//
you're reading...
Betty Tuesdays

His name was Ayo.

His name was Ayo. I’ve always had a thing for Ayos because my first ‘love’ (and I use that term loosely) was Ayo.

But this Ayo was different from the first. He was way smarter. I like smart guys. I like smart guys a lot.

I remember the first time I saw him. Lape and I were taking the long walk home from the estate gate back home. His car paused beside us.

“Can I drop you guys off? I’m new on your street..” Or something of that sort. We got in. He did mention Jola’s name (my big sis) and Biodun’s too (our cousin). I sat next to him in front because, well, I’m older.

He asked us random questions about the estate and its social activities. I think we depressed him with our replies. He was moving from Adeniyi Jones where he’d lived all his life to our boring estate in Magodo.

“Are you guys doing anything later? My friend’s doing something. If you wanna come with…?”

We didn’t go.

I went to school and forgot about him till I got back. By this time, Jola had formed a very strong friendship with him. Not just Jola. But my parents too. He became the guy who was like a brother; the one that would make them relax when they heard we were with him.

He was our Ayo.

Jola tried her hand at match-making. But I wasn’t down for it.

“Nah.. I like Ayo and all, but he’s not my type.” I would say to her.

I lied. He was exactly my type. He was incredibly smart, witty. He got me. He knew and loved my music. Our conversations were wonderful.

But. Ayo wasn’t pretty.

Ayo had a big nose and he didn’t care much about his appearance. He wore all these old baggy suits (he had an explanation for this; something about where he was working) and just didn’t care.

And so I rejected it, denied it.

He became so involved in our lives that all my best friends came to know him.

“I think Ayo likes you…” Some said.
“And you know you guys would fit oh…” Others would say.

I didn’t listen. Ayo came for my graduation. He bought me a necklace. Yes, that necklace. The one I never part with. That I’ve been wearing faithfully for over two years.

I didn’t think he’d buy it. In one of those moments when I proclaim my desires “I want a white Range!” Or “I want to live in a wooden cabin in the green jungle!” I had pointed out a similar necklace in a Style magazine. “I want that necklace!”

Well, Ayo bought it. I have spent a good deal of this past year just staring at it. A friend versed in these things estimated it at ‘quite expensive’.

Ayo was the only person asides office people and family that I saw on my birthday. He made the long journey from his office to mine, so I wouldn’t have to use the BRT home. (Never mind his car broke down and we had to wait over an hour to fix it.)

I remember telling Anna that I would marry Ayo. That I just knew it in my belly that he was the one. That when I was older and realized he didn’t need to have a great face and hot body, that I’d capitulate.

It happened on a normal day. He was at ours some evening when he told us he’d quit his job. He’d been saying it for a while but I never took him seriously. He was serious this time.

“But why?” He shrugged.

Mother came home. And randomly asked. “When are you going for your Masters? We’re considering putting off Biola’s own till after Youth Service.”

Ayo had looked down before saying- “I’m leaving on Friday.” This was Tuesday.

I looked up in shock. Ade was smiling. He’d known all along. (He’s daddy’s P.A. Very annoying fellow!) Lape was as shocked as I was, glory be!

I picked my sandals which I’d carelessly flung somewhere and without saying a word, I climbed the stairs to my room.

I had a long bath. I wasn’t thinking anything.

Lape knocked. “Ayo is leaving.. Come say goodbye.”

“Tell him I said he should have a good life.” I replied.

A few minutes later, I got a text. “I’m sorry. I didn’t know how to tell you.”

But Jola had known. And Ade had known. Wasn’t I important?

I didn’t speak to him till Thursday evening. Lape didn’t understand why I was making such a big deal out of it. “He shaa told us finally.” She kept on saying.

She didn’t understand. She didn’t understand that this news was making me confront some things I’d rather have left in peace.

Like how I felt about Ayo. About why I wanted to cry.

He sat next to me Friday evening. His flight was late that night. We were trading songs on our phones. We said mostly nothing. I’m sure the tension wasn’t from just me.

When it was late enough, we all watched our parents pray for him before walking up the street to his house. We sat for another hour in front of his gate.

And when it was time to go. I hugged him. “Don’t forget us..” I whispered. “Never.” He said.

I think he knew. I know he knew.

Ayo left. And I cried. I cried alone. I cried in the bathroom when no one could see me cry. Because I was cold Biola. Biola doesn’t cry.

Now, with hindsight; I know that Ayo did not know. In fact, in his head, this story is told by him. And I’m the one who was clueless.

We’ve had one of those round-about conversations with a lot of ‘what-if’s dancing around. But we didn’t get to it. We left it as it is.

One of our conversations circled around the lyrics of ‘Lions, Tigers & Bears’. If you know it, you’d understand.

I’ve met smarter guys. Guys have bought me very expensive stuff. But Ayo is still Ayo to me.

We no longer talk as much. I expected this. But our conversations still leave me smiling.

I don’t know how to end this in a non-sappy way. So, I guess I should just end it here, eh?

Ok then. The End.

*************

Ok people. This story is slightly non-fiction. It might have happened to my cousin’s grandma’s friend’s nephew’s bestfriend. But I want to hear from you; is this cousin’s grandma’s friend’s nephew’s bestfriend the only one that has let go of something that coulda been phenomenal based on something so flighty? Not necessarily in looks; maybe you never tried with that guy because he didn’t have a car? Or because she’s igbo? Or because he’s shorter than you? Or she has four fingers on her left hand?

Or just because you’re a chicken?

Am I alone? Share with me.

About Betty

Attaining 'halcyon'... @UberBetty

Discussion

83 thoughts on “His name was Ayo.

  1. First

    Posted by kayshawy | August 2, 2011, 9:00 am
  2. Top 10?

    Posted by terdoh | August 2, 2011, 9:01 am
  3. .

    Posted by tobicomm | August 2, 2011, 9:02 am
  4. Second 🙂

    Posted by Iyamilele | August 2, 2011, 9:02 am
  5. 🙂

    Posted by desola1 | August 2, 2011, 9:02 am
  6. 5th!!! Right!!! Am I the 5th!!!!! 🙂

    Posted by baddest mango | August 2, 2011, 9:05 am
  7. Hahaha….u cheat! I like….so this makes me third abi?

    Posted by kayshawy | August 2, 2011, 9:06 am
  8. I love the post. I haven’t had any personal experiences like this and I can’t relate, but I love the post.

    Aand…I have to put a comment other than “First 10?”

    Posted by terdoh | August 2, 2011, 9:09 am
  9. i understand this, cos my uncle’s girlfriend’s cousin’s sister’s grandmother’s father’s step sister also did the same thing. 😀

    Posted by BoukkieO | August 2, 2011, 9:13 am
  10. Hmmm! Well 2nd not bad for a first try, anyway to the post, well let’s just say I was being a chicken x_x!

    Posted by Taiofierce | August 2, 2011, 9:19 am
  11. I can totally relate to this post. Beautifully written as well. In my own case, I’m still holding on, and happy I took that plunnge. Even if it doesent pan out in the end, I’m happy I/we gave it a shot.

    Posted by Chicasa | August 2, 2011, 9:20 am
  12. Top 20

    Posted by KIm | August 2, 2011, 9:22 am
  13. Dude may not be good looking…that could work for me, but the fellow can’t dress, damn!!!….no matter how nice, smart, wealthy or witty he is….this sort of fellow wont get me feeling butterflies in my belly no matter how sweet our convos are.
    Personally, I don’t believe in ‘the one’….so I probably would do what Biola did, in hope that I find someone else who makes me feel the way he did. However, Biola felt he was ‘the one’…so she was pretty dumb for letting him go. Anywais, I believe physical attraction is key in a relationship.

    Posted by Iyamilele | August 2, 2011, 9:22 am
  14. lol..yes oh. This is how I operate here, I’ve only made 1st once…but 2nd is not a tought tingz for me

    Posted by Iyamilele | August 2, 2011, 9:29 am
  15. Nice.
    I remember I didn’t date a guy cos he was ‘too weak’ he cried a lot when I said I wasn’t ‘doing’. I just hated that he cried + he didn’t have a car joo. ‘Who’ll be entering bus to water parks with this one…hiss’…..that’s all I had in my head.
    Then one day, 5yrs later, he came to tell me he was going to the UK for his masters. DAMN! THAT would av been my ticket to ‘the abroad’ msheeewwww. He’s gone now and I’m still in dis…*sigh* Tha would be all for mow. 😀 😀

    Posted by Sha-Sha | August 2, 2011, 9:30 am
  16. The tribe thing can cause serious family fights n is d cause of a lot of situations like this. As we mature, we realise there is more to people than looks n money…if u don’t, well u will learn by experience. Happened to me sha.

    Posted by naijaninja101 | August 2, 2011, 9:32 am
  17. MY GOSH.. This has so happened to me. there is just that one thing u wish u can change to make him your perfect guy 😦 but perfect doesnt exist it seems.

    Posted by damieteoyibo | August 2, 2011, 9:34 am
  18. Ladies r really into this “guy must have a ride thing” o! Shame they miss their chance with a lot of guys. Nothing remains the same forever. The poor get rich, the rich get poor, the average remain average and so on.
    But for the main time, my car is big enuff for u n ur friends baby! :d

    Posted by naijaninja101 | August 2, 2011, 9:38 am
  19. Yuuuup.I can relate to dis.fell ‘inlike’ with a guy..he ‘liked’ me too.he travelled to further his education n dats wen we talked bout ow we felt…wo.I fnk I feel out of ‘like’ with him or watever.he gt back a week ago n I’ve refused to see him..scared of d unknwn? Or d knwn? Iono.back to my cake!

    Posted by misstang | August 2, 2011, 9:40 am
  20. I have experienced this. But lucky for me, I am dating him now. When we first met, I made up my mind that I couldn’t date him cos he was way skinnier than me & also had a beard. Looking beyond all that, he is all I wanted & I am glad I got off my shallow horse and saw him for who he is.

    Posted by Ms Osunsan | August 2, 2011, 9:44 am
  21. Sad ish, but d guy ll b back n hopefully dey cld start off where dey left tins “hopefully”

    Posted by runtaj | August 2, 2011, 9:51 am
  22. I can totally relate to this biola. Jus wouldn’t hav been able to put them in these exact words. Good job
    PS; pls go n find ur Ayo, there only a few pple lucky enuf to hav wat u toyed wit. In the long run, Ayo n guys like Ayo will be all that matter

    Posted by Honeysucklebelle | August 2, 2011, 9:55 am
  23. Really cool…just got me wondering what a ‘shallow horse’ would look like.

    Posted by jAyajade | August 2, 2011, 10:00 am
  24. Wat he said

    Posted by runtaj | August 2, 2011, 10:02 am
  25. Beautiful story Betty…I guess the best fiction is that which has a lot of fact in it.
    I can sooo relate to dis mehn. Didn’t take the plunge quite a few times, not for reasons as superficial as looks or tribe, but nonetheless, reasons that may not bother some other people. But hey *shrug* I’ve learnt not to live in a “what if” world. I remember what I had, cherish what I have, n look forward to what I will have.
    Good one Tulan Betty…as usual.

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | August 2, 2011, 10:08 am
  26. Oh yea….I’m definately a chicken.
    This post…*sniff*…beautiful!

    Posted by Cleo® | August 2, 2011, 10:15 am
  27. I can totally see myself in this piece. I recently let go of a relationship that was supposed to lead into marriage becos I knew he was weak. Being me, I have some sort of personality that comes across as being authoritative thus I seem a bit more controlling than the average woman. This guy I dated was as peaceful as a dove absolutely wonderful and wouldn’t even want to quarell with me beyond a day. So I find myself taking advantage of this.
    After a while, I said to myself, why would I wanna marry someone who wasn’t even in the least firm enough? I looked down the road and saw a lot of pain for us both and so I chose to opt out. It wasn’t easy but sometimes some things are meant to be left alone.
    He wasn’t short, he wasn’t ugly, he just wasnt strong enough for me.

    Posted by no1chick | August 2, 2011, 10:19 am
  28. I can def relate to the post and a few points come to mind;
    1. She’s older (age)
    2. Religious/Spiritual reasons imposed on you by people you love e.g parents (where u here comments like ‘what an elder sees sitting down, if a child stands on a tree he/she wont see it)
    3. Genotype AS vs AS 😦
    The list goes on and on and I could write a “blogful”

    Posted by kayshawy | August 2, 2011, 10:23 am
  29. You did not consider he could just complement you? Opposites….

    Posted by kayshawy | August 2, 2011, 10:28 am
  30. My first n only true love to date. This was in d university, we were great friends, but I felt he wasn’t much of a looker, we knew we felt more for each oda, neva talkd abt it, then he left my sch to go study in d uk, and then I felt like a vital part of me had been ripped frm me, dats wen we talkd(yeah we were chickens like dat) poured out wat we felt for each oda, wen he came for summer we startd dating and it lasted 3sweet years until distance put asunder. I grew up thru dat experince cos I learned not to judge pple by what they look like

    Posted by dunch | August 2, 2011, 10:29 am
  31. Very Engaging Read! Brilliant Writting there.
    I have’t been at this point YET, however you know what they say about “something that is meant to be yours, coming back”
    I’m highly inquisitive, so i know i can’t put an “Ayo” in my life off for too long.

    Posted by kechilauren | August 2, 2011, 10:32 am
  32. Oh well…I guess i can relate with this in that i let go of a beautiful relationship because of distance…
    Now, i prefer the long distance relationship 😦

    Posted by Kemmiiii | August 2, 2011, 10:40 am
  33. Emm,
    Tula c’mon, this your banner picture is neither ugly nor haggard : (
    Betty oya, tell us this isn’t all fiction……..it is too well written to be ; )

    Talk about catching feelings……

    Many years ago, my 7 year relationship ended cos I was about to begin a life of living out of sutcase.
    I had dreams and she had hers too.
    But we both agreed our dreams didn’t match.
    She said she didn’t have the energy to keep up with my globetrotting….
    And I said I wasn’t ready to slow down for her either.

    We sat at the airport, waiting for my flight……
    We didn’t exchange songs on our phones, we just exchanged light banter.

    Till date, we still exchange light banter.
    Till date, we’re still very good friends.

    Posted by Lagos Hunter | August 2, 2011, 10:54 am
  34. I can most def relate. This is me over and over, and never ’cause of looks or stuff. There’ve been so many issues that one or both of us jus needed to get past. As a rule, no matter how great an item we may seem to be to any or everyone else, I won’t pop the question unless I believe we’re both 100%. And it’s not the fear of rejection either. I’ve popped the question once before when I wasn’t ready, knowing full well she’d say yes… only led to a lot of hurt for both of us.

    Posted by 0latoxic | August 2, 2011, 11:03 am
  35. C’MON…WOT IS D MATTER? HE HAS A BIG NOSE!!!
    D MORE REASON U SHD NOT LEAVE HIM….YES…DAT BIG NOSE!

    *goes back to zoom all male avatas on TL*

    Posted by ibetapassmynebo | August 2, 2011, 11:04 am
  36. Yes!And I was so silly about the whole thing.And then the day I found out he was engaged to be married to someone else, I spat out how I’d been hoping he’d wait longer than the 3yrs he’d already waited (dumb, I know).
    This story might as well be mine, only I cried almost everywhere, and he had a woman and not school to leave me for.
    I think its better to have tried than to have cowered and remained safe, all under the guise of not being ‘ready to be with anyone’.
    But then I got something better, and almost made the same silly mistake, and I’m happy. So, ‘yay me!’. All is well that ends well…I think.

    Posted by theGeneralsDaughter | August 2, 2011, 11:09 am
  37. I can relate. But in my case, I was Ayo. Heck, I’ve been Ayo several times. I’ll never figure out why that doesn’t depress me. Perhaps because I figured out that it was ultimately their loss. Oh well…

    And AWESOME post by the way!

    Posted by cikk0 | August 2, 2011, 11:11 am
  38. This is the story of my life. *sigh*

    Posted by @demmylee | August 2, 2011, 11:39 am
  39. This has happened/is happening. Am about to leave my definition of perfect cos of religion. It breaks my heart but am too chicken to fight my family or his for acceptance.

    Posted by sigh | August 2, 2011, 11:47 am
  40. This is awesome. Yep…this has happened to me before. And my name is Ayo, funny enough (i’m awesome by the way).

    The girl decided not to go all the way because I’m Catholic. I have my own view when it comes to religious issues in relationships but I will not write an epistle here. Truth be told, I’m down for whatever. But…

    Posted by awizii | August 2, 2011, 12:12 pm
  41. This surprisingly sound very familiar! Moving from Adeniyi jones to Magodo…. But I love the story as always! Missed your posts betty!

    Posted by foluwa | August 2, 2011, 12:18 pm
  42. Chicken is not the right word btw but it all depends on the circumstance….#jstsaying

    Posted by kayshawy | August 2, 2011, 12:25 pm
  43. *picks up d mic* Oh n yeah…Adeniyi Jones dudes rock…*drops d mic n walks away sippin his shilled Zobo Classic *

    Posted by musingsofagidimallam | August 2, 2011, 12:27 pm
  44. ok ok ok so we can all relate (gosh, you ppl have made me hate that word now)… anyways, I have one questions for all the ladies who said they left their men because they were “weak” … I’d like you to please elaborate on this. What makes a man weak? Some examples will be nice too. Thank you.

    Posted by thetoolsman | August 2, 2011, 12:28 pm
  45. I call my “Ayo” L GB J. My excuse? He’s a Pastor, and I have got no religion. How’s that gonna work though? I wonder what his excuse was.
    And err, having a BF, is that enough reason to let an “Ayo” go?

    Posted by Nutella. | August 2, 2011, 12:31 pm
  46. My bad, I did try the search keyword ‘big-nosed model’ but nothing came up …

    Posted by thetoolsman | August 2, 2011, 12:44 pm
  47. I think every guy that has is smart/ has a personality/funny and or charming but is not so blessed in the ‘looks’ has been ‘Ayo’ before. Lord knows I have. But the truth is, we learn to value ourselves more as time goes by.

    Although, I don’t blame Bet…er…the girl, Ayo never really made an attempt and I think that’s where he failed. If the spark is there, take a chance. Life is too short to be putting yourself on a long thing.

    Posted by THINKTANK | August 2, 2011, 12:56 pm
  48. A perfect Guy is definitely GaY.. 🙂 #GBam

    Posted by Ayob alariwo | August 2, 2011, 1:37 pm
  49. Prefer? That’s a surprisingly unusual position. People are ok with are indifferent to LDR but to prefer it is quite ‘different’

    Posted by KobbyJR | August 2, 2011, 2:00 pm
  50. You couldn’t have said it better. I kept wondering why Ayo would let it all pass without trying to start something. Or maybe Biola (and her friends) just misread the signals. There was nothing…just maybe

    Posted by KobbyJR | August 2, 2011, 2:05 pm
  51. I ve an Ayo in my life,he jst got out of a relationship n isn’t so eager to jump into anor,dere s chemistry btw us n he knws I want sumthin serz bt he s nt so eager to get serz cos he knws its a lot of responsibility,so he s taking his time.I m jst hoping he doesn’t tak too long in making his decision cos I dnt knw hw long I can wait. Does this make me Ayo 😥

    Posted by zoe | August 2, 2011, 2:31 pm
  52. Well apart 4rm my name being “Ayo” I’ve also been ‘Ayo’ on several several occasions n yeap no regrets.. Cos it’s their Loss n not mine 🙂

    Posted by Ayob alariwo | August 2, 2011, 2:39 pm
  53. *long sigh*. . . the one that got away. . . this brings back memories mehn. . and i’ll always wonder what if???

    Posted by @ngeezee | August 2, 2011, 2:54 pm
  54. Thot I was d only one with the ‘no religion’ issue

    Posted by Honeysucklebelle | August 2, 2011, 3:19 pm
  55. Isocanrelate
    #okbye

    Posted by omoge1 | August 2, 2011, 4:29 pm
  56. A weak guy; you know when Lagoshunter said somethn like a woman can be strong/independent …. But not too strong dt she breaks her man; Well IMO, a weak man will be broken. He is some1 whose woman is stronger than him, but can’t stand up to her/let her know how her character affects him …. Cowers.
    To date a weak man; u have to ensure u don’t get ur way all d time; Since everytime u speak he won’t disagree.
    Weak guys r nice n loving; when they date strong women; they tend to cheat with some1 as chilled as them or someone they can bully.

    Posted by niyoo | August 2, 2011, 4:32 pm
  57. I can totally relate(*rolling my eyes at tula*)but its not cos he isn’t attractive, or has no dress sense or religion etc. Its cos I have a boyfriend and he has a girlfriend.
    He’s a med student at my school and God knows I’ve always dreamed of marrying a doctor(well after watching Grey’s anatomy) and having my own Derek Shepard. *sighs* It was just like we were made for each other.

    Posted by Definitely_anonymous | August 2, 2011, 4:42 pm
  58. Well written Betty!
    I’ve never had to say “if only” cos the only time it was gonna happen,I told him without mincing words that I liked him lots and knew he did too but was hesitant cos he didn’t want to be rebufffed…And we did.

    I’ve had to let go of 2 relationships cos of different reasons:
    Number 1 was cos of genotype.He felt we could “faith” it out but after 2yrs I told him I’d rather use my faith on better things instead of obvious foolishness(I’m not SS)…yeah he had a big nose but his good looks overrode it 🙂
    Number 2 was mostly cos I’m igbo 8-| and cos he felt somewhat threatened by my career dreams AND my many male friends.
    They try to keep in touch but I couldn’t be bothered *shrugs*

    Posted by georgeenah | August 2, 2011, 4:51 pm
  59. Well written Betty!
    I’ve never had to say “if only” cos the only time it was gonna happen,I told him without mincing words that I liked him lots and knew he did too but was hesitant cos he didn’t want to be rebufffed…And we did.

    I’ve had to let go of 2 relationships cos of different reasons:
    Number 1 was cos of genotype.He felt we could “faith” it out but after 2yrs I told him I’d rather use my faith on better things instead of obvious foolishness(I’m not SS)…yeah he had a big nose but his good looks overrode it 🙂
    Number 2 was mostly cos I’m igbo 8-| and cos he felt somewhat threatened by my career dreams AND my many male friends.
    They try to keep in touch but I couldn’t be bothered *shrugs*

    Posted by georgeenah | August 2, 2011, 4:51 pm
  60. i v had a lot of ayos in my life. funny thing tho is they always come back later in the future. (most times at the wrongest times) so i guess wat’s urs wil be urs. however tho, wen dey leave, i simply give myself reasons y we wont have worked and all is well with the world again.

    Posted by hmmmm | August 2, 2011, 5:05 pm
  61. This is becoming an increasingly typical phenomenom today. I think the problem with Biola and most girls now is that they are in search of their perfect Mr. Right that they tend to overlook the real Mr. Right when he comes around. But’he has a big nose’has got to be the worst reason ever for not attempting anything with him.
    As for the Ayos, i think they generally don’t try to go beyond what they have because of fear of rejection. Why make things akward and ultimately ruin a good thing if you aint sure you are getting the bigger, better prize. So they just stick with what they have and hope for the best. That said, I can totally relate with this post 🙂

    Posted by MikiStones | August 2, 2011, 6:06 pm
  62. IKR Im just weird!

    Posted by Kemmiiii | August 2, 2011, 6:17 pm
  63. I’m a very proud ayo! I make them feel wanted, I make them feel like I wanna marry them. They lose their guards and break their walls…then I walk away.
    Foresight, I regret doing to some, I’m happy doing to some. That’s just life

    Posted by awoyamabo | August 2, 2011, 6:25 pm
  64. U might be the friend yabbing her and boyfriend with the big nose 😉

    Posted by mzcarol | August 2, 2011, 6:36 pm
  65. Sounds familiar. Why do you bother tho? U make them feel loved and then walk away.

    Things like this that I don’t understand,I sum up to ‘low shelve of steam’. ¯\..(•͡.̮ •͡ )../¯

    Posted by krimmedic | August 2, 2011, 6:58 pm
  66. This is a really stupid comment.

    Posted by t3niola | August 2, 2011, 7:40 pm
  67. I can relate, I did this, left my ex because he was younger than me, and a lot of the people I was friends with at the time laughed about it. I regret it now, everyday, but he has moved on.

    Posted by anonymous | August 2, 2011, 7:46 pm
  68. Hahahahahahahahaha,pls why d tears?? I dnt gt why ur cousin’s grandma’s friend’s nephew’s bestfriend was crying?? She had her chance 2 tell him bout her feelings bt she kept on thnkin bout d big nose nd ovasizd clothes(dnt blame her sha),bt rily,nxt tym she has feelings 4 any1,she shld jst go 4 it,I mean aw did she even knw d guy was goin 2 marry her dt she was waitin 4 marriage. I like the story tho,its smth pple can learn 4rm.

    Posted by anon | August 2, 2011, 9:37 pm
  69. Ha- okay letz get complicated. I had an Ayo who was into me a d well lets say toasted me for several montha (close to a year) but a frn warned me to steer clear cuz he was a womaniser n to b quite honest he did come across to me as one. Infact, back then am 95% sure that he was. I dont believe in changing ppl so I stayed frns with him n av been his frn for over 3 yrs. However he has calmed down alot since then. It is no secret that we r attrcted to each other- he noes how I feel about him. Everything was fyn n I was willing him to ask me out again…n it looked like it cud happen until….
     until I met his bro. His bro liked me n pursued me actively. Silly me, i thot a lil competition mite wake him up so…. After two dates n nothing from his bro (platonic on my side) I started ignoring him (bro) until I eventually told him that I liked Ayo. His bro now knows that i really like Ayo n is still hopeful that I reconsider. I have got myself a lil love triangle here. I like Ayo (who may or may not like me as much as he used to) and Ayos bro likes me. If Ayo wasnt in the picture, i may av considered but…. In the meanwhile Ayo and I r still frns- just frns.

    Sad ehn? Thats what I thot too

    Posted by Laydeelaracraft | August 2, 2011, 11:31 pm
  70. Hmmm….totally relatable….in this case I wud like to say I am *ayo*; much good-lookn tho…I have a couple of female friends I probably had feelns for in the past , never acted upon and got over it.However, every once in a whyl I act up a *what cud av been* scenario jus 4 d fun of it…emotions get stirred up and all…maybe ayo got over her…who knows!
    Between am I d only one who saw toolsman’s ((Gbagaun))>> One questions! #okbye

    Posted by dozie | August 3, 2011, 2:03 am
  71. @Dozie it’s ByTheWay…btw…not ‘between’! Thank me later

    Ah! Well this dude I really really like and he likes me too but because he’s in the spotlight I chickened out, couldn’t deal with all the drama of the industry, his crazy ass ex and my own emotions.
    But we’re still cool, maybe, just maybe sometime in the future it’ll all make sense to us! 😀

    Lovely post!

    Posted by MsWaspy | August 3, 2011, 6:37 am
  72. I had an “AYO” . I had just finished Uni. He was 25 and for some reason I thought he was too old for me. He was fat. I didn’t care, loved him but I never admitted it till it was too late. I think I was scared about wat my frnds would say.

    Moving on.. We went in circles until a year ago . He met some1 else that openly showed him love and I was left all alone. I moved on too. New r/ship.. But I still tlk to my ” Ayo” and we keep talking about, if only……….

    Posted by missbonnie | August 3, 2011, 6:51 am
  73. I could have sworn the Ayo here referred to me (no ‘baggy’ suits), the only difference, I told her how I felt, and it appears that’s what scared her away. *sigh*

    Posted by tooshytotellmyname | August 3, 2011, 8:26 am
  74. Hahahaha….@correcting Dozie who saw Tula’s #Gbagaun! Epic! Auto-correct maybe?

    Posted by kayshawy | August 3, 2011, 9:52 am
  75. I cried in the bathroom when no one could see me cry. Because I was cold Biola. Biola doesn’t cry. . . #epic

    Posted by Arthur Bizk!t | August 3, 2011, 10:10 am
  76. I love him more than anything in the world…but religion. I don’t think I’ll fight.

    Posted by ada | August 3, 2011, 3:57 pm
  77. My AYOs … The guy who I spent hours jus talkin with.. We were both 17, he’s jus 2mnths older than me, I always wantd to marry a much older guy, silly me didn’t see that age is not the same as maturity! I knew he liked me, he told me so several times, I laughed it out, after all I was a lot more ‘wordly’ than he was… Years later, he’s stil one of my best friends,the one I call wen I have any issues cos he’s smart and mature, something d older guys iv dated have never rily been! 😦 he’s moved on, we laugh about that period wen we liked each other and if we wud have stil been together if we had dated then…

    Posted by @deevagal | August 3, 2011, 4:30 pm
  78. i actually almost cried at the ‘dont forget us”nerver’ part

    Posted by valerie | August 7, 2011, 12:26 pm
  79. I constantly have Ayos in my life. One after the other. It looks like something’s gonna blossom but just before we make any commitments, I chicken out. It may be fear of rejection or it may be my laziness refusing to deal with the stress of being in a relationship. I don’t know. But to make me feel better, I always tell them, it’s better we don’t go any further and end up as friends than continuing only to hurt ourselves. Before telling them this, I feed me reasons why we would never last. They don’t take it well at the time but we all know time heals most of our wounds. I sometimes (okay most times) think of what could have been but then I smile cause I’m still friends with them all. Wait, holdup. Am I the ‘Ayo’? :s

    Posted by thecoymistress | August 9, 2011, 11:22 pm
  80. I constantly have Ayos in my life. One after the other. It looks like something’s gonna blossom but just before we make any commitments, I chicken out. It may be fear of rejection or it may be my laziness refusing to deal with the stress of being in a relationship. I don’t know. But to make me feel better, I always tell them, it’s better we don’t go any further and end up as friends than continuing only to hurt ourselves. Before telling them this, I feed me reasons why we would never last. They don’t take it well at the time but we all know time heals most of our wounds… I sometimes (okay most times) think of what could have been but then I smile cause I’m still friends with them all. Wait, holdup. Am I the ‘Ayo’? :s *goes back to eating beans and plantain* Issorai!

    Posted by thecoymistress | August 9, 2011, 11:23 pm
  81. Dey say if u want God to laff, tell him ur plans. Appearance does matter, bt U cn neva hv it all. #shikena.

    Posted by misteeq | August 10, 2011, 6:30 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,755 other followers

Follow Me:

  • Serious #Agbadagate 4 hours ago
  • RT @serenawilliams: There are so many reasons to quit, but even more to keep playing. Even if you don’t go pro, sports can teach you so muc… 14 hours ago
  • RT @ava: "We lit two hundred candles for you." I can't. Shout-out to Mint Condition, 112, Shai, Troop, Boyz II Men, Jodeci and all the othe… 14 hours ago
  • RT @SAnonymousng: Rape culture: men's sexualised violence against women is made 'normal' by common ideas and beliefs. There's a continuum o… 17 hours ago
  • Inside’s cream. Outside’s mocha. 1 day ago
