
    F*uckn coward!

    @thetoolsman…bet why na?

    Posted by @Mz_Osho | July 7, 2011, 9:47 am
  50. Hmmm…

    Posted by naijaninja | July 7, 2011, 9:50 am
  51. We all know he’s gonna end up with Jade sha….so I’m waiting…

    Posted by EdoBarbie | July 7, 2011, 9:53 am
  52. I came at 10 on the dot and saw 46 comments. I don’t know who is pissing me off more… Charles or you commentators dragging for 1st position as if we are in primary school. Ok back to post for the 3rd time.

    Posted by adacampbell | July 7, 2011, 9:56 am
  53. Okponu ni bobo e sha «—–charles

    Posted by @Mz_Osho | July 7, 2011, 9:57 am
  54. what if I tell you we’ve already written the entire thing?

    Posted by thetoolsman | July 7, 2011, 10:00 am
  55. This makes me sad jo, y did he show up 4 d d8 if he really dsnt want to b there, so annoying. It wd hv bn better if he had calld to cancel.

    Posted by kay | July 7, 2011, 10:01 am
  56. Charles is just so adorable *sigh* he’s probably been in love with her since . Awwww don’t worry jade its the beginning of better things for the both of you

    Posted by dee | July 7, 2011, 10:06 am
  57. My ending; Jade meets a guy who sweeps her off her feet n she gets over Charles. Charles goes through the list and realises that none of the girls would ever be good enough ‘cos he really wants Jade but its too late. She’s already altar bound with someone else.

    So Jade is the ‘bestfriend’ that gets married and not Charles as we assumed.

    Posted by Jasmine | July 7, 2011, 10:09 am
  58. In my opinion I feel some people set up overnight camp tents here in order to become first to comment…very soon, you people will start building hostels here…smh

    Posted by EdoBarbie | July 7, 2011, 10:11 am
  59. @Jasmine’s ending makes more sense than both of them ending up. But I foresee a sexcapade between the both of them. @Toolsman you’d better make this end well.

    Posted by EdoBarbie | July 7, 2011, 10:16 am
  60. Cha cha is a bagger lizard, why would he do that to jade when he so obviously has feelings for her. Why he dey fear.

    Posted by beeawo | July 7, 2011, 10:20 am
  61. hehe. Nice try.But maybe not…

    Posted by cikk0 | July 7, 2011, 10:20 am
  62. *sigh* So, I have to wait for a whole friggin week for the next episode???? Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh! This is torture!

    Posted by @demmylee | July 7, 2011, 10:21 am
  63. hmmm….

    Posted by thetoolsman | July 7, 2011, 10:30 am
  64. The plot thickens.

    Posted by UrNextDoorNeighbour | July 7, 2011, 10:36 am
  65. nice ending ooo. but seeing as u have now posted it, u do know they are gonna change it right?

    Posted by bimbo | July 7, 2011, 10:36 am
  66. Aaarrgggh what is fucking wrong with him?
    Not fair. Not fair at all 😦

    Posted by Yass | July 7, 2011, 10:39 am
  67. Hehe.. At least I tried.

    Posted by Jasmine | July 7, 2011, 10:43 am
  68. Hmmmmm

    Posted by kunbillionaire | July 7, 2011, 10:44 am
  69. *sigh* they might or might not change it if this is their ending and I still have other theories that don’t involve Jade n Charles getting married 🙂

    Posted by Jasmine | July 7, 2011, 10:56 am
  70. Errrr Tula…not fair at all….mschewwww…i no read again biko!!!

    who am i deceiving?

    Posted by kiah | July 7, 2011, 11:10 am
  71. asin!!!…mayb we should stop tellind thetoolman what we think

    Posted by Miz_osho | July 7, 2011, 11:19 am
  72. YIMSTICAL @TOOLS, like we’r to blv u guys didn’t edit it

    Posted by Foxy | July 7, 2011, 11:20 am
  73. So glo in their recent xter made me use a friend’s phone to reead today’s blog. May they b repaid in deir coins. Btw, my heart was in my mouth thru out d whole time and @thetoolsman just dropped me off from d highEst mountain just like dat! Not fair….going bak to my law books#sadverymuch

    Posted by topeesther | July 7, 2011, 12:53 pm
  74. is he high? whats wrong with being with Jade if she makes him happy, *hiss*

    Posted by BBB | July 7, 2011, 1:49 pm
  75. *looks around for Riley*

    Posted by Griffin | July 7, 2011, 3:38 pm
  76. *looks around for Riley* damn!

    Posted by Griffin | July 7, 2011, 3:49 pm
  77. I know how this story is gonna end but I won’t post it cos they’ll just change it. So remember, no matter how it ends, I KNEW IT!!!
    :p

    Posted by SlevinCalevra | July 7, 2011, 4:16 pm
  78. drama drama drama

    Posted by naijaninja101 | July 7, 2011, 4:33 pm
  79. Hello… Good morning…

    Posted by 0latoxic | July 7, 2011, 6:21 pm
  80. haha! why change the script tho??
    Cha Cha deserves one Pankshin combo from Mr. Folajin (my Economics teacher) hian!

    Posted by kemmiiii | July 7, 2011, 7:40 pm
  81. Cha cha is a chicken jor. its obvious he cares a lot for jade so why is he not trying to make things work with her? isnt the purpose of this whole search thing for him to find the one he wants to settle down with? mchewww

    Posted by Ririberry | July 7, 2011, 11:55 pm
  82. was scrolling thru d comments and of cos d usual ‘awwwws’ 4rm d ladies made me feel lyk throwing up….i just wanna know who wrote ds story a female or a male?….wt dt i know how d story is gonna end.

    Posted by badgurl007 | July 10, 2011, 2:22 pm
  83. Ahnahn na!why is this story not predictable na?lol.

    Posted by lammide | September 30, 2011, 7:42 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,755 other followers

